American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for adults (ASHA-FACS)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 26-11-2010
Author(s): Sabrina Figueiredo, BSc
Editor(s): Lisa Zeltzer, MSc OT; Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT

Purpose

The ASHA-FACS is a measure of functional communication. It does not aim to measure impairment. Rather, the assessment aims to measure how specific speech, language, hearing and/or cognitive deficits affect the performance of daily life activities (Frattali, Holland, Thompson, Wohl, & Ferketic, 1995).

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The ASHA-FACS is a measure of functional communication. It does not aim to measure impairment. Rather, the assessment aims to measure how specific speech, language, hearing and/or cognitive deficits affect the performance of daily life activities (Frattali, Holland, Thompson, Wohl, & Ferketic, 1995).

Available versions

The ASHA-FACS was developed in 1995 by Frattali, Holland, Thompson, Wohl, and Ferketic.

Features of the measure

Items:
The ASHA-FACS consists of 43 items. The items within the ASHA-FACS address four domains: social communication; communication of basic needs; reading, writing and number concepts; and daily planning. It covers different activities of daily living (ADLs) such as understanding television and radio, responding in an emergency, and using a calendar (Frattali et al., 1995).

The ASHA-FACS is also subdivided into 2 scales: Communicative Independence and Qualitative Dimensions of Communication. These scales measure the level of independence, and the nature of the functional deficit, respectively (Frattali et al., 1995).

The ASHA-FACS is in an observational format, and requires that the examiner be familiar with the client prior to rating his/her communication. A major strength of the ASHA-FACS is that it has simple wording and behavioral operationalization of item content (Glueckauf, Blonder, Ecklund-Jonhson, Maher, Crosson & Gonzalez-Rothi, 2003).

The examiner can also solicit judgments from the significant others, in order to augment his/her observations (Frattali et al., 1995). It has been recommended that three observational sessions are required before ratings are made (Worrall & Yiu, 2000).

Scoring:
The items are rated after observing functional communication on the two scales.

The Communicative Independence Scale is rated on a 7-point scale ranging from 1) “does not perform the behavior” to 7) “does perform the behavior”. It reflects the extent of assistance the individual requires to perform routine verbal and nonverbal transactions. The Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale is rated on a 5-point scale reflecting adequacy, appropriateness, and promptness of communication and communication sharing.

The total score is obtained by summing the scores on each item and then dividing by the number of items (means). It is also possible to calculate both abovementioned scale scores by calculating the means of interest (Frattali et al., 1995).

Lower scores are indicative of greater impairment.

Time:
The ASHA-FACS takes, on average, 20 minutes to score. Administration will vary according to the time spent on the observational sessions (Frattali et al., 1995).

Subscales:
The ASHA-FACS is comprised of 2 subscales (Frattali et al., 1995):
– Communicative Independence
– Qualitative Dimensions of Communication

Equipment:
Not reported.

Training:
Not reported.

Alternative forms of the ASHA-FACS

None.

Client suitability

Can be used with:

  • Clients with stroke.
  • Clients with communicative deficits.

Should not be used in:

  • The ASHA-FACS should not be used with clients that are not able to communicate.

In what languages is the measure available?

English (Frattali et al., 1995)

Summary

What does the tool measure?

The ASHA-FACS is a measure of functional communication.

What types of clients can the tool be used for?

The ASHA-FACS can be used with, but is not limited to clients with stroke.

Is this a screening or assessment tool?

Assessment

Time to administer

The ASHA-FACS takes approximately 20 minutes to administer

Versions

None

Other Languages

English

Measurement Properties

Reliability

– One study examined the internal consistency of the ASHA-FACS and reported that, after deleting items with low correlations, all the other items scores and domain scores correlated well with the overall score.
– One study examined the intra-rater reliability of the ASHA-FACS and reported excellent reliability using Pearson correlations.
– One study examined the inter-rater reliability of the ASHA-FACS and reported excellent reliability using Pearson correlations.

Validity

Content
– One study examined the content validity of the ASHA-FACS and reported the ASHA-FACS items are representative of the everyday communication of older individuals in Australia.

