Functional Ambulation Categories (FAC)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 23-06-2011
Author(s): Katie Marvin, MSc. (Candidate)
Editor(s): Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT; Annabel McDermott, OT

Purpose

The Functional Ambulation Categories (FAC) is a functional walking test that evaluates ambulation ability. This 6-point scale assesses ambulation status by determining how much human support the patient requires when walking, regardless of whether or not they use a personal assistive device (Teasdall, Foley & Salter, 2011). The FAC can be used with, but is not limited to, patients with stroke.

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The Functional Ambulation Categories (FAC) is a functional walking test that evaluates ambulation ability. This 6-point scale assesses ambulation status by determining how much human support the patient requires when walking, regardless of whether or not they use a personal assistive device (Teasell et al., 2011). The FAC does not evaluate endurance, as the patient is only required to walk approximately 10 ft (Holden, Gill, Magliozzi, Nathan & Piehl-Baker, 1984). The FAC can be used with, but is not limited to, patients with stroke.

Available versions

The FAC was developed at Massachusetts General Hospital and first described by Holden et al. in 1984.

Features of the measure

Items:
There are no actual items to the FAC.

To use the FAC, an assessor asks the subject various questions (Mehrholz et al., 2007) and briefly observes their walking ability to provide a rating from 0 to 5 (Collen, Wade and Bradshaw, 1990).

  • A score of 0 indicates that the patient is a non-functional ambulator (cannot walk);
  • A score of 1, 2 or 3 denotes a dependent ambulator who requires assistance from another person in the form of continuous manual contact (1), continuous or intermittent manual contact (2), or verbal supervision/guarding (3)
  • A score of 4 or 5 describes an independent ambulator who can walk freely on: level surfaces only (4) or any surface (5=maximum score) (Holden et al., 1984)

What to consider before beginning:
To prepare for the FAC, the client should be encouraged to:

  • Wear comfortable clothing
  • Wear appropriate footwear
  • Use their usual walking aides during the test (cane, walker, etc.)

To prepare for the FAC, clinicians should be aware that provision of human support to the patient may be required.

Scoring and Score Interpretation:

Score Category Interpretation
0 Nonfunctional ambulator
1 Ambulator, dependent on physical assistance – level I Indicates a patient who requires continuous manual contact to support body weight as well as to maintain balance or to assist coordination.
2 Ambulator, dependent on physical assistance – level II Indicates a patient who requires intermittent or continuous light touch to assist balance or coordination.
3 Ambulator, dependent on supervision Indicates a patient who can ambulate on level surface without manual contact of another person but requires standby guarding of one person either for safety or verbal cueing.
4 Ambulator, independent level surface only Indicates a patient who can ambulate independently on level surface but requires supervision to negotiate (e.g. stairs, inclines, nonlevel surfaces).
5 Ambulator, independent Indicates a patient who can walk everywhere independently, including stairs.

(Mehrholz et al., 2007)

Time:
The average completion time has not been reported, however, it is estimated that the FAC takes approximately 1 to 5 minutes to complete.

Training requirements:
No special training is required to administer the FAC but the administrator should be familiar with the scale prior to its use.

Subscales:
None typically reported.

Equipment:
The FAC does not require any specialized equipment and can therefore be accomplished in community as well as institutional settings.

  • Ten feet path free from obstruction
  • Stairs and uneven terrain in order to evaluate category 5 (Ambulator, independent)

Alternative Forms of the assessment

Also known as Functional Ambulation Classification.
There are no alternative forms of the FAC.

Client suitability

Can be used with:

Patients with stroke/hemiplegia (acute, subacute, and chronic) (Holden et al., 1984, 1986; Hesse et al. 1994)

Other groups tested with this measure:

  • Multiple Sclerosis (Holden et al., 1984, 1986)
  • Cerebral Palsy (Schindl et al., 2000).

Should not be used with:

  • A proxy – because the FAC is administered through direct observation, a proxy respondent cannot be used.

In what languages is the measure available?

No information available. As it is not a measure with specific items that are asked of the patient it is likely the scale can be used by any clinician who understands English sufficiently well to differentiate the coding structure.

Summary

What does the tool measure?

It is a functional walking test that assesses ambulation status by determining how much human support the patient requires.

What types of clients can the tool be used for?

Clients with stroke, Multiple Sclerosis and Cerebral Palsy.

