Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ-9)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 11-01-2011
Author(s): Katie Marvin, MSc PT (Candidate)
Editor(s): Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT

Purpose

The Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ-9) is a brief tool used to diagnose and measure severity of depression. The PHQ-9 is shorter than many of the other depression screening instruments and can be self-administered. Adapted from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th edition (DSM-IV), the PHQ-9 is comprised of the same diagnostic symptom criteria used in the DSM-IV:

  • Two cardinal signs of depression (anhedonia and depressed mood);
  • Cognitions (e.g. guilt/worthlessness and suicidality/thoughts of death); and
  • Physical symptoms (e.g. change in appetite, difficulty sleeping and concentrating, feeling tired/slowed down or restless).

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The PHQ-9 is a brief tool used to diagnose and measure severity of depression. The PHQ-9 is shorter than many of the other depression screening instruments and can be self-administered. Adapted from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th edition (DSM-IV), the PHQ-9 includes all 9 diagnostic symptom criteria used in the DSM-IV, including the two cardinal signs of depression: anhedonia and depressed mood. The PHQ-9 is widely used by clinicians and can be used with patients with stroke.

Available versions

The PHQ-9 was developed by Drs. Robert L. Spitzer, Janet W.B. Williams and Kurt Kroenke in 1999.

Features of the measure

Items:

PHQ-9 : Contains the 9 items from the DSM-IV used in the diagnosis of depression. The respondent must recall how often they have experienced the following symptoms over the last two weeks:

  1. Little interest or pleasure in doing things;
  2. Feeling down, depressed or hopeless;
  3. Trouble falling asleep, staying asleep, or sleeping too much;
  4. Feeling tired or having little energy;
  5. Poor appetite or overeating;
  6. Feeling bad about yourself, or that you’re a failure or have let yourself or your family down;
  7. Trouble concentrating on things, such as reading the newspaper or watching television;
  8. Moving or speaking so slowly that other people could have noticed. Or the opposite – being so fidgety or restless that you have been moving around a lot more than usual;
  9. Thoughts that you would be better off dead or of hurting yourself in some way; and
  10. If you indicated any problems, how difficult have those problems made it for you to do your work, take care of things at home, or get along with other people?
    Not difficult at all
    Somewhat difficult
    Very difficult
    Extremely difficult

What to consider before beginning:

Similar to when using other depression screening tools, prior to administration the clinician must rule out physical causes for depression, typical bereavement processes and a history of manic episodes.

Scoring and Score Interpretation:

Each item is evaluated on a severity scale ranging from 0 to 3 where the respondent is asked to rate how often each symptom occurred over the last 2 weeks (0-not at all; 1-several days; 2-more than half of the days or 3-nearly every day), yielding a total score ranging from 0-27. The respondent is also asked how the identified problems have interfered with work, home and/or social life, however responses to this item are not scored or included in the total score.

Score interpretation:

  • 1-4 minimal depression;
  • 5-9 mild depression;
  • 10-14 moderate depression;
  • 15-19 moderately severe depression; and
  • 20-27 severe depression

Time:

The PHQ-9 takes approximately 2-5 minutes to administer.

Training requirements:

The PHQ-9 can be self-administered or clinician administered. No-formal training is required to use the measure.

Equipment:

Only a pencil and the test are needed if the tool is self-administered.

Alternative forms of the PHQ-9

The PHQ-2 is an abbreviated version of the PHQ-9, comprised of the first two questions of the PHQ-9 in which the respondent is asked to rate how often they experience the two cardinal symptoms of depression: anhedonia and depressed mood. PHQ-2 scores range from 0-6. Results from a study by Arroll et al. (2010) suggested that the complete PHQ-9 be administered to respondents scoring ≥ 2 on the PHQ-2; and Williams et al. (2010) suggested the complete PHQ-9 be administered to patients with stroke scoring ≥ 3.

