Aphasic Depression Rating Scale (ADRS)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 01-03-2011
Author(s): Lisa Zeltzer, MSc OT; Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT; Elissa Sitcoff, BA BSc; Katie Marvin, MSc, PT Candidate

Purpose

The Aphasic Depression Rating Scale (ADRS) was developed to detect and measure depression in patients with aphasia during the subacute stage of stroke.

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The Aphasic Depression Rating Scale (ADRS) was developed to detect and measure depression in patients with aphasia during the subacute stage of stroke.

Available versions

The ADRS was developed by Benaim, Cailly, Perennou, and Pelissier in 2004.

Features of the measure

Items:
The ADRS contains 9 items selected from the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS) (Hamilton, 1967), the Montgomery and Asperg Depression Rating Scale (MADRS) (Montgomery & Asberg, 1979), and the Salpetriere Retardation Rating Scale (SRRS) (Dantchev & Widlocher, 1998).

The items measure insomnia, anxiety (both psychic and somatic), somatic symptoms (gastrointestinal), hypochondriasis, loss of weight, apparent sadness, mimic (slowness of facial mobility), and fatigability.

Scoring:
The ADRS is scored by adding the score of each individual item for a total possible score of 32. Each item is scored differently (see detailed scoring table below).

Item Score
1. Insomnia-Middle 0 = No difficulty

1 = Patient indicates being restless and disturbed during night/observed sleep disturbance

2 = waking during the night; any getting out of bed (except to go to bathroom)

2. Anxiety-Psychic 0 = no difficulty

1 = some tension and irritability

2 = worrying about minor matters

3 = apprehensive attitude apparent in patient’s face or speech

4 = fears indicated (verbal/non verbal expression) without questioning

3. Anxiety-Somatic 0 = absent; 1 = mild; 2 = moderate; 3 = severe; 4 = incapacitating
4. Somatic symptoms-Gastrointestinal 0 = none

1 = loss of appetite but continues to eat; heavy feelings in abdomen

2 = difficulty eating (not due to arm paresis); requests/requires laxatives or medication for bowels or for gastrointestinal symptoms

5. Hypochondriasis 0 = not present

1 = self-absorption (bodily)

2 = preoccupation with health

3 = frequent complaints, requests for help, etc

4 = hypochondriacal delusions

6. Loss of weight 0 = <0.5 kg weight loss/week

1 = 0.5 kg to 1 kg weight loss per week

2 = >1 kg weight loss per week

7. Apparent sadness 0 = no sadness

1 = between 0 and 2

2 = looks dispirited but brightens without difficulty

3 = between 2 and 4

4 = appears sad and unhappy most of the time

5 = between 4 and 6

6 = looks miserable all the time; extremely despondent

8. Mimic-Slowness of Facial Mobility 0 = the head moves freely, resting flexibility on the body with the gaze either exploring the room or fixed on the examiner or on other objects of interest in an appropriate manner

1 = there may be some reduction of mobility, not easily confirmed.

2 = reduced mobility is definite but mild; gaze, often fixed, but is still capable of shifting; mimic, although monotonous, is still expressive

3 = does not move head/explore room, usually stares at floor, seldom looking at examiner; patient is slow to smile; expression is unchanging

4 = face is completely immobile and painfully inexpressive

9. Fatigability 0 = fatigability is not indicated spontaneously/after direct questioning

1 = fatigability is not indicated spontaneously, but evidence of it emerges in the course of the interview

2 = patient is distressed by fatigability in his/her everyday life (eating, washing, dressing, climbing stairs, or any physical activity the patient is usually able to do despite motor deficiency).

3 = fatigability is such that the patient must curb some activities

4 = near-total reduction of activities due to overwhelming fatigue

A cutoff score of 9/32 of the ADRS is used to determine the presence of depression in patients with aphasia, with higher scores indicating more depressive symptoms.

Time:
The amount of time it takes to administer the ADRS has not been reported.

Subscales: None.

Equipment:
Only the test copy and a pencil are required to complete the ADRS.

Training:
It is unclear whether training is required to administer the ADRS. However, health professionals working on a neurorehabilitation unit typically administer the ADRS.

Alternative forms of the ADRS

None published.

Client suitability

Can be used with: patients with aphasia due to stroke.