Is this a screening or assessment tool?

Assessment

Time to administer

Approximately 1 to 5 minutes.

Versions

Also referred to as Functional Ambulation Classification.
There are no alternative versions.

Other Languages

None reported.

Measurement Properties

Reliability

Test-retest:
One study examined the test-retest reliability of the FAC and found the test to have excellent test-retest reliability (k=.950).

Inter-rater:
Two studies examined the inter-rater reliability of the FAC and found the test to have poor to excellent inter-rater reliabilities (k=.36 and k=.905).

Validity

Concurrent:
– One study examined the concurrent validity of the FAC and reported excellent correlations with Rivermead Mobility Index, 6 Minute Walk Test, walking velocity and stride length.

Predictive:
– One study examined the predictive validity of the FAC in patients with stroke and found it to be an adequate predictor of functional community ambulation 6 months after stroke.

Does the tool detect change in patients?

Earlier studies suggested that the FAC may lack responsiveness, especially if using it to distinguish between groups at lower levels of functioning (Teasdall et al., 2011), however, a recent study reported moderates to larges effect sizes when the FAC was used to evaluate change in ambulation over a period of 6-months (Mehrholz et al., 2007). Future research is required to determine the responsiveness of the FAC in assessing patients at various levels of functioning.

Acceptability

Administration of the FAC is simple, requiring only brief questioning and observation, thereby creating minimal patient burden.

Feasibility

The FAC is quick and easy to use and the scale can be obtained at no cost. Also, there is no equipment that needs to accompany administration of the scale. No formal training is required to administer the FAC but the user should be familiar with the scale prior to its use.

How to obtain the tool?

Please visit:
http://www.rehabmeasures.org

Psychometric Properties

Overview

We conducted a literature search to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the FAC in individuals with stroke. We identified four studies. More studies are required before definitive conclusions can be drawn regarding the reliability, validity and responsiveness of the FAC.

Floor/Ceiling Effects

No studies have reported on the floor/ceiling effects of the FAC with patients with stroke. However given that it measures the full range of functional walking floor/ceiling effects are not expected.

Reliability

Internal Consistency:
No studies have reported on the internal consistency of the FAC with patients with stroke.

Intra-rater:
No studies have reported on the intra-rater reliability of the FAC in patients with stroke.

Inter-rater:
Collen, Wade and Bradshaw (1990) investigated the inter-rater reliability of the FAC in 25 patients with chronic stroke (2 to 6 years of stroke with residual impaired mobility). Inter-rater reliability between examiners, as measured using kappa statistics was found to be be poor (k=0.36).

Mehrholz et al. (2007) examined the inter-rater reliability of the FAC in 55 clients with subacute stroke admitted to a rehabilitation hospital. Clients were within 2-months post stroke. Inter-rater reliability was found to be excellent (k.905). Researchers believe that the use of key questions, video recordings and experienced examiners improved the inter-rater reliability in this study.

Test-retest:
Mehrholz et al. (2007) examined the test-retest reliability (one week apart) of the FAC by administering the measure to a sample of 55 clients with stroke (< 60 days since onset). The correlation between the two evaluations was excellent (k=.950), indicating that the FAC has excellent test-retest reliability.

Validity

Content:
No studies have reported on the content validity of the FAC with patients with stroke.

Criterion:
No studies have reported on the criterion validity of the FAC with patients with stroke.

Concurrent:
Mehrholz et al. (2007) examined the concurrent validity of the FAC and commonly used measures of gait performance, the Rivermead Mobility Index (RMI), 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT), walking velocity and stride length in 55 patients with stroke. Evaluations were performed at admission, 2 and 4 weeks, and 6 months. Concurrent validity was measured using Spearman correlations. Correlations between the FAC and RMI, 6MWT, walking velocity and stride length from baseline to 6-months were excellent (k=.841; k=.795; k=767; k=.805 respectively).

Predictive:
Mehrholz et al. (2007) examined whether FAC scores assessed following a 4-week rehabilitation program could predict functional community ambulation at 6-month follow-up in 55 patients with subacute stroke. Community ambulation was defined as the ability to walk faster than 73m/min, longer than 332m, climb stairs and curbs; patients that met all three community ambulation criteria were deemed community ambulators. Predictive validity, as calculated using a Receiver Operating Characteristic (ROC) curve, was highest for ROC cut-off scores ≥ 4 (AUC = 0.89). Thus scoring ≥ 4 on the FAC following a 4-week rehabilitation program is predictive of community ambulation at 6-months.