Construct:
Convergent validity:
– Two studies examined the convergent validity of the ASHA-FACS and reported excellent correlations between the social communication domain of the ASHA-FACS and the FOQ; moderate correlations between the ASHA-FACS and Western Aphasia Battery, SCATBI, the communication domain of the Functional Independence Measure, the Rancho Los Amigos Levels of Cognitive Functioning and poor correlations between the ASHA-FACS and the SF-36.

Known Groups:
– One study examined known groups validity of the ASHA-FACS using Wilcoxon W and reported that the ASHA-FACS is able to discriminate between healthy individuals and those with communicative impairments.

Floor/Ceiling Effects

No studies have examined floor/ceiling effects of the ASHA-FACS in clients with stroke.

Sensitivity/ Specificity

– One study examined the sensitivity/specificity of the ASHA-FACS by comparing it with the Aphasia Checklist Score, as the gold standard and reported that a cut-off of 6.99 in the Communication Independence domain yields a sensitivity of 90% and a specificity of 70% while a cut-off of 4.81 in the Communications Dimensions yields a sensitivity of 100% and a specificity of 90%.

Does the tool detect change in patients?

No studies have examined the responsiveness of the ASHA-FACS in clients with stroke.

Acceptability

Examiners must have adequate opportunity for direct observation of communication at home or in the community. Additional information, as required, may be obtained from the significant other.

Feasibility

The administration of the ASHA-FACS is quick and simple.

How to obtain the tool?

The ASHA-FACS can be purchased from the ASHA website: http://www.asha.org/eWeb/OLSDynamicPage.aspx?Webcode=olsdetails&title=Functional+Assessment+of+Communication+Skills+for+Adults+(ASHA+FACS)

Psychometric Properties

Overview

We conducted a literature search to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the ASHA-FACS in individuals with stroke. We identified 5 studies.

Floor/Ceiling Effects

No studies have reported floor or ceiling effects of the ASHA-FACS in clients with stroke.

Reliability

Internal Consistency:
Frattali, Holland, Thompson, Wohl, and Ferketic (1995) verified the internal consistency of the ASHA-FACS in 32 subjects with stroke and 26 with traumatic brain injury. Items with correlations lower than 0.70 were deleted. All the other item scores and domain scores correlated well with the overall score.

Intra-rater:
Frattali et al. (1995) analyzed the Intra-rater reliability, as calculated using Pearson Correlation Coefficient, was excellent (r = 0.99).

Inter-rater:
Frattali et al. (1995) evaluated the inter-rater reliability of the ASHA-FACS. Speech language pathologists from five different centers throughout the US evaluated 32 subjects with stroke and 26 with traumatic brain injury. Inter-rater reliability, as calculated using Pearson Correlation Coefficient, was excellent (r = 0.82).
Note: the exact number of therapists was not provided.

Validity

Content

Davidson, Worral and Hickson (2003) analyzed the content validity of the ASHA-FACS among 30 older Australians (15 with stroke and aphasia and 15 healthy individuals). This observational study reported that the ASHA-FACS items are representative of the everyday communication of older individuals in Australia.

Criterion

Concurrent:
No studies have reported the concurrent validity of the ASHA-FACS in clients with stroke.

Predictive:
No studies have reported the predictive validity of the ASHA-FACS in clients with stroke.

Sensitivity/ Specificity:
Ross and Wertz (2004) estimated the sensitivity and specificity of the ASHA-FACS by comparing it with the Aphasia Checklist Score (Ross and Wertz, 2004), as the gold standard, in 10 clients with stroke and aphasia. The aphasia checklist score is a diagnostic test that takes into account information collected from the medical records and the World Health Organization’s concepts of disability. In the Communication Independence scale a cut-off of 6.99 yielded a sensitivity of 90% and a specificity of 70%. In the Communications Dimensions scale a cut-off of 4.81 produced 100% sensitivity and 90% specificity.