Should not be used with:

  • Individuals who may be depressed but who have not had a stroke, or patients who do not have aphasia. For these patients, other depression measures exist that have more evidence to support their psychometric properties (e.g. Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS), Beck Depression Inventory (BDI), Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS), etc.).

In what languages is the measure available?

The ADRS is published in English only.

Summary

What does the tool measure? Depression.
What types of clients can the tool be used for? Patients with aphasia during the subacute stage of stroke.
Is this a screening or assessment tool? Assessment
Time to administer The amount of time it takes to administer the ADRS has not been reported.
Versions There are no alternative versions.
Other Languages None.
Measurement Properties
Reliability
  • No studies have examined the internal consistency of the ADRS.
  • One study has examined the test-retest reliability of the ADRS and reported adequate test-retest agreement between items using kappa statistics, and excellent test-retest on the global score using correlation coefficients.
  • One study has examined the test-retest reliability of the ADRS and reported adequate test-retest agreement between items using kappa statistics, and excellent test-retest on the global score using correlation coefficients.
  • No studies have examined the intra-rater reliability of the ADRS.
Validity

Construct:
Convergent/Discriminant validity: 
Excellent correlations between the ADRS and the psychiatric rating of depression, ratings made by members of the rehabilitation team and the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale. Adequate to Excellent correlations in patients with right hemisphere stroke only and in patients with left hemisphere stroke only.

Floor/Ceiling Effects No studies have examined the floor or ceiling effects of the ADRS.
Sensitivity/Specificity One study compared the ADRS with the diagnosis made by a psychiatrist. With a score of less than or equal to 9/32 as a threshold, compared with the diagnosis made by the psychiatrist, an overall sensitivity of 0.83 and a specificity of 0.71 was reported.
Does the tool detect change in patients? Not yet examined.
Acceptability The ADRS should not be used with individuals who may be depressed but who have not had a stroke, or patients who do not have aphasia.
Feasibility The administration of the ADRS is quick and simple. It is unclear whether training is required to administer the ADRS. The ADRS contains 9 items (insomnia, anxiety-psychic, anxiety – somatic, somatic symptoms, hypchondriasis, loss of weight, apparent sadness, mimic and fatigability) and is scored by adding the score of each individual item.
How to obtain the tool?

The ADRS is available in the study by Benaim et al. (2004) or by clicking here.

Psychometric Properties

Overview

We conducted a literature search to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the Aphasic Depression Rating Scale (ADRS). We identified five studies. More studies are required before definitive conclusions can be drawn regarding the reliability and validity of the ADRS.

Reliability

Test-retest:
Benaim et al. (2004) examined the test-retest reliability of the ADRS in 15 subacute patients with aphasia due to stroke admitted to a neurorehabilitation unit. Patients were assessed twice at a 2-week interval by the same rehabilitation team. Agreement between items were assessed with kappa coefficients, and agreement for global scores was assessed with correlation coefficients. Kappa coefficients over the 9 items was adequate (kappa =0.58) (ranging from kappa = 0.33 to 1.00). For the global ADRS score, the correlation was excellent (r = 0.89).

Inter-rater:
Benaim et al. (2004) examined the inter-rater reliability of the ADRS in 15 subacute patients with aphasia due to stroke admitted to rehabilitation unit. Patients were assessed twice within 24 hours by 2 different rehabilitation teams. Kappa coefficients over the 9 items was excellent (kappa = 0.69) (ranging from 0.37 to 1.00). For the global ADRS score, the correlation was excellent (r = 0.89).

Validity

Content
A team of 18 neurorehabilitation clinicians were interviewed regarding the most frequently reported depressive behaviours observed in patients with aphasia. Six experts then analyzed 3 existing depression scales that contained items on observable behaivour: the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS); the Montgomery and Asberg Depression Rating Scale; and the Salpetriere Retardation Rating Scale (SRRS). Only items that could be completed without interviewing, that described depressive behaviours reported by the team, and that were selected by at least 4 experts were retained. A total of 15 items were selected by the experts (Benaim et al., 2004).