Sensitivity/Specificity:
No studies have reported on the sensitivity or the specificity of the FAC with patients with stroke.

Construct:
Convergent/Discriminant:
No studies have reported on the convergent/discriminant validity of the FAC with patients with stroke.

Known Groups:
No studies have reported on the known groups validity of the FAC with patients with stroke.

Responsiveness

Earlier studies have suggested that the FAC may lack responsiveness, especially when being used to differentiate between groups at lower levels of functioning (Teasdall et al., 2011). However, a recent study reported moderates to larges effect sizes when the FAC was used to evaluate change in ambulation over a period of 6-months (Mehrholz et al., 2007). Future research is required to determine the responsiveness of the FAC in assessing patients at various levels of functioning.

Mehrholz et al. (2007) assessed the responsiveness of the FAC in evaluating recovery of walking ability in 55 patients with stroke who could not walk without assistance prior to initiating inpatient rehabilitation. The mean score at baseline was 0.44 +/- 0.69 and the mean score at discharge was 2.79 +/- 2.12. The responsiveness to change as measured by the standard response mean (SRM) was was moderate to large: FAC scores changed significantly within the first 2 weeks of the study (SRM=1.016) and between week 4 and study end date at 6 months (SRM=.699); and adequately within weeks 2 and 4 (SRM=.842). The results of this study suggest that the FAC can be used to measure change and outcome in gait performance in patients with stroke.

References

  • Brock, J.A., Goldie, P.A. & Greenwood, K.M. (2002). Evaluating the effectiveness of stroke rehabilitation: Choosing a discriminative measure. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 83, 92-99.
  • Collen, F.M., Wade, D.T. & Bradshaw, C.M. (1990). Mobility after stroke: Reliability of measures of impairment and disability. International Disability Studies, 12, 6-9.
  • Cunha, I.T., Lim, P.A., Henson, H., Monga, T., Qureshy, H. & Protas, E.J. (2002). Performance-based gait tests for acute stroke patients. American Journal of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 81, 848-856.
  • Hesse, S., Bertelt, C., Schaffrin, A., Malezic, M. & Mauritz, K.H. (1994). Restoration of gait in nonambulatory hemiparetic patients by treadmill training with partial body-weight support. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 75, 1087-1093.
  • Holden, M.K., Gill, K.M., Magliozzi, M.R., Nathan, J. & Piehl-Baker, L. (1984). Clinical gait assessment in the neurologically impaired. Reliability and meaningfulness. Physical Therapy, 64, 35-40.
  • Holden, M.K., Gill, M.K. & Magliozzi, M.R. (1986). Gait and assessment for neurologically impaired patients. Standards for outcome assessment. Physical Therapy, 66, 1530-1539.
  • Lord, S.E., McPherson, K., McNaughton, H.K., Rochester, L., Weatherall, M. (2004). Community ambulation after stroke: How important and obtainable is it and what measures appear predictive? Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 85, 234-239.
  • Mehrholz, J., Wagner, K., Rutte, K., Meiner, D. and Pohl, M. (2007). Predictive validity and responsiveness of the Functional Ambulation Category in hemiparetic patients after stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 88, 1314-1319.
  • Schindl, M.R., Forstner, C., Kern, H. & Hesse, S. (2000). Treadmill training with partial body weight support in nonambulatory patients with cerebral palsy. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 81, 301-306.
  • Simondson, J.A., Goldie, P., Greenwood, K.M. (2003). The Mobility Scale for Acute Stroke Patients: Concurrent validity. Clinical Rehabilitation, 17, 558-564.
  • Stevenson, T.J. (1999). Using impairment inventory scores to determine ambulation status in individuals with stroke. Physiotherapy Canada, 51, 168-174.
  • Teasell, R., Foley, N. C., & Salter K. (2011). EBRSR: Evidence-Based Review of Stroke Rehabilitation. 13th ed. London (ON): EBRSR.

See The Measure

How to obtain the Functional Ambulation Categories?

Please visit: http://www.rehabmeasures.org and search “Functional Ambulation Classification” or “Functional Ambulation Categories”.