Construct

Convergent/Discriminant:
Frattali et al. (1995) assessed the construct validity of the ASHA-FACS by comparing it to the Western Aphasia Battery (Kertesz, 1982), the Scales of Cognitive Ability for Traumatic Brain Injury (SCATBI) (Adamovich & Henderson, 1992), and the communication domain of the Functional Independence Measure (FIM) (Keith, Granger, Hamilton, & Sherwin, 1987) and the Rancho Los Amigos Levels of Cognitive Functioning (Hagen, Malkmus, & Durham, 1972) in 32 subjects with stroke and 26 with traumatic brain injury. Correlations between the ASHA-FACS and all outcome measures were adequate.
Note: the authors did not report the correlation values.

Glueckauf, Blonder, Ecklund-Jonhson, Maher, Crosson and Gonzalez-Rothi (1993) assessed correlations between the scores of the ASHA-FACS, the Western Aphasia Battery (Kertesz, 1982), the Functional Outcome Questionnaire for Aphasia (FOQ-A) (Glueckauf et al., 1993) and the Medical Outcomes Study 36-item Short-Form Health Survey (SF-36) (Ware & Sherbourne, 1992). All outcome measures were scored by 18 caregivers of individuals with stroke. Correlations were found to be excellent between the social communication domain of the ASHA-FACS and the FOQ-A (r = 0.74) and poor between this domain and the Aphasia Quotient of the Western Aphasia Battery and the SF-36 (r = 18; r = 0.19, respectively). Correlations between the basic needs domain of the ASHA-FACS and the FOQ-A were adequate (r = 0.58), while correlations between the basic needs domain of the ASHA-FACS and the Aphasia Quotient of the Western Aphasia Battery and the SF-36 were poor (r = -16; r = 0.14), respectively.

Known groups:
Ross and Wertz (2003) verified the ability of the ASHA-FACS to discriminate between healthy elderly individuals (n = 18) and individuals who had experienced stroke and mild aphasia (n = 18). Known groups validity, as calculated using Wilcoxon W, suggested that scores of healthy subjects were significantly higher than the scores of the participants with verbal communicative impairments. Therefore, the ASHA-FACS is able to differentiate between healthy individuals and individuals with mild aphasia.

Responsiveness

No studies have reported the responsiveness of the ASHA-FACS in clients with stroke.

References

  • Adamovich, B.B. & Henderson, J. (1992). SCATBI – Scales of Cognitive Ability of Traumatic Brain Injury. Riverside.
  • Blomert, L., Kean, M. L., Koster, C., & Schokker, J. (1994). Amsterdam-Nijmegen Everyday Language Test: construction, reliability and validity. Aphasiology, 8, 381-407.
  • Davidson, B., Worrall, L., & Hickson, L. (2003). Identifying the communication activities of older people with aphasia: Evidence from naturalistic observation. Aphasiology, 17, 243-264.
  • Frattali, C. M., Thompson, C. K., Holland, A. L., Wohl, C., & Ferketic, M. M. (1995). The FACS of Life. ASHA FACS — A Functional Outcome Measure for Adults. ASHA, 7, 40-46.
  • Glueckauf, R. L., Blonder, L. X., Ecklund-Jonhson, E., Maher, L., Crosson, B., & Gonzalez-Rothi, L. (2003). Functional questionnaire for aphasia: overview and preliminary psychometric evaluation. Neurorehabilitation, 18, 281-290.
  • Hagen, C., Malkmus, D., & Durham, P. (1972). Rancho Los Amigos Levels of Cognitive Functioning. Communication Disorders Service: Rancho Los Amigos Hospital.
  • Keith, R. A., Granger, C. V., Hamilton, B. B., Sherwin, F. S. (1987). The functional independence measure: A new tool for rehabilitation. Adv Clin Rehabil, 1, 6-18.
  • Kertesz, A. (1982). Western Aphasia Battery. NY: Grune & Stratton.
  • Ross, K. B. & Wertz, R. T. (2003). Discriminative validity of selected measures for differentiating normal from aphasic performance. American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 12, 312-319.
  • Ross, K. B. & Wertz, R. T. (2004). Accuracy of formal tests for diagnosing mild aphasia: An application of evidence-based medicine. Aphasiology, 18, 337-355.
  • Ware, J. E. Jr. & Sherbourne, C. D. (1992) The MOS 36-item short-form health survey (SF-36). I. Conceptual framework and item selection. Med Care, 30, 473-483.
  • Worrall, L. & Yiu, E. (2000). Effectiveness of functional communication therapy by volunteers for people with aphasia following stroke. Aphasiology, 14, 911-924.