Criterion
Concurrent: 
Benaim et al. (2004) examined the concurrent validity of the ADRS. Both dep-psy (psychiatrist rating of depression) and dep-rehab (ratings made by members of the rehabilitation team) were used as the ‘gold standard‘. Wilcoxon test was calculated to find the best model. The Wilcoxon test value was 0.121 for the 7-item model and 0.116 for the 8-item model which was a minor increase so the 7-item model was selected: Apparent Sadness; Insomnia-Middle; Anxiety-Psychological; Somatic Symptoms-Gastrointestinal; Mimic-Slowness of Facial Mobility; Loss of Weight; and Anxiety-Somatic.

Predictive:
Not yet examined.

Construct
Convergent: 
Benaim et al. (2004) examined the construct validity of the ADRS by comparing it to the dep-psy (psychiatrist rating of depression – 50 patients), dep-rehab (ratings made by members of the rehabilitation team – 50 patients), and the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS – 25 patients). The correlations between ADRS and dep-psy, dep-rehab, and HRDS were excellent (r = 0.60; r = 0.78; r = 0.77, respectively). Correlation coefficients in right hemisphere stroke (RHS) patients only and in left hemisphere stroke (LHS) patients only ranged from adequate to excellent (r = 0.58; r = 0.70; r = 0.84, for RHS; r = 0.60; r = 0.86; r = 0.64, for LHS). The ADRS correlated better with dep-psy and dep-rehab (r = 0.59; r = 0.85, respectively) than did HDRS (r = 0.40; r = 0.59, respectively).

Factorial validity.
A principal component analysis was conducted to analyze the structure of the original 15 items selected during content validity. Six items were eliminated to avoid redundancies and the remaining 9 items were selected to make up the final ADRS (Benaim et al., 2004).

Responsiveness

Benaim et al. (2010) examined the responsiveness of the ADRS and the Visual Analog Mood Scale (VAMS) in 49 patients with aphasia due to stroke admitted to rehabilitation units. A trained psychologist evaluated the patients at baseline, rating the severity of their depression on a scale from 0 (no symptoms of depression) to 10 (extremely severe depression); and at the 30 day follow-up, classifying their status as ‘deteriorated’, ‘stable’ or ‘improved’ where changes greater than 1-point/10 were considered to be the minimal clinically important difference. The ADRS and VAMS were also administered at baseline and at the 30-day follow-up; and ADRS scores were converted to a 10-point scale for comparison. The ADRS was found to be more sensitive than the VAMS for detecting change in patients, demonstrating a large effect size for detecting deterioration and improvement (1.18 and -0.89 respectively) compared to the moderate and small effect size demonstrated by the VAMS (0.42 and -0.50 respectively). Changes in ADRS scores also showed excellent correlation (r=0.72) with severity of depression as rated by the trained psychologist on a scale from 0 to 10.

Sensitivity/specificity:
Benaim et al. (2004) examined the sensitivity and specificity of the ADRS in patients with stroke. The threshold for the diagnosis of depression was calculated by comparing ADRS scores with the diagnosis made by the psychiatrist (depression vs. no depression). With a score of less than or equal to 9/32 as a threshold, compared with the diagnosis made by the psychiatrist, sensitivity of the ADRS was 0.83 and specificity was 0.71.

References

  • Benaim, C., Cailly, B., Perennou, D., Pelissier, J. (2004). Validation of the aphasic depression rating scale. Stroke, 35, 1696.
  • Benaim, C., Decavel, P., Bentabet, M., Froger, J., Pelissier, J. & Perennou, D. (2010). Sensitivity to change of two depression rating scales for stroke patients. Clinical Rehabilitation, 24, 251-257.
  • Dantchev, N., Widlocher, D. (1998). The measurement of retardation in depression. J Clin Psychiatry, 59, 19-25.
  • Hamilton, M. (1967). Development of a rating scale for primary depressive illness. Br J Soc Clin Psychol, 6, 278-296.
  • Montgomery, S. A., Asberg, M. (1979). A new depression scale designed to be sensitive to change. Br J Psychiatry, 134, 382-389.

See The Measure

How to obtain the ADRS

The ADRS is available in the study by Benaim et al. (2004) or by clicking here: ADRS.