Table of contents
Survey

Functional Ambulation Categories (FAC)

Évidence révisées en date du 23-06-2011
Auteur(s)* : Katie Marvin, MSc. (Candidate)
Éditeur(s) : Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT ; Annabel McDermott, OT
Version française en traduction libre : Alexandra Matteau

But

La Functional Ambulation Categories (FAC) est un test de marche fonctionnelle qui évalue la capacité de déplacement. Cette échelle à 6 points évalue l’état de déplacement en déterminant dans quelle mesure le patient a besoin d’assistance humaine lors de la marche, qu’il utilise ou non une aide technique personnelle (Teasdall, Foley & Salter, 2011). La FAC peut être utilisée avec les patients ayant subi un AVC, mais n’est pas limitée à ceux-ci.

Note : Le nom des instruments de mesure qui, en anglais, sont identifiés et nommés par des noms de genre féminin en français – ex. « Batterie » (Battery), « Catégorie » (Category), « Échelle » (Scale, Ladder), « Évaluation » (Assessment) ou « Mesure » (Measure) – sont traduits en français par le genre féminin.

Revue détaillée

But de la mesure

La Functional Ambulation Categories (FAC) est un test de marche fonctionnelle qui évalue la capacité de déplacement. Cette échelle à 6 points évalue l’état de déplacement en déterminant dans quelle mesure le patient a besoin d’assistance humaine lors de la marche, qu’il utilise ou non une aide technique personnelle (Teasdall, Foley & Salter, 2011). La FAC n’évalue pas l’endurance, car le patient doit uniquement marcher sur une distance d’environ 10 pieds (Holden, Gill, Magliozzi, Nathan & Piehl-Baker, 1984). La FAC peut être utilisée avec les patients ayant subi un AVC, mais n’est pas limitée à ceux-ci.

Versions disponibles

La FAC a été développée au Massachusetts General Hospital et a été décrite pour la première fois par Holden et al. en 1984.

Caractéristiques de la mesure

Items :
Il n’y a pas réellement d’items de la FAC.

Pour utiliser la FAC, un évaluateur pose diverses questions au patient (Mehrholz et al., 2007) et observe brièvement sa capacité de marcher pour attribuer une note entre 0 et 5 (Collen, Wade et Bradshaw, 1990).

  • Un score de 0 indique que le patient est un marcheur non fonctionnel (ne peut pas marcher);
  • Un score de 1, 2 ou 3 désigne un marcheur dépendant qui nécessite de l’assistance d’une autre personne sous la forme d’un contact manuel continu (1), d’un contact manuel continu ou intermittent (2), ou d’une supervision verbale/surveillance (3);
  • Un score de 4 ou 5 décrit un marcheur indépendant qui peut marcher librement sur : les surfaces planes uniquement (4) ou toutes les surfaces (5 = score maximum) (Holden et al., 1984).

Ce qu’il faut considérer avant de débuter :
Afin de se préparer pour exécuter la FAC, les clients devraient être encouragés à :

  • Porter des vêtements confortables
  • Porter des chaussures appropriées
  • Utiliser leur dispositif d’aide à la marche habituel durant le test (canne, déambulateur, etc.)

Pour se préparer pour l’administration de la FAC, les cliniciens doivent savoir qu’il peut être nécessaire de fournir de l’assistance humaine au patient.

 Cotation et interprétation du score :

Score Catégorie Interprétation
0 Marcheur non fonctionnel
1 Marcheur, dépendant d’assistance physique – niveau I Indique un patient ayant besoin d’un contact manuel continu pour supporter son poids corporel, ainsi que pour maintenir son équilibre ou pour faciliter la coordination.
2 Marcheur, dépendant d’assistance physique – niveau II Indique un patient ayant besoin d’un contact léger intermittent ou continu pour faciliter l’équilibre ou la coordination.
3 Marcheur, dépendant de supervision Indique un patient qui peut se déplacer sur des surfaces planes sans contact manuel d’une autre personne, mais qui a besoin de surveillance par une personne prête à réagir pour sa sécurité ou bien pour des indices verbaux
4 Marcheur, indépendant sur les surfaces planes uniquement Indique un patient qui peut se déplacer de façon indépendante sur des surfaces planes, mais qui a besoin de supervision pour négocier (par ex. les escaliers, les pentes et les surfaces non planes).
5 Marcheur, indépendant Indique un patient qui peut marcher partout de façon indépendante, y compris dans les escaliers.

