Stroke Specific Quality of Life Scale (SS-QOL)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 19-08-2008
Author(s): Lisa Zeltzer, MSc OT
Editor(s): Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT; Elissa Sitcoff, BA BSc

Purpose

The Stroke Specific Quality Of Life scale (SS-QOL) is a patient-centered outcome measure intended to provide an assessment of health-related quality of life (HRQOL) specific to patients with stroke.

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The Stroke Specific Quality Of Life scale (SS-QOL) is a patient-centered outcome measure intended to provide an assessment of health-related quality of life specific to patients with stroke.

Available versions

The SS-QOL was published and validated in 1999 by Williams, Weinberger, Harris, and Clark.

Features of the measure

Items:

Scale domains and items were derived from a series of interviews with post-stroke patients (Williams et al. 1999a).

Patients must respond to each question of the SS-QOL with reference to the past week. It is a self-report scale containing 49 items in 12 domains:

  • Mobility (6 items)
  • Energy (3 items)
  • Upper extremity function (5 items)
  • Work/productivity (3 items)
  • Mood (5 items)
  • Self-care (5 items)
  • Social roles (5 items)
  • Family roles (3 items)
  • Vision (3 items)
  • Language (5 items)
  • Thinking (3 items)
  • Personality (3 items)

Subscales:

Energy, Upper extremity function, Work/productivity, Mood, Self-care, Social roles, Family roles, Vision, Language, Thinking, and Personality.

Equipment:

Only a pencil and the test are needed.

Training:

No training is required, as the SS-QOL is intended to be self-administered. One study suggests that the scale can be administered to patients with stroke reliably over the telephone (Williams, Redmon, Saul & Weinberger, 2000).

Time:

It takes approximately 10-15 minutes to complete the SS-QOL scale.

Scoring:

Items are rated on a 5-point Likert scale. There are 3 different response sets (see table below). Patients must respond to each item using the corresponding response set as indicated on the scale (Williams et al. 1999a). For example, the item “did you have any trouble doing daily work around the house?” requires response set 2, which ranges from “couldn’t do it at all” to “no trouble at all”.

Response Sets:

1. Total help 2. A lot of help 3. Some help 4. A little help 5. No help needed
1. Couldn’t do it at all 2. A lot of trouble 3. Some trouble 4. A little trouble 5. No trouble at all
1. Strongly agree 2. Moderately agree 3. Neither agree nor disagree 4. Moderately disagree 5. Strongly disagree

Higher scores indicate better functioning. The SS-QOL yields both domain scores and an overall SS-QOL summary score. The domain scores are unweighted averages of the associated items while the summary score is an unweighted average of all twelve domain scores (Williams et al. 1999b).

Alternative forms of SS-QOL

  • The Stroke and Aphasia Quality Of Life Scale (SAQOL-39 – Hilari, Byng, Lamping, & Smith, 2003). Developed from the SS-QOL for use in patients with long-term aphasia, the SAQOL-39 has four subdomains (Physical, Psychosocial, Communication, and Energy). It is an interview-administered self-report scale. It is comprised of items from the SS-QOL that have been modified to ensure they are appropriate for use in individuals with aphasia. The SAQOL-39 has four additional items that were added to increase the content validity of the scale with this population. These four items focus on the difficulties with understanding speech, issues with decision-making, and the impact of language difficulties on family and social life.

Hilari et al. (2003) reported that the SAQOL-39 has good acceptability, adequate to excellent internal consistency (Cronbach’s alphas ranging from 0.74 to 0.94), excellent test-retest reliability (intraclass correlation coefficient = 0.89 to 0.98), and poor to excellent construct validity (corrected domain-total correlations, r = 0.38 to 0.58; convergent, r = 0.55 to 0.67; discriminant, r = 0.02 to 0.27 validity). Further research is needed to confirm its psychometric properties and to determine its appropriateness as a clinical outcome measure.

Client suitability

Can be used with:

  • Individuals with mild or moderate stroke.