Table of contents
Help us to improve

Aphasic Depression Rating Scale (ADRS)

Évidence révisées en date du 01-03-2011
Auteur(s)* : Lisa Zeltzer, MSc OT ; Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT ; Elissa Sitcoff, BA BSc ; Katie Marvin, MSc, PT Candidate
Version française en traduction libre : Andréanne Labranche

But

L’Aphasic Depression Rating Scale (ADRS) a été développée pour détecter et mesurer la dépression chez les patients atteint d’aphasie durant la phase subaiguë de récupération d’un AVC.

Note : Le nom des instruments de mesure qui, en anglais, sont identifiés et nommés par des noms de genre féminin en français – ex. « Batterie » (Battery), « Catégorie » (Category), « Échelle » (Scale, Ladder), « Évaluation » (Assessment) ou « Mesure » (Measure) – sont traduits en français par le genre féminin.

Revue détaillée

But de l’outil de mesure

L’Aphasic Depression Rating Scale (ADRS) a été développée pour détecter et mesurer la dépression chez les patients atteint d’aphasie durant la phase subaiguë de récupération d’un AVC.

Versions disponibles

L’ADRS a été développée par Benaim, Cailly, Perennou et Pelissier en 2004.

Caractéristiques de l’outil

Items :

L’ADRS contient neuf items sélectionnés à partir de la Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS – Hamilton, 1967), de la Montgomery and Asperg Depression Rating Scale (MADRS – Montgomery & Asberg, 1979) et de la Salpetriere Retardation Rating Scale (SRRS – Dantchev & Widlocher, 1998).

Les items mesurent l’insomnie, l’anxiété (psychique et somatique), les symptômes somatiques (gastrointestinal), l’hypocondrie, la perte de poids, la tristesse apparente, l’expression du visage (lenteur de la mobilité faciale) et la fatigabilité.

Cotation :

L’ADRS est cotée en additionnant les scores individuels de chaque item pour un score total sur 32. Chaque item est coté différemment (Voir le tableau des cotations détaillées ci-dessous):

Item Score
1. Insomnie-Moyenne 0 = Aucune difficulté.
1 = Le patient indique qu’il est agité et perturbé durant la nuit/ un sommeil perturbé est observé.
2 = Le patient se réveille durant la nuit; le patient sort de son lit pour une quelconque raison (sauf pour aller à la salle de bain).
2. Anxiété – Psychique 0 = Aucune difficulté.
1 = Présence de tension et d’irritabilité.
2 = S’inquiète à propos de détails mineurs.
3 = Attitude appréhensive apparente dans l’expression faciale du patient ou dans son discours.
4 = La peur est identifiée (expression verbale/ non verbale) sans questionnement possible.
3. Anxiété-Somatique 0 = Absente.
1 = Faible.
2 = Modérée.
3 = Sévère.
4 = Incapacitante.
4. Symptômes somatiques-
Gastro-intestinal
0 = Aucun.
1 = Perte d’appétit mais continue à manger; sensations de lourdeur dans l’abdomen.
2 = Difficulté à manger (qui n’est pas due à une parésie du bras); demande/a besoin de laxatifs ou de médicaments pour l’intestin ou pour les symptômes gastro-intestinaux.
5. Hypochondrie 0 = Absente.
1 = Repli sur soi (physique).
2 = Préoccupations à propos de sa santé.
3 = Plaintes fréquentes, demandes d’aide, etc.
4 = Délires hypocondriaques.
6. Perte de poids 0 = <0,5 kg de perte de poids par semaine.
1 = 0,5 kg à 1 kg de perte de poids par semaine.
2 = >1 kg de perte de poids par semaine.
7. Tristesse apparente 0 = Aucune tristesse.
1 = Entre 0 et 2.
2 = A l’air découragé mais retrouve sa bonne humeur sans difficulté.
3 = Entre 2 et 4.
4 = A l’air triste et malheureux la plupart du temps.
5 = Entre 4 et 6.
6 = A l’air misérable tout le temps; extrêmement déprimé.
8. Expression-lenteur de la mobilité faciale 0 = La tête bouge librement, elle repose de manière flexible sur le corps et le regard explore la pièce, est fixé sur l’évaluateur ou encore sur d’autres objets d’une manière appropriée.
1 = Il peut y avoir une réduction de la mobilité mais il n’est pas facile de le confirmer avec certitude.
2 = La mobilité est réduite mais ne l’est que faiblement; le regard est souvent fixe mais est capable bouger; le visage, même s’il est monotone, est encore expressif.
3 = Ne bouge pas la tête/n’explore pas la pièce, regarde généralement le plancher, regarde rarement l’évaluateur; le patient est lent à sourire; l’expression du visage ne change pas.
4 = Le visage est complètement immobile et inexpressif
9. Fatigabilité 0 = La fatigabilité n’est pas indiquée de manière spontanée durant ou après un questionnement direct.
1 = La fatigabilité n’est pas indiquée spontanément, mais des évidences de sa présence apparaissent progressivement durant l’entrevue.
2 = Le patient est affligé par de la fatigabilité dans sa vie quotidienne (manger, se laver, s’habiller, monter des escaliers, ou autres activités physique que le patient est normalement capable de faire malgré ses déficits moteurs).
3 = La fatigabilité est telle que le patient doit cesser quelques activités.
4 = Arrêt presque total des activités car la fatigue est accablante.