(Mehrholz et al., 2007)

Durée :
La durée d’exécution moyenne n’a pas été documentée, mais il est estimé que la FAC prend environ 1 à 5 minutes pour être complétée.

Formation :
Aucune formation spécifique n’est requise pour administrer la FAC, mais l’administrateur doit bien connaître l’échelle avant de l’utiliser.

Sous-échelles :
Aucune typiquement documentée.

Équipements :
La FAC ne nécessite aucun équipement spécialisé et peut donc être accomplie aussi bien dans un milieu communautaire que dans un milieu institutionnel.

  • Une allée de 3 mètres (10 pieds) exempte d’obstacles
  • Des escaliers et un terrain irrégulier dans le but d’évaluer la catégorie 5 (Marcheur, indépendant)

Versions alternatives de la Functional Ambulation Categories

Également connue sous le nom de la Functional Ambulation Classification.
Il n’y a pas de formes alternatives de la FAC.

Pertinence de l’évaluation selon la clientèle

Peut être utilisé avec :

Les patients en phase aiguë, subaiguë ou chronique de récupération d’un AVC pouvant présenter une hémiplégie (Holden et al., 1984, 1986 ; Hesse et al., 1994).

Autres groupes évalués avec cette mesure :

  • Sclérose en plaques (Holden et al., 1984, 1986)
  • Paralysie cérébrale (Schindl et al., 2000).

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec :

  • Un proche aidant – puisque la FAC est administrée par observation directe, un proche aidant ne peut pas être utilisé.

Dans quelles langues la mesure est-elle disponible ?

Aucune information disponible. Comme la FAC n’est pas une mesure avec des items spécifiques qui sont posés au patient, il est probable que l’échelle puisse être utilisée par n’importe quel clinicien qui comprend suffisamment bien l’anglais ou le français pour différencier la structure de codage.

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? Il s’agit d’un test de marche fonctionnelle qui évalue l’état de déplacement en déterminant dans quelle mesure le patient a besoin d’assistance humaine.
Avec quelles clientèles l’outil peut-il être utilisé ? Les clients ayant subi un AVC, de la sclérose en plaques ou une paralysie cérébrale.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Évaluation
Temps d’administration Approximativement 1 à 5 minutes.
Versions Également désignée sous le nom de la Functional Ambulation Classification.
Il n’y a pas de versions alternatives
Autres langues N’a pas été documenté (version originale en anglais).
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité Test-retest :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité test-retest de la FAC et a relevé une excellent fidélité test-retest (k=0,950).

Inter-juges :
Deux études ont examiné la fidélité inter-juges de la FAC et ont relevé une fidélité inter-juges allant de faible à excellente (k=.36 et k=.905).

Validité Critère :
Concourante :
Une étude a examiné la validité concourante de la FAC et a relevé d’excellentes corrélations avec le Rivermead Mobility Index, le 6 Minute Walk Test, la vitesse de marche et la longueur de la foulée.

Prédictive :
Une étude a examiné la validité prédictive de la FAC chez les patients ayant subi un AVC et a été constaté qu’il s’agit d’un indicateur adéquat du déplacement fonctionnel dans la communauté 6 mois après l’AVC.

Est-ce que l’outil est sensible au changement ? Des études antérieures ont suggéré que la FAC manque peut-être de sensibilité au changement, en particulier si on l’utilise pour faire la distinction entre des groupes à des niveaux inférieurs de fonctionnement (Teasdall et al., 2011). Toutefois, une récente étude a relevé des ampleurs de l’effet adéquates à grandes lorsque la FAC a été utilisée pour évaluer le changement au niveau du déplacement sur une période de 6 mois (Mehrholz et al., 2007). De futures recherches sont nécessaires pour déterminer la sensibilité au changement de la FAC dans l’évaluation de patients de divers niveaux de fonctionnement.
Acceptabilité L’administration de la FAC est simple, nécessitant seulement un bref interrogatoire et une brève observation, créant ainsi une charge minimale pour le patient.
Faisabilité La FAC est rapide et facile à utiliser et l’échelle peut être obtenue gratuitement. De plus, aucun équipement n’est nécessaire pour l’administration de l’échelle. Aucune formation officielle n’est nécessaire pour administrer la FAC, mais l’utilisateur doit bien connaître l’échelle avant de l’utiliser.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? Veuillez consulter :
http://www.rehabmeasures.org

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Une revue de littérature a été menée pour identifier toutes les publications pertinentes sur les propriétés psychométriques de la FAC auprès d’individus ayant subi un AVC. Quatre études ont été identifiées. Davantage d’études sont nécessaires avant de tirer des conclusions définitives concernant la fidélité, la validité et la sensibilité au changement de la FAC.