Should not be used in:

  • Patients without stroke. The SS-QOL was developed and validated specifically for individuals with stroke and has been examined for use in this population only.
  • Severe stroke populations. The SS-QOL has not yet been tested among patients with severe stroke.
  • Should be used with caution in patients with aphasia. Although the modified version of the scale, the SAQOL-39, has been validated for use in patients with long-term aphasia, it is a relatively new measure that requires further psychometric testing.
  • Patients who require a proxy to complete. A study by Williams et al. (2006) compared proxy ratings of the SS-QOL to patient self administration in 225 patient-proxy pairs. Proxies rated all domains of SS-QOL lower than the patients. The intraclass correlation coefficient (ICC) for each domain ranged from poor (r = 30 for role function) to adequate (r = 0.59 for physical function). Proxy overall SS-QOL score was also rated lower than the patient score (3.7 versus 3.4) with an ICC of r = 0.41. It is recommended that information obtained from proxy respondents be treated as supplementary rather than substantive and that use of proxy be restricted to individuals either living with or in daily contact with the patient (Snow, Cook, Lin, Morgan & Magaziner, 2005; Muus, Petzold & Ringsberg, 2009).
  • For patients who require a proxy, the Stroke Impact Scale is a more reliable and valid measure of HRQOL (Duncan, Lai, Tyler, Perera, Reker, & Studenski, 2002).

In what languages is the measure available?

  • Danish (SS-QOL-DK): translated Muus & Ringsberg, 2005 and validated Muus, Williams & Ringesberg, 2007.
  • German: translated Ewart & Stucki, 2007 and initial validation study completed Ewart & Stucki, 2007. The initial validation study revealed validity of the total SS-QOL German score, however, some subscales (Energy, Mood and Thinking) were not validated. Further research is required.

Summary

What does the tool measure? Health related quality of life
What types of clients can the tool be used for? The SS-QOL was developed for use in patients with stroke.
Is this a screening or assessment tool? Assessment.
Time to administer Approximately 10-15 minutes to complete.
Versions The Stroke and Aphasia Quality Of Life Scale (SAQOL-39)
Other Languages Translated and validated in Danish. Translated in German.
Measurement Properties
Reliability

Internal consistency:

One study examined the internal consistency of the SS-QOL and found that the internal consistency ranged from adequate (for work/productivity subscale) to excellent (for self-care).

Test-retest:
One study examined the test-retest reliability of the SS-QOL and found excellent test-retest.

Inter-rater:
One study examined the inter-rater reliability of the SS-QOL and found excellent inter-rater.

Validity

Criterion:

Predictive:

The SS-QOL summary score significantly predicted overall post-stroke health-related quality of life.

Construct:

Convergent:

Most domains of the SS-QOL correlate with the Barthel Index, the Beck Depression Inventory, and subscales of the SF-36.

Floor/Ceiling Effects One study reported ceiling effects exceeding 20% in 10 out of 12 domains of the SS-QOL, and a floor effect of 24% in the Energy domain. Floor or ceiling effect exceeding 20% are typically considered poor.
Does the tool detect change in patients? One study found that the SS-QOL had only a moderate ability to detect change in patients between 1 and 3 months post-stroke. A subsequent study involving an alternative language version of the SS-QOL, found a small to moderate ability to detect change in patients between 3 and 12 month post-stroke. In a later study, the minimal clinically detectable difference for the mobility, self-care and upper extremity function subscales was defined as a mean change in score of at least 1.5, 1.2 and 1.2 respectively.
Acceptability Further investigation on the reliability, validity, and sensitivity of the SS-QOL is required with larger numbers of subjects. This measure has not been tested in severely affected patients with stroke. For patients with aphasia, the SAQOL-39 is a more suitable version of the measure, however, it is a relatively new measure, which requires further psychometric testing. The scale is not suitable for use by proxy.
Feasibility No training is required for the SS-QOL as the measure is intended to be completed by self-report. The measure is simple to score and is based on a 5-point Likert scale.
How to obtain the tool?