Un score de seuil limite de 9/32 à l’ADRS est utilisé pour déterminer la présence de dépression chez les patients avec de l’aphasie. Les scores hauts indiquent des symptômes plus dépressifs.

Temps d’administration requis :

La quantité de temps nécessaire pour administrer l’ADRS n’a pas été documentée.

Sous-échelles :

Aucune.

Équipement :

Seuls une copie du test et un crayon sont nécessaires pour compléter l’ADRS.

Formation :

Il n’est pas indiqué clairement qu’une formation est requise pour administrer l’ADRS. Cependant, ce sont typiquement les professionnels de la santé travaillant sur l’unité de neuro-réadaptation qui administrent l’ADRS.

Versions alternatives de l’ADRS

Aucune publiée.

Clientèle cible

Peut être utilisé avec :

  • Les patients avec de l’aphasie causée par un AVC.

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec :

  • Les individus qui sont peut-être dépressifs mais qui n’ont pas subi d’AVC ou qui n’ont pas d’aphasie. Pour ces patients, il existent d’autres outils qui mesurent la dépression et leurs propriétés psychométriques sont mieux vérifiées (ex. la Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS), l’Inventaire de Dépression de Beck (IDB), la Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS), etc.)

Dans quelles langues l’outil est-il disponible ?

L’ADRS est publiée en anglais seulement.

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? La dépression
Pour quelles clientèles cet outil peut-il être utilisé ? Les patients avec de l’aphasie et qui sont en phase subaiguë de récupération d’un AVC.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Évaluation
Temps d’administration requis Le temps nécessaire pour administrer l’ADRS n’a pas été documenté.
Versions Il n’y a pas de version alternative.
Other Languages Aucune autre que l’anglais.
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité Cohérence interne :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la cohérence interne de l’ADRS.

Test-retest :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité test-retest de l’ADRS et relevé un accord test-retest adéquat entre les items de l’ADRS en utilisant les statistiques kappa, et un excellent accord test-retest sur le score global de l’ADRS en utilisant des coefficients de corrélation.

Intra-juge :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité intra-juge de l’ADRS.

Inter-juges :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité inter-juges de l’ADRS et a relevé une excellente fidélité inter-juges sur les items de l’ADRS en utilisant les statistiques kappa, et une excellente fidélité inter-juges sur le score global de l’ADRS en utilisant des coefficients de corrélation.