Effets plancher/plafond

Aucune étude n’a examiné les effets de plancher ou de plafond de la FAC auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC. Toutefois, étant donné que la FAC mesure l’ensemble du déplacement fonctionnel, des effets de plancher ou de plafond sont peu probables.

Fidélité

Cohérence interne :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la cohérence interne de la FAC auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Test-retest :
Mehrholz et al. (2007) ont examiné la fidélité test-retest de la FAC (à une semaine d’intervalle) en administrant la mesure à un échantillon de 55 patients ayant subi un AVC (< 60 jours après sa survenue). La corrélation entre les deux évaluations s’est avérée excellente (k=0,950), ce qui indique que la FAC a une excellente fiabilité test-retest.

Intra-juge :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité intra-juge de la FAC auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Inter-juges :
Collen, Wade et Bradshaw (1990) ont examiné la fidélité inter-juges de la FAC auprès de 25 patients en phase chronique de récupération d’un AVC (2 à 6 ans après l’AVC avec une mobilité résiduelle réduite). La fidélité inter-juges entre les examinateurs, telle que mesurée à l’aide des statistiques kappa, s’est avérée faible (k = 0,36).

Mehrholz et al. (2007) ont examiné la fidélité inter-juges de la FAC auprès de 55 patients en phase subaiguë de récupération d’un AVC et admis dans une unité de réadaptation (2 mois suivant l’AVC). La fidélité inter-juges s’est avérée excellente (k.905). Les chercheurs croient que l’utilisation de questions clés, d’enregistrements vidéo et d’examinateurs expérimentés a amélioré la fidélité inter-juges dans cette étude.

Validité

Contenu :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité de contenu de la FAC auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Critère :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité de critère de la FAC auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Concourante :
Mehrholz et al. (2007) ont examiné la validité concourante de la FAC et de mesures de la marche régulièrement utilisées (le Rivermead Mobility Index –RMI, le 6 Minute Walk Test – 6MWT, la vitesse de marche et la longueur de la foulée) auprès de 55 patients ayant subi un AVC. La validité concourante a été mesurée en utilisant des corrélations de Spearman, au moment de l’admission, à 2 et 4 semaines, et à 6 mois. Les corrélations entre la FAC et le RMI, le 6MWT, la vitesse de marche et la longueur de la foulée du début de l’étude jusqu’à 6 mois se sont avérées excellentes (respectivement, k = 0,841 ; k = 0,795 ; k = 0,767 ; k = 0,805).

Prédictive :
Mehrholz et al. (2007) ont examiné si les scores de la FAC, évalués à la suite d’un programme de réadaptation de 4 semaines, pouvaient prédire l’état du déplacement fonctionnel dans la communauté au moment d’un suivi de 6 mois, auprès de 55 patients en phase subaiguë de récupération d’un AVC. Le déplacement dans la communauté a été défini comme la capacité de marcher plus vite que 73 m/min, plus loin que 332 m, de monter des escaliers et des bordures de trottoirs (les patients qui répondaient à ces 3 trois critères étaient considérés comme des marcheurs dans la communauté). La validité prédictive, telle que calculée en utilisant l’aire sous la courbe ROC (Receiver Operation Chacteristic), s’est avérée plus élevée pour les scores seuil de la FAC ≥ 4 (aire = 0,89). Ainsi, un score ≥ 4 de la FAC à la suite d’un programme de réadaptation de 4 semaines est prédictif du déplacement dans la communauté à 6 mois.