See The Measure

How to obtain the ASHA-FACS:

The ASHA-FACS can be purchased at the ASHA website and costs $USD165 for a certified non-ASHA member, and $USD124 for an ASHA member. This price does not include taxes and shipping.

Following is the website address for purchasing the ASHA-FACS: https://www.asha.org/

Table of contents
What do you think?

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for adults (ASHA-FACS)

Évidence révisées en date du 26-11-2010
Auteur(s)* : Sabrina Figueiredo, BSc
Éditeur(s) : Lisa Zeltzer, MSc OT ; Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT
Version française en traduction libre : Andréanne Labranche

But

L’American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for adults (ASHA-FACS) est une mesure de la communication fonctionnelle. Elle ne prétend pas mesurer les déficits, mais comment les déficits, au niveau du discours spécifique, du langage, de l’ouïe et/ou de la cognition, affectent la performance lors de la réalisation des activités quotidiennes (Frattali, Holland, Thompson, Wohl, & Ferketic, 1995).

Note : Le nom des instruments de mesure qui, en anglais, sont identifiés et nommés par des noms de genre féminin en français – ex. « Batterie » (Battery), « Catégorie » (Category), « Échelle » (Scale, Ladder), « Évaluation » (Assessment) ou « Mesure » (Measure) – sont traduits en français par le genre féminin.

Revue détaillée

But de l’outil de mesure

L’ASHA-FACS est une mesure de la communication fonctionnelle. Elle ne prétend pas mesurer les déficits, mais comment les déficits, au niveau du discours spécifique, du langage, de l’ouïe et/ou de la cognition, affectent la performance lors de la réalisation des activités quotidiennes (Frattali, Holland, Thompson, Wohl, & Ferketic, 1995).

Versions disponibles

L’ASHA-FACS a été développée en 1995 par Frattali, Holland, Thompson, Wohl et Ferketic.

Caractéristiques de l’outil

Items:
L’ASHA-FACS est constituée de 43 items. Les items de l’ASHA-FACS concernent quatre domaines : la communication sociale ; la communication des besoins de base ; la lecture, l’écriture et les concepts de nombres ; et la planification quotidienne. L’outil couvre différentes activités de la vie quotidienne (AVQ), telles que comprendre la télévision et la radio, réagir aux situations d’urgence et utiliser un calendrier (Frattali et al., 1995).

L’ASHA_FACS est également sous-divisée en deux échelles : l’Indépendance communicative (Communicative Independence) et les Dimensions qualitatives de la communication (Qualitative Dimensions of Communication). Ces échelles mesurent respectivement le niveau d’indépendance et la nature des déficits fonctionnels (Frattali et al., 1995).

L’ASHA-FACS se présente dans un format observationnel et nécessite que l’évaluateur connaisse bien le client avant d’évaluer sa communication. Les forces majeures de l’ASHA-FACS résident dans sa formulation simple et dans l’opérationnalisation comportementale du contenu des items (Glueckauf, Blonder, Ecklund-Jonhson, Maher, Crosson & Gonzalez-Rothi, 2003).

L’évaluateur peut aussi demander l’avis des proches du patient afin d’améliorer ses observations (Frattali et al., 1995). Des recommandations ont été faites pour que trois sessions d’observation soient nécessaires avant de pouvoir faire l’évaluation avec l’ASHA-FACS (Worrall & Yiu, 2000).

Cotation :
Les items sont cotés après avoir observé la communication fonctionnelle selon les deux sous-échelles.