Validité Construit :
Convergente/discriminante :
D’excellentes corrélations ont été relevées entre l’ADRS et l’évaluation psychiatrique de la dépression faite par les membres de l’équipe de réadaptation et la Hamilton Depression Rating Scale. Des corrélations allant d’adéquates à excellentes ont été relevées sur les scores de l’ADRS entre les résultats obtenus par des patients ayant subi un AVC à l’hémisphère droit et des patients ayant subi un AVC à l’hémisphère gauche.
Effets plancher/plafond Aucune étude n’a évalué les effets de plancher ou de plafond de l’ADRS.
Sensibilité/spécificité Une étude a comparé l’ADRS avec le diagnostic posé par un psychiatre. Avec un score inférieur ou égal à 9/32 comme seuil limite, comparé au diagnostic réalisé par le psychiatre, une sensibilité globale de 0,83 et une spécificité de 0,71 ont été relevées.
Est-ce que l’outil est sensible au changement ? N’a pas encore été évalué.
Acceptabilité L’ADRS ne devrait pas être utilisé avec les individus qui sont peut-être dépressifs mais qui n’ont pas subi d’AVC ou qui n’ont pas d’aphasie.
Faisabilité L’administration de l’ADRS est simple et rapide. Il n’est pas clairement indiqué qu’une formation est requise pour administrer l’ADRS. L’ADRS contient 9 items (insomnie, anxiété – psychique, anxiété – somatique, symptômes somatiques, hypocondrie, perte de poids, tristesse apparente, expression du visage et fatigabilité) et est cotée en additionnant les scores individuels de chacun d’entre eux.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? L’ADRS est disponible dans l’étude de Benaim et al. (2004) ou en cliquant ici.

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Une recherche dans la littérature a été menée pour identifier toutes les publications pertinentes concernant les propriétés psychométriques de l’Aphasic Depression Rating Scale (ADRS). Cinq études ont été identifiées. Davantage d’études seront nécessaires avant d’en arriver à des conclusions définitives concernant la fidélité et la validité de cet outil.

Fidélité

Test-retest :
Benaim et al. (2004) ont examiné la fidélité test-retest de l’ADRS auprès de 15 patients en phase subaiguë de récupération d’un AVC et présentant de l’aphasie causée par cet AVC et admis sur l’unité de neuro-réadaptation. Les patients ont été évalués à deux reprises à un intervalle de deux semaines par la même équipe de réadaptation. Le niveau d’accord entre les items a été évalué avec des coefficients kappa et le niveau d’accord pour les scores globaux a été évalué avec des coefficients de corrélation. Les coefficients Kappa pour les 9 items étaient adéquats (kappa = 0,58 – allant de 0,33 à 1,00). Pour les scores globaux de l’ADRS, la corrélation était excellente (r = 0,89).

Inter-juges :
Benaim et al. (2004) ont examiné la fidélité inter-juges de l’ADRS auprès de 15 patients en phase subaiguë de récupération d’un AVC et présentant de l’aphasie causée par cet AVC et admis sur l’unité de neuro-réadaptation. Les patients ont été évalués à deux reprises à un intervalle de 24 heures par deux différentes équipes de réadaptation. Les coefficients kappa pour les 9 items étaient excellents (kappa = 0,69 – allant de 0,37 à 1,00). Pour les scores globaux de l’ADRS, la corrélation était excellente (r = 0,89).

Validité

Contenu :

Une équipe de 18 cliniciens en réadaptation a été interrogée concernant les comportements dépressifs les plus fréquemment observés chez les patients avec de l’aphasie. Six experts ont ensuite analysé trois échelles de mesure de la dépression déjà existantes et qui contenaient des items de comportements observables : la Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS) ; la Montgomery and Asberg Depression Rating Scale et la Salpetriere Retardation Rating Scale (SRRS). Seuls les items qui pouvaient être complétés sans entrevue, qui décrivaient les comportements dépressifs relevés par l’équipe et qui avaient été sélectionnés par au moins quatre experts, ont été retenus. Un total de 15 items a été sélectionné par les experts (Benaim et al., 2004).

Critère :

Concourante :
Benaim et al. (2004) ont examiné la validité concourante de l’ADRS. Les évaluations de la dépression par un psychiatre et les évaluations par les membres de l’équipe de réadaptation ont été utilisées comme références. Le test de Wilcoxon a été calculé pour trouver le meilleur modèle. La valeur du test de Wilcoxon était de 0,121 pour le modèle à 7 items, ce qui était une faible augmentation par rapport à 0,116 pour le modèle à 8 items. Le modèle a 7 items a donc été sélectionné : Tristesse apparente ; Insomnie-moyenne ; Anxiété-psychologique ; symptômes somatiques (gastro-intestinaux) ; Expression-lenteur dans la mobilité faciale ; Perte de poids et anxiété-somatique.

Prédictive :
N’a pas encore été examinée.