Client suitability

Can be used with:

  • Patients with stroke.
  • The PHQ-9 has also been validated for use with geriatric patients; patients with TBI; in primary care and obstetrics-gynecology settings; and in the general population.

Should not be used with:

  • If self-administered, completion of the PHQ-9 requires that the client have adequate reading comprehension and visual ability. However, in the case of illiteracy or poor vision, the items and possible responses may be read to the respondent.

In what languages is the measure available?

Languages of the measure

The PHQ-9 has been translated into Afrikaans, Arabic, Assamese, Bangla, Bengali, Cantonese, Creole, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Italian, Korean, Malayalam, Malaysian Mandarin, Mandarin, Norwegian, Oriya, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Swedish, Telugu, Tingrinian, Turkish, Urdu and Vietnamese.

These translations can be found at the following website: http://www.phqscreeners.com/

Summary

What does the tool measure? The PHQ-9 measures the severity of depression.
What types of clients can the tool be used for? Can be used with but is not limited to patients with stroke.
Is this a screening or assessment tool? The PHQ-9 has been referred to as both a screening tool and an assessment tool.
Time to administer Approximately 2-5 minutes
Versions The PHQ-9 was developed by Drs. Robert L. Spitzer, Janet W.B. Williams and Kurt Kroenke in 1999. It is intended to be self-administered but can be administered by interview in person or over the telephone.
Other Languages The PHQ-9 has been translated but not necessarily validated in over 35 languages (see PHQ-9 module for complete list).
Measurement Properties
Reliability
  • Two studies examined the internal consistency of the PHQ-9 and reported excellent levels of internal consistency.
  • One study examined the test-retest reliability of the PHQ-9 and reported excellent test-retest.
  • No studies have examined the intra-rater reliability of the PHQ-9.
  • No studies have examined the inter-rater reliability of PHQ-9.
Validity

Construct:

Convergent:

One study reported that the PHQ-9 as excellent correlation with the Beck Depression Inventory (BDI) and General Health Questionnaire (GHQ-12) adequate correlation with the European Quality of Life Questionnaire (EuroQOL); and adequate to excellent correlation with subscales of the Medical Outcomes Study Short Form Health Survey (SF-36).

Floor/Ceiling Effects No studies have examined the floor or ceiling effects of the PHQ-9.
Does the tool detect change in patients? No studies have examined the responsiveness of the PHQ-9 in patients with stroke.
Acceptability PHQ-9 is typically self-administered, however it can be interview-administered in person or by telephone for clients who are unable to self-administer the measure.
Feasibility The measure is brief, simple to score and only the PHQ-9 test sheet and a pencil are required to complete the measure.
How to obtain the tool?

The PHQ-9 can be obtained from:
http://www.phqscreeners.com/

Psychometric Properties

Overview

There is an abundance of research on the psychometric properties of the nine-item Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ-9). However, little research has been conducted specifically in patients with stroke. For the purposes of this review, we conducted a literature search to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the PHQ-9. We then selected the original validation and reliability studies as content to be summarized and presented here.

Reliability

The reliability of the PHQ-9 has not been examined in a stroke population.

Internal Consistency:

Kroenke, Spitzer and Williams (2001) investigated the internal reliability of the PHQ-9 in two large studies involving 6,000 participants from primary care and obstetrics-gynecology clinics. Using Cronbach’s alpha, excellent reliability was found in both studies (0.89 and 0.86 respectively).

Test-retest:

Kroenke, Spitzer and Williams (2001) investigated the test-retest reliability of the PHQ-9 in primary care clinics. Excellent test-retest reliability (0.84) was found when the PHQ-9 was administered in clinic and then over the telephone 48 hours later.

Intra-rater:

Not yet examined in a stroke population.

Inter-rater:

Not yet examined in a stroke population.

Validity

To our knowledge, the study by Williams et al. (2005) is the only study to date that has examined the validity of the PHQ-9 in individuals with stroke.