L’échelle d’indépendance communicative est cotée sur un total de sept points allant de 1) «Ne performe pas le comportement» à 7) «Performe le comportement». Elle montre le niveau d’assistance dont l’individu a besoin pour faire des interactions verbales et non-verbales. L’échelle des dimensions qualitatives de la communication est cotée sur un total de cinq points. Elle montre le niveau de compétence, de justesse et de rapidité de la communication ainsi que de partage de celle-ci.

Le score total est obtenu en additionnant les scores de chaque item puis en divisant par le nombre d’items (moyenne). Il est aussi possible de calculer les scores des deux sous-échelles mentionnées plus haut en calculant les moyennes d’intérêt (Frattali et al., 1995).

Des scores plus bas sont indicatifs de plus gros déficits.

Temps d’administration requis :
L’ASHA-FACS prend en moyenne 20 minutes à coter. Le temps d’administration varie selon le temps pris lors des sessions d’observation (Frattali et al., 1995).

Sous-échelles :
L’ASHA-FACS est constitué de deux sous-échelles (Frattali et al., 1995) :
– L’échelle d’indépendance communicative
– L’échelle des dimensions qualitatives de la communication

Équipement :
Aucun documenté.

Formation :
Aucune documentée.

Versions alternatives de l’ASHA-FACS

Aucune.

Clientèle cible

Peut être utilisé avec :

  • Les clients ayant subi un AVC.
  • Les clients avec des déficits au niveau de la communication.

Ne peut pas être utilisé avec :

  • L’ASHA-FACS ne devrait pas être utilisé avec les clients qui sont incapable de communiquer.

Dans quelles langues l’outil est-il disponible ?

Anglais (Frattali et al., 1995)

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? L’ASHA-FACS est une mesure de la communication fonctionnelle.
Pour quelles clientèles cet outil peut-il être utilisé ? L’ASHA-FACS peut être utilisée avec les clients ayant subi un AVC, mais son usage n’est pas strictement limité à cette clientèle.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Évaluation
Temps d’administration requis L’ASHA-FACS prend approximativement 20 minutes à administrer
Versions Aucune
Autres langues Anglais
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité Cohérence interne :
Une étude a examiné la cohérence interne de l’ASHA-FACS et a relevé, après avoir éliminé les items avec de faibles corrélations, que tous les autres scores d’items et de domaines corrélaient bien avec le score total.

Intra-juge :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité intra-juge de l’ASHA-FACS et a relevé une excellente fidélité en utilisant des corrélations de Pearson.

Inter-juges :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité inter-juges de l’ASHA-FACS et a relevé une excellente fidélité en utilisant des corrélations de Pearson.

Validité Contenu :
Une étude a examiné la validité de contenu de l’ASHA-FACS et a relevé que les items de l’ASHA-FACS sont représentatifs de la communication au quotidien des personnes âgées vivant en Australie.

Construit :
Convergente :
Deux études ont examiné la validité convergente de l’ASHA-FACS et ont relevé d’excellentes corrélations entre le domaine de la communication sociale de l’ASHA-FACS et le Functional Outcome Questionnaire for Aphasia ; des corrélations modérées entre l’ASHA-FACS et la Western Aphasia Battery, la Scales of Cognitive Ability for Traumatic Brain Injury, la sous-échelle évaluant la Communication de la Mesure de l’indépendance fonctionnelle, le Rancho Los Amigos Levels of Cognitive Functioning ; et de faibles corrélations entre l’ASHA-FACS et la SF-36.

Groupes connus :
Une étude a examiné la validité de groupes connus de l’ASHA-FACS en utilisant le test de W de Wilcoxon et a noté que l’ASHA-FACS est capable de faire la distinction entre les individus en santé et les individus avec des déficits de communication.

Effets plancher/plafond Aucune étude n’a examiné les effets de plancher/plafond de l’ASHA-FACS auprès de clients ayant subi un AVC.
Sensibilité/spécificité Une étude a examiné la sensibilité/spécificité de l’ASHA-FACS en la comparant à l’Aphasia Checklist Score (en tant qu’étalon de mesure), et a relevé qu’un seuil limite de 6,99 dans le domaine de l’indépendance de communication donne une sensibilité de 90% et une spécificité de 70 %, alors qu’un seuil limite de 4,81 dans les dimensions de communication donne une sensibilité de 100% et une spécificité de 90%.
Est-ce que l’outil est sensible au changement ? Aucune étude n’a examiné la sensibilité au changement de l’ASHA-FACS auprès de clients ayant subi un AVC.
Acceptabilité Les évaluateurs doivent avoir eu des opportunités adéquates pour observer directement la communication au domicile ou dans la communauté. Des informations additionnelles peuvent être demandées à un proche si elles sont nécessaires.
Faisabilité L’administration de l’ASHA-FACS est simple et rapide.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? L’ASHA-FACS peut être achetée sur le site web de l’ASHA: http://www.asha.org/eWeb/OLSDynamicPage.aspx?Webcode=olsdetails&title=Functional+Assessment+of+Communication+Skills+for+Adults+(ASHA+FACS)

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Une recherche dans la littérature a été menée pour identifier toutes les publications pertinentes concernant les propriétés psychométriques de l’ASHA-FACS auprès d’individus ayant subi un AVC. Cinq études ont été identifiées.

Effets de plancher/plafond

Aucune étude n’a documenté d’informations sur les effets de plancher ou de plafond de l’ASHA-FACS auprès d’individus ayant subi un AVC.

Fidélité

Cohérence interne :
Frattali, Holland, Thompson, Wohl et Ferketic (1995) ont vérifié la cohérence interne de l’ASHA-FACS auprès de 32 patients ayant subi un AVC et 26 patients ayant subi une blessure traumatique au cerveau. Les items avec des corrélations plus basses que 0,70 ont été supprimés. Tous les autres scores d’items et de domaines ont bien corrélé avec le score total.

Intra-juge :
Frattali et al. (1995) ont analysé la fidélité intra-juge de l’ASHA-FACS, calculée en utilisant le coefficient de corrélation de Pearson. Celle-ci s’est avérée excellente (r = 0,99).

Inter-juges :
Frattali et al. (1995) ont évalué la fidélité inter-juges de l’ASHA-FACS. Des orthophonistes de cinq différents centres situés sur le territoire des États-Unis ont évalué 32 patients ayant subi un AVC et 26 patients ayant subi une blessure traumatique au cerveau. La fidélité inter-juges, calculée en utilisant le coefficient de corrélation de Pearson, s’est avérée excellente (r = 0,82).
Note: Le nombre exacte de thérapeutes n’a pas été documenté.

Validité

Contenu :
Davidson, Worral and Hickson (2003) ont analysé la validité de contenu de l’ASHA-FACS auprès de 30 Australiens âgés (15 individus ayant subi un AVC et présentant de l’aphasie ainsi que 15 individus en santé). Cette étude observationnelle a relevé que les items de l’ASHA-FACS étaient représentatifs de la communication au quotidien des individus âgés vivant en Australie.

Critère :
Concourante :
Aucune étude n’a documenté d’informations sur la validité concourante de l’ASHA-FACS auprès de clients ayant subi un AVC.

Prédictive :
Aucune étude n’a documenté d’informations sur la validité prédictive de l’ASHA-FACS auprès de clients ayant subi un AVC.

Sensibilité/Spécificité :
Ross et Wertz (2004) ont examiné la sensibilité/spécificité de l’ASHA-FACS en la comparant à l’Aphasia Checklist Score (Ross et Wertz, 2004 – en tant qu’étalon de mesure), auprès de 10 patients ayant subi un AVC et présentant de l’aphasie. L’Aphasia Checklist Score est un test de diagnostic qui prend en compte les informations collectées à partir des dossiers médicaux et des concepts de handicap de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé. Il a été noté qu’un seuil limite de 6,99 dans le domaine de l’indépendance de communication donne une sensibilité de 90% et une spécificité de 70 %, alors qu’un seuil limite de 4,81 dans les dimensions de communication donne une sensibilité de 100% et une spécificité de 90%.

Construit :
Convergente/Discriminante :
Frattali et al. (1995) ont évalué la validité de construit de l’ASHA-FACS en la comparant au Western Aphasia Battery (Kertesz, 1982), à la Scales of Cognitive Ability for Traumatic Brain Injury (SCATBI – Adamovich & Henderson, 1992), à la sous-échelle évaluant la Communication de la Mesure de l’indépendance fonctionnelle (MIF – Keith, Granger, Hamilton, & Sherwin, 1987) et au Rancho Los Amigos Levels of Cognitive Functioning (Hagen, Malkmus, & Durham, 1972) auprès de 32 patients ayant subi un AVC ainsi que 26 patients ayant subi une blessure traumatique au cerveau. Les corrélations entre l’ASHA-FACS et tous les autres instruments de mesure étaient adéquates.
Note : Les auteurs n’ont pas documenté les valeurs des corrélations.

Glueckauf, Blonder, Ecklund-Jonhson, Maher, Crosson et Gonzalez-Rothi (1993) ont évalué les corrélations entre les scores de l’ASHA-FACS, de la Western Aphasia Battery (Kertesz, 1982), du Functional Outcome Questionnaire for Aphasia (FOQ-A – Glueckauf et al., 1993) et de la Medical Outcomes Study 36-item Short-Form Health Survey (SF-36 – Ware & Sherbourne, 1992). Tous les instruments de mesure ont été cotés par 18 proches aidant d’individus ayant subi un AVC. Les corrélations étaient excellentes entre le domaine de communication sociale de l’ASHA-FACS et le FOQ-A (r = 0,74) ; par contre, les corrélations étaient faibles pour ce même domaine avec le quotient d’aphasie (Aphasia Quotient) du Western Aphasia Battery et avec le SF-36 (respectivement, r = 18 et r = 0,19). Les corrélations entre le domaine de besoins de base de l’ASHA-FACS et le FOQ-A étaient adéquates (r = 0,58). Les corrélations du domaine de besoins de base de l’ASHA-FACS avec le quotient d’aphasie (Aphasia Quotient) de la Western Aphasia Battery et avec la SF-36 étaient faibles (respectivement, r = -16 et r = 0,14).

Groupes connus :
Ross and Wertz (2003) ont vérifié la capacité de l’ASHA-FACS à faire la distinction entre des personnes âgées en santé (n = 18) et des individus ayant subi un AVC et présentant de faibles symptômes d’aphasie (n = 18). La validité de groupes connus, calculé en utilisant le test de W de Wilcoxon , a démontré que les scores des individus en santé étaient significativement meilleurs que les scores des participants avec des déficits de communication verbale. L’ASHA-FACS s’est ainsi avéré être capable de faire la distinction entre les individus en santé et les individus étant faiblement aphasiques.

Sensibilité au changement

Aucune étude n’a documenté d’informations sur la sensibilité au changement de l’ASHA-FACS auprès de clients ayant subi un AVC.

Références

  • Adamovich, B.B. & Henderson, J. (1992). SCATBI – Scales of Cognitive Ability of Traumatic Brain Injury. Riverside.
  • Blomert, L., Kean, M. L., Koster, C., & Schokker, J. (1994). Amsterdam-Nijmegen Everyday Language Test: construction, reliability and validity. Aphasiology, 8, 381-407.
  • Davidson, B., Worrall, L., & Hickson, L. (2003). Identifying the communication activities of older people with Aphasia: Evidence from naturalistic observation. Aphasiology, 17, 243-264.
  • Frattali, C. M., Thompson, C. K., Holland, A. L., Wohl, C., & Ferketic, M. M. (1995). The FACS of Life. ASHA FACS — A Functional Outcome Measure for Adults. ASHA, 7, 40-46.
  • Glueckauf, R. L., Blonder, L. X., Ecklund-Jonhson, E., Maher, L., Crosson, B., & Gonzalez-Rothi, L. (2003). Functional questionnaire for Aphasia: overview and preliminary psychometric evaluation. Neurorehabilitation, 18, 281-290.
  • Hagen, C., Malkmus, D., & Durham, P. (1972). Rancho Los Amigos Levels of Cognitive Functioning. Communication Disorders Service: Rancho Los Amigos Hospital.
  • Keith, R. A., Granger, C. V., Hamilton, B. B., Sherwin, F. S. (1987). The functional independence measure: A new tool for rehabilitation. Adv Clin Rehabil, 1, 6-18.
  • Kertesz, A. (1982). Western Aphasia Battery. NY: Grune & Stratton.
  • Ross, K. B. & Wertz, R. T. (2003). Discriminative validity of selected measures for differentiating normal from aphasic performance. American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 12, 312-319.
  • Ross, K. B. & Wertz, R. T. (2004). Accuracy of formal tests for diagnosing mild Aphasia: An application of evidence-based medicine. Aphasiology, 18, 337-355.
  • Ware, J. E. Jr. & Sherbourne, C. D. (1992) The MOS 36-item short-form health survey (SF-36). I. Conceptual framework and item selection. Med Care, 30, 473-483.
  • Worrall, L. & Yiu, E. (2000). Effectiveness of functional communication therapy by volunteers for people with Aphasia following stroke. Aphasiology, 14, 911-924.

Références

  • Adamovich, B.B. & Henderson, J. (1992). SCATBI – Scales of Cognitive Ability of Traumatic Brain Injury. Riverside.
  • Blomert, L., Kean, M. L., Koster, C., & Schokker, J. (1994). Amsterdam-Nijmegen Everyday Language Test: construction, reliability and validity. Aphasiology, 8, 381-407.
  • Davidson, B., Worrall, L., & Hickson, L. (2003). Identifying the communication activities of older people with aphasia: Evidence from naturalistic observation. Aphasiology, 17, 243-264.
  • Frattali, C. M., Thompson, C. K., Holland, A. L., Wohl, C., & Ferketic, M. M. (1995). The FACS of Life. ASHA FACS — A Functional Outcome Measure for Adults. ASHA, 7, 40-46.
  • Glueckauf, R. L., Blonder, L. X., Ecklund-Jonhson, E., Maher, L., Crosson, B., & Gonzalez-Rothi, L. (2003). Functional questionnaire for aphasia: overview and preliminary psychometric evaluation. Neurorehabilitation, 18, 281-290.
  • Hagen, C., Malkmus, D., & Durham, P. (1972). Rancho Los Amigos Levels of Cognitive Functioning. Communication Disorders Service: Rancho Los Amigos Hospital.
  • Keith, R. A., Granger, C. V., Hamilton, B. B., Sherwin, F. S. (1987). The functional independence measure: A new tool for rehabilitation. Adv Clin Rehabil, 1, 6-18.
  • Kertesz, A. (1982). Western Aphasia Battery. NY: Grune & Stratton.
  • Ross, K. B. & Wertz, R. T. (2003). Discriminative validity of selected measures for differentiating normal from aphasic performance. American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 12, 312-319.
  • Ross, K. B. & Wertz, R. T. (2004). Accuracy of formal tests for diagnosing mild aphasia: An application of evidence-based medicine. Aphasiology, 18, 337-355.
  • Ware, J. E. Jr. & Sherbourne, C. D. (1992) The MOS 36-item short-form health survey (SF-36). I. Conceptual framework and item selection. Med Care, 30, 473-483.
  • Worrall, L. & Yiu, E. (2000). Effectiveness of functional communication therapy by volunteers for people with aphasia following stroke. Aphasiology, 14, 911-924.

Voir la mesure

Comment obtenir l’ASHA-FACS :

L’ASHA-FACS peut être achetée sur le site web de l’ASHA et se vend à 165$ US pour un non-membre certifié. L’ASHA-FACS coûte 124$ US pour un membre de l’ASHA. Ces prix n’incluent pas les taxes et les frais de livraison. L’adresse du site web permettant d’acheter l’ASHA-FACS est la suivante : https://www.asha.org/

Table des matières
Votre opinion