Construit :

Convergente :
Benaim et al. (2004) ont examiné la validité de construit de l’ADRS en la comparant à celle du dep-psy (score psychiatre de la dépression – 50 patients), et à celle du dep-rehab (scores des membres de l’équipe de réadaptation – 50 patients) et à celle de la Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS – 25 patients). Les corrélations entre l’ADRS et le dep-psy, le dep-rehab et la HRDS étaient excellentes (respectivement, r = 0,60, r = 0,78 et r = 0,77). Les coefficients de corrélation chez les patients avec un AVC de l’hémisphère droit seulement et ceux avec un AVC de l’hémisphère gauche seulement allaient d’adéquats à excellents (r = 0,58, r = 0,70 et r = 0,84 pour l’hémisphère droit ; r = 0,60, r = 0,86 et r = 0,64 pour l’hémisphère gauche). Les scores de l’ADRS sont mieux corrélés avec ceux du dep-psy et du dep-rehab (respectivement, r = 0,59 et r = 0,85) qu’avec ceux de la HDRS (respectivement, r = 0,40 et r = 0,59).

Factorielle :
Une analyse des composantes principales a été menée pour analyser la structure des 15 items sélectionnés lors de la validité de contenu. Six items ont été éliminés pour éviter les redondances et les 9 items restants ont été sélectionnés pour former la version finale de l’ADRS (Benaim et al., 2004).

Sensibilité au changement

Benaim et al. (2010) ont examiné la sensibilité au changement de l’ADRS et de la Visual Analog Mood Scale (VAMS) auprès de 49 patients présentant de l’aphasie causée par un AVC et admis dans des unités de réadaptation. Un psychologue formé a évalué les patients au départ de l’étude, en évaluant leur niveau de dépression sur une échelle de 0 (aucun symptôme de dépression) à 10 (symptômes de dépression très sévères). Il a de plus évalué les patients lors d’un suivi après 30 jours et a classifié leur statut comme «détérioré», «stable» ou «amélioré» ; les changements devaient être d’au moins un point sur 10 pour que le nouveau score soit considéré comme cliniquement différent. L’ADRS et la VAMS ont également été administrés au départ de l’étude et lors du suivi de 30 jours ; les scores de l’ADRS ont été convertis en une échelle de 10 points pour effectuer la comparaison. L’ADRS s’est avérée plus sensible que la VAMS pour détecter le changement chez les patients, démontrant une large ampleur de l’effet pour détecter la détérioration et l’amélioration (respectivement, 1,18 et -0,89) comparativement à une ampleur de l’effet petite et modérée pour la VAMS (respectivement, 0,42 et – 0,50). Les changements dans les scores de l’ADRS ont également démontré une excellente corrélation (r = 0,72) avec la sévérité de la dépression telle que notée par le psychologue qualifié sur une échelle de 0 à 10.

Sensibilité/Spécificité :
Benaim et al. (2004) ont examiné la sensibilité et la spécificité de l’ADRS auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC. Le seuil limite pour le diagnostic de la dépression a été calculé en comparant les scores de l’ADRS avec le diagnostic posé par un psychiatre (dépression vs absence de dépression). Avec un score inférieur ou égal à 9/32 comme seuil limite, comparé au diagnostic réalisé par le psychiatre, la sensibilité de l’ADRS était de 0,83 et la spécificité de 0,71.

Références

  • Benaim, C., Cailly, B., Perennou, D., Pelissier, J. (2004). Validation of the aphasic depression rating scale. Stroke, 35, 1696.
  • Benaim, C., Decavel, P., Bentabet, M., Froger, J., Pelissier, J. & Perennou, D. (2010). Sensitivity to change of two depression rating scales for stroke patients. Clinical Rehabilitation, 24, 251-257.
  • Dantchev, N., Widlocher, D. (1998). The measurement of retardation in depression. J Clin Psychiatry, 59, 19-25.
  • Hamilton, M. (1967). Development of a rating scale for primary depressive illness. Br J Soc Clin Psychol, 6, 278-296.
  • Montgomery, S. A., Asberg, M. (1979). A new depression scale designed to be sensitive to change. Br J Psychiatry, 134, 382-389.

Voir la mesure

Comment obtenir l’ADRS

L’ADRS est disponible dans l’étude de Benaim et al. (2004) ou en cliquant ici

Table des matières
Sondage