Criterion:

Concurrent:

Not yet examined in a stroke population.

Predictive:

Not yet examined in a stroke population.

Construct:

Convergent/Discriminant:

Martin, Rief, Klaiberg and Braehler (2005) examined the convergent validity of the Brief Beck Depression Inventory (BDI), General Health Questionnaire (GHQ-12), European Quality of Life (EuroQOL) Questionnaire and Medical Outcomes Study Short Form Health Survey (SF-36) with an alternative language version of the PHQ-9, in 2060 participants from the general population. The relationships between the measures were compared using the Welch test. The BDI had excellent correlation with the PHQ-9 (r=.73) and the GHQ-12 and EuroQOL had adequate correlation (r=.59 and r=.50 respectively). The subscales of the SF-36 had adequate to excellent correlation (ranging from r=-.45 to r=-.71).

Known groups.

Not yet examined in a stroke population.

Sensitivity/ Specificity:

Kroenke, Spitzer and Williams (2001) examined the sensitivity and specificity of the PHQ-9 in participants from primary care settings. Mental health professionals (Clinical Psychologists and Psychiatric Social Workers) conducted telephone interviews using the Structured Clinical Interview for Depression (SCID) and PRIME-MD to confirm diagnosis of depression. A PHQ-9 score of ≥10 had excellent sensitivity and specificity for detecting major depression, 88% and 88% respectively.

Williams et al. (2010) examined the sensitivity and specificity of the PHQ-9 and PHQ-2 in 316 patients with stroke. A diagnosis of depression was confirmed using the Structured Clinical Interview for Depression (SCID). A PHQ-9 score of ≥10 was found to have excellent sensitivity and specificity for detecting any severity of depression (78% and 96% respectively) and major depression (91% and 89% respectively). Based on these results, the PHQ-9 should be used as a brief screening measure for assessing depression in patients with stroke.

Responsiveness

To date, the responsiveness of the PHQ-9 has not been examined in a stroke population but has been examined in a group of patients receiving treatment for depression in primary care settings.

Lowe, Unutzer, Callahan, Perkins and Kroenke (2004) examined the responsiveness of the PHQ-9 and the depression scale from the Hopkins Symptom Checklist (SCL-20) in 434 patients receiving treatment for depression in primary care settings (mean age 70.9 years). Standardized effect size scores for the intervals between baseline and 3-months and baseline and 6-months were calculated. Large effect sizes were found for the PHQ-9 and the SCL-20, however the results of this study indicate that PHQ-9 is more responsive. Standardized effect sizes of -1.3 at the 3-month interval and -1.3 at the 6-month interval were found for the PHQ-9; and -0.9 at the 3-month interval and -1.2 at the 6-month interval for the SCL-20.

References

  • Arroll, B., Goodyear-Smith, F., Crengle, S., Gunn, J., Kerse, N. and Fishman, T. et al. (2010). Validation of PHQ-2 and PHQ-9 to screen for major depression in the primary care setting. Annals of Family Medicine, 8, 348-353.
  • Kroenke, K. Spitzer, R.L. & Williams, J.B.W. (2001). Validity of a brief depression severity measure. Journal of General Internal Medicine, 16, 606-613.
  • Martin, A., Rief, W., Klaiberg, A. & Braehler, E. (2005). Validity of the brief Patient Health Questionnaire Mood Scale (PHQ-9) in the general population. General Hospital Psychiatry, 28, 71-77.
  • Williams, L.S., Brizendine, J., Plue, L., Bakas, T., Tu, W. & Hendrie, H. et al. (2005). Performance of the PHQ-9 as a screening tool for depression after stroke. Journal of the American Heart Association, 36, 635-638.

See The Measure

How to obtain the PHQ-9?

The PHQ-9 is available for free for educational and clinical purposes at:
http://www.phqscreeners.com/

Table of contents
Survey

Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ-9)

Évidence révisées en date du 11-01-2011
Auteur(s)* : Katie Marvin, MSc PT (Candidate)
Éditeur(s) : Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT
Version française en traduction libre : Alexandra Matteau

But

Le Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ-9) est un bref outil utilisé pour diagnostiquer et mesurer la sévérité de la dépression. Le PHQ-9 est plus court que beaucoup d’autres instruments de dépistage de la dépression et il peut être auto-administré. Adapté de la quatrième édition du Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-IV), le PHQ-9 est composé des mêmes critères de symptômes de diagnostic utilisés dans le DSM-IV :

  • Les deux signes cardinaux de la dépression (anhédonie et humeur dépressive) ;
  • Les cognitions (ex. sentiment de culpabilité/d’inutilité et comportement suicidaire/pensées de mort) ; et
  • Les symptômes physiques (ex. changement au niveau de l’appétit, difficulté à dormir ou à se concentrer, sensation de fatigue/d’être ralenti ou d’être agité).

Revue détaillée

But de la mesure

Le Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ-9) est un bref outil utilisé pour diagnostiquer et mesurer la sévérité de la dépression. Le PHQ-9 est plus court que beaucoup d’autres instruments de dépistage de la dépression et il peut être auto-administré. Adapté de la quatrième édition du Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-IV), le PHQ-9 inclut les 9 critères de symptômes de diagnostic utilisés dans le DSM-IV, incluant les deux signes cardinaux de la dépression : l’anhédonie et l’humeur dépressive. Le PHQ-9 est largement utilisé par les cliniciens et il peut être utilisé avec les patients ayant subi un AVC.

Versions disponibles

Le PHQ-9 a été développé par les docteurs Robert L. Spitzer, Janet W.B. Williams et Kurt Kroenke en 1999.

Caractéristiques de la mesure

Items :

PHQ-9 : Composé des 9 items du DSM-IV utilisés dans le diagnostic de la dépression. Le répondant doit se rappeler combien de fois il a vécu les symptômes suivants au cours des deux dernières semaines :

  1. Peu d’intérêt ou de plaisir à faire des choses;
  2. Se sentir triste, déprimé(e) ou désespéré(e);
  3. Difficultés à s’endormir ou à rester endormi(e), ou trop dormir;
  4. Se sentir fatigué(e) ou avoir peu d’énergie;
  5. Peu d’appétit ou trop manger;
  6. Mauvaise perception de vous-même — ou vous pensez que vous êtes un perdant ou que vous n’avez pas satisfait vos propres attentes ou celles de votre famille;
  7. Difficultés à se concentrer sur des choses telles que lire le journal ou regarder la télévision;
  8. Vous bougez ou parlez si lentement que les autres personnes ont pu le remarquer. Ou au contraire — vous êtes si agité(e) que vous bougez beaucoup plus que d’habitude;
  9. Vous avez pensé que vous seriez mieux mort(e) ou pensé à vous blesser d’une façon ou d’une autre; et
  10. Si vous avez coché au moins un des problèmes nommés dans ce questionnaire, dans quelle mesure ce(s) problème(s) a-t-il (ont-ils) rendu difficile(s) votre travail, vos tâches à la maison ou votre capacité à bien vous entendre avec les autres?
  • Pas du tout difficile(s)
  • Plutôt difficile(s)
  • Très difficile(s)
  • Extrêmement difficile(s)

Ce qu’il faut considérer avant de commencer :

Comme lors de l’utilisation d’autres outils de dépistage de la dépression, avant l’administration, le clinicien doit exclure les causes physiques de la dépression, les processus typiques de deuil et les antécédents d’épisodes maniaques.

Cotation et interprétation du score :

Chaque item est évalué sur une échelle de sévérité allant de 0 à 3 où il est demandé au répondant d’évaluer combien de fois chaque symptôme a eu lieu au cours des deux dernières semaines (0-pas du tout ; 1-quelques jours ; 2-plus de la moitié des jours ou 3-presque tous les jours), produisant un score total allant de 0 à 27. Il est également demandé au répondant dans quelle mesure les problèmes identifiés ont interféré avec le travail, la maison ou la vie sociale, toutefois, les réponses à cet item ne sont pas cotées ou incluses dans le score total.

Interprétation du score :

  • 1-4 : dépression minimale;
  • 5-9 : dépression légère;
  • 10-14 : dépression modérée;
  • 15-19 : dépression modérément sévère; et
  • 20-27 : dépression sévère

Durée :

Il faut environ 2 à 5 minutes pour administrer le PHQ-9.

Formation :

Le PHQ-9 peut être auto-administré ou administré par un clinicien. Aucune formation formelle n’est requise pour utiliser la mesure.

Équipements :

Seulement un crayon et le test sont nécessaires si l’outil est auto-administré.

Versions alternatives du PHQ-9

Le PHQ-2 est une version abrégée du PHQ-9, composée des deux premières questions du PHQ-9 dans laquelle il est demandé au répondant d’évaluer combien de fois il vit les deux symptômes cardinaux de la dépression : l’anhédonie et l’humeur dépressive. Les scores au PHQ-2 vont de 0 à 6. Les résultats d’une étude d’Aroll et al. (2010) suggéraient que le PHQ-9 complet soit administré aux répondants cotant ≥ 2 au PHQ-2; et Williams et al. (2010) suggéraient que le PHQ-9 complet soit administré aux patients ayant subi un AVC cotant ≥ 3.

Pertinence de l’évaluation selon la clientèle

Peut être utilisé avec :

  • Les patients ayant subi un AVC.
  • Le PHQ-9 a également été validé pour l’utilisation avec des patients gériatriques; avec des patients ayant une lésion cérébrale traumatique; dans les milieux de soins de premières lignes et dans les milieux gynécologiques obstétriques; et dans la population générale.

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec :

  • S’il est auto-administré, l’exécution du PHQ-9 requiert que le client ait une compréhension écrite et des facultés visuelles adéquates. Toutefois, dans le cas d’analphabétisme ou de mauvaise vue, les items et les réponses possibles peuvent être lus au répondant.

Dans quelles langues la mesure est-elle disponible ?

Le PHQ-9 a été traduit en afrikaans, arabe, assamais, bangla, bengali, cantonais, créole, tchèque, danois, néerlandais, finnois, français, allemand, gujarati, hébreu, hindi, hongrois, italien, coréen, malayalam, mandarin malaisien, mandarin, norvégien, oriya, polonais, portugais, punjabi, russe, somali, espagnol, suédois, télougou, tigrigna, turc, ourdou et vietnamien.

Ces traductions sont accessibles sur le site web suivant : http://www.phqscreeners.com/

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? Le PHQ-9 mesure la sévérité de la dépression.
Avec quelles clientèles l’outil peut-il être utilisé ? Peut être utilisé avec les patients ayant subi un AVC, mais il n’est pas limité à ceux-ci.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Le PHQ-9 a été qualifié à la fois d’outil de dépistage et d’outil d’évaluation.
Temps d’administration Environ 2 à 5 minutes
Versions Le PHQ-9 a été développé par les docteurs Robert L. Spitzer, Janet W.B. Williams et Kurt Kroenke en 1999. Il est prévu qu’il soit auto-administré, mais peut être administré lors d’une entrevue en personne ou au téléphone.
Langues Le PHQ-9 a été traduit de l’anglais, mais pas nécessairement validé dans plus de 35 langues (voir la revue détaillée du PHQ-9 pour la liste complète).
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité Cohérence interne :
Deux études ont examiné la cohérence interne du PHQ-9 et ont relevé d’excellents niveaux de cohérence interne.

Test-retest :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité test-retest du PHQ-9 et a relevé une excellente fidélité test-retest.

Intra-juge :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité intra-juge du PHQ-9.

Inter-juges :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité inter-juges du PHQ-9.

Validité Construit :
Convergente :
Une étude a relevé que le PHQ-9 a une excellente corrélation avec l’Inventaire de dépression de Beck (IDB) et le General Health Questionnaire (GHQ-12) ; une corrélation adéquate a été relevé avec l’European Quality of Life Questionnaire (EuroQOL) ; et une corrélation allant d’adéquate à excellente avec les sous-échelles de la Medical Outcomes Study Short Form Health Survey (SF-36).
Effets plancher/plafond Aucune étude n’a examiné les effets de plancher ou de plafond du PHQ-9.
Est-ce que l’outil est sensible aux changements ? Aucune étude n’a examiné la sensibilité au changement du PHQ-9 auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.
Acceptabilité Le PHQ-9 est généralement auto-administré, toutefois, il peut être administré par entrevue en personne ou par téléphone pour les clients qui sont incapables de s’auto-administrer la mesure.
Faisabilité La mesure est brève, simple à coter et seulement la feuille de test PHQ-9 et un crayon sont nécessaires pour compléter la mesure.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? Le PHQ-9 peut être obtenu au : http://www.phqscreeners.com/

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Il existe une abondance d’études sur les propriétés psychométriques du Patient Health Questionnaire à neuf items (PHQ-9). Toutefois, peu de recherches ont été menées spécifiquement auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC. Aux fins de cette revue, une recherche dans la littérature a été menée afin d’identifier toutes les publications pertinentes sur les propriétés psychométriques du PHQ-9. Les premières études de validité et de fidélité ont été choisies pour être ici résumées et présentées.

Fidélité

La fidélité du PHQ-9 n’a pas été examinée auprès d’une population ayant subi un AVC.

Cohérence interne :
Kroenke, Spitzer et Williams (2001) ont étudié la cohérence interne du PHQ-9 dans le cadre de deux grandes études auxquelles ont participé 6 000 personnes provenant des cliniques de soins de santé primaires et d’obstétrique-gynécologie. En utilisant l’alpha de Cronbach, une excellente fidélité a été relevée dans les deux études (respectivement, 0,89 et 0,86).

Test-retest :
Kroenke, Spitzer et Williams (2001) ont étudié la fidélité test-retest du PHQ-9 dans des cliniques de soins de santé primaires. Une excellente fidélité test-retest (0,84) a été relevée lorsque le PHQ-9 a été administré en clinique, puis au téléphone 48 heures plus tard.

Intra-juge :
N’a pas encore été examinée auprès d’une population ayant subi un AVC.

Inter-juges :
N’a pas encore été examinée auprès d’une population ayant subi un AVC.

Validité

À notre connaissance, l’étude de Williams et al. (2005) est la seule étude à ce jour qui a examiné la validité du PHQ-9 auprès d’individus ayant subi un AVC.

Critère :

Concourante :
N’a pas encore été examinée auprès d’une population ayant subi un AVC.

Prédictive :
N’a pas encore été examinée auprès d’une population ayant subi un AVC.

Construit :

Convergente/Discriminante :
Martin, Rief, Klaiberg et Braehler (2005) ont examiné la validité convergente de l’Inventaire de dépression de Beck (IDB), du General Health Questionnaire (GHQ-12), de l’European Quality of Life (EuroQOL) Questionnaire et de la Medical Outcomes Study Short Form Health Survey(SF-36) avec une version en seconde langue du PHQ-9, auprès de 2060 participants provenant de la population en générale. Les relations entre les mesures ont été comparées en utilisant le test de Welch. L’IDB a démontré une excellente corrélation avec le PHQ-9 (r = 0,73) : le GHQ-12, et l’EuroQOL ont démontré une corrélation adéquate (respectivement, r = 0,59 et r = 0,50). Les sous-échelles de la SF-36 ont démontré une corrélation allant d’adéquate à excellente (de r = -0,45 à r = -0,71).

Groupes connus :
N’a pas encore été examiné auprès d’une population ayant subi un AVC.

Sensibilité/Spécificité :

Kroenke, Spitzer et Williams (2001) ont examiné la sensibilité et la spécificité du PHQ-9 auprès de participants des milieux de soins primaires. Des professionnels de la santé mentale (psychologues cliniciens et travailleurs sociaux psychiatriques) ont mené des entrevues téléphoniques en utilisant la Structured Clinical Interview for Depression (SCID) et le PRIME-MD pour confirmer le diagnostic de dépression. Un score sur le PHQ-9 de ≥10 a démontré une excellent sensibilité et spécificité pour la détection de la dépression majeure, soit respectivement de 88 % et 88 %.

Williams et al. (2010) ont examiné la sensibilité et la spécificité du PHQ-9 et du PHQ-2 auprès de 316 patients ayant subi un AVC. Un diagnostic de dépression a été confirmé à l’aide de la Structured Clinical Interview for Depression (SCID). Un score PHQ-9 de ≥10 s’est avéré avoir une excellente sensibilité et spécificité pour détecter toute gravité de dépression (respectivement, 78 % et 96 %) et de dépression majeure (respectivement, 91 % et 89 %). D’après ces résultats, le PHQ-9 devrait être utilisé comme une brève mesure de dépistage pour évaluer la dépression chez les patients ayant subi un AVC.

Sensibilité au changement

À ce jour, la sensibilité au changement du PHQ-9 n’a pas été examinée auprès d’une population ayant subi un AVC, mais a été examinée auprès d’un groupe de patients recevant un traitement pour la dépression dans des milieux de soins de première ligne.

Lowe, Unutzer, Callahan, Perkins et Kroenke (2004) ont examiné la sensibilité au changement du PHQ-9 et de l’échelle de dépression de la Hopkins Symptom Checklist (SCL-20) auprès de 434 patients traités pour la dépression dans des établissements de soins primaires (âge moyen de 70,9 ans). Des scores de l’ampleur de l’effet standardisée ont été calculés pour les intervalles entre le début de l’étude et 3 mois, et entre le début de l’étude et 6 mois. De grandes ampleurs de l’effet ont été relevées pour le PHQ-9 et la SCL-20, cependant les résultats de cette étude indiquent que le PHQ-9 est plus sensible au changement. Des valeurs de l’ampleur de l’effet normalisée de -1,3 à l’intervalle de 3 mois, et de -1,3 à l’intervalle de 6 mois ont été relevées pour le PHQ-9 ; et de -0,9 à l’intervalle de 3 mois, et de -1,2 à l’intervalle de 6 mois pour la SCL-20.

Références

  • Arroll, B., Goodyear-Smith, F., Crengle, S., Gunn, J., Kerse, N. and Fishman, T. et al. (2010). Validation of PHQ-2 and PHQ-9 to screen for major depression in the primary care setting. Annals of Family Medicine, 8, 348-353.
  • Kroenke, K. Spitzer, R.L. & Williams, J.B.W. (2001). Validity of a brief depression severity measure. Journal of General Internal Medicine, 16, 606-613.
  • Martin, A., Rief, W., Klaiberg, A. & Braehler, E. (2005). Validity of the brief Patient Health Questionnaire Mood Scale (PHQ-9) in the general population. General Hospital Psychiatry, 28, 71-77.
  • Williams, L.S., Brizendine, J., Plue, L., Bakas, T., Tu, W. & Hendrie, H. et al. (2005). Performance of the PHQ-9 as a screening tool for depression after stroke. Journal of the American Heart Association, 36, 635-638.

Voir la mesure

Comment obtenir le PHQ-9 ?

Le PHQ-9 est disponible gratuitement à des fins éducatives et cliniques au : http://www.phqscreeners.com/

Table des matières
Aidez-nous à nous améliorer