Sensibilité/spécificité :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la sensibilité ou le spécificité de la FAC auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Construit :
Convergente/Discriminante :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité convergente ou discriminante de la FAC auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Groupes connus :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité des groupes connus de la FAC auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Sensibilité au changement

Des études antérieures ont suggéré que la FAC manque peut-être de sensibilité au changement, en particulier si on l’utilise pour faire la distinction entre des groupes à des niveaux inférieurs de fonctionnement (Teasdall et al., 2011). Toutefois, une récente étude a relevé des ampleurs de l’effet modérées à grandes lorsque la FAC était utilisée pour évaluer le changement au niveau du déplacement sur une période de 6 mois (Mehrholz et al., 2007). De futures recherches sont nécessaires pour déterminer la sensibilité au changement de la FAC en évaluant des patients de divers niveaux de fonctionnement.

Mehrholz et al. (2007) ont évalué la sensibilité au changement de la FAC lors de l’évaluation du rétablissement de la capacité de marche auprès de 55 patients ayant subi un AVC qui ne pouvaient pas marcher sans aide avant d’entreprendre un programme de réadaptation. Le score moyen au départ de l’étude était de 0,44 +/- 0,69, et le score moyen au moment du congé était de 2,79 +/- 2,12. La sensibilité au changement, mesurée par la Réponse moyenne standardisée (RMS), s’est avérée allant de modérée à grande : les scores de la FAC ont changé de façon significative au cours des deux premières semaines de l’étude (RMS=1,016), entre la semaine 4 et la fin de l’étude à 6 mois (MRS=0,699) ; et de façon adéquate entre les semaines 2 et 4 (RMS=0,842). Les résultats de cette étude suggèrent que la FAC peut être utilisé pour mesurer le changement et les résultats du rendement de la marche chez les patients ayant subi un AVC.

Références

  • Brock, J.A., Goldie, P.A. & Greenwood, K.M. (2002). Evaluating the effectiveness of stroke rehabilitation: Choosing a discriminative measure. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 83, 92-99.
  • Collen, F.M., Wade, D.T. & Bradshaw, C.M. (1990). Mobility after stroke: Reliability of measures of impairment and disability. International Disability Studies, 12, 6-9.
  • Cunha, I.T., Lim, P.A., Henson, H., Monga, T., Qureshy, H. & Protas, E.J. (2002). Performance-based gait tests for acute stroke patients. American Journal of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 81, 848-856.
  • Hesse, S., Bertelt, C., Schaffrin, A., Malezic, M. & Mauritz, K.H. (1994). Restoration of gait in nonambulatory hemiparetic patients by treadmill training with partial body-weight support. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 75, 1087-1093.
  • Holden, M.K., Gill, K.M., Magliozzi, M.R., Nathan, J. & Piehl-Baker, L. (1984). Clinical gait assessment in the neurologically impaired. Reliability and meaningfulness. Physical Therapy, 64, 35-40.
  • Holden, M.K., Gill, M.K. & Magliozzi, M.R. (1986). Gait and assessment for neurologically impaired patients. Standards for outcome assessment. Physical Therapy, 66, 1530-1539.
  • Lord, S.E., McPherson, K., McNaughton, H.K., Rochester, L., Weatherall, M. (2004). Community ambulation after stroke: How important and obtainable is it and what measures appear predictive? Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 85, 234-239.
  • Mehrholz, J., Wagner, K., Rutte, K., Meiner, D. and Pohl, M. (2007). Predictive validity and responsiveness of the Functional Ambulation Category in hemiparetic patients after stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 88, 1314-1319.
  • Schindl, M.R., Forstner, C., Kern, H. & Hesse, S. (2000). Treadmill training with partial body weight support in nonambulatory patients with cerebral palsy. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 81, 301-306.
  • Simondson, J.A., Goldie, P., Greenwood, K.M. (2003). The Mobility Scale for Acute Stroke Patients: Concurrent validity. Clinical Rehabilitation, 17, 558-564.
  • Stevenson, T.J. (1999). Using impairment inventory scores to determine ambulation status in individuals with stroke. Physiotherapy Canada, 51, 168-174.
  • Teasell, R., Foley, N. C., & Salter K. (2011). EBRSR: Evidence-Based Review of Stroke Rehabilitation. 13th ed. London (ON): EBRSR.

Voir la mesure

Comment obtenir la Functional Ambulation Categories ?

Veuillez consulter le : http://www.rehabmeasures.org et chercher « Functional Ambulation Classification » ou « Functional Ambulation Categories ».

Table des matières
Qu’en pensez-vous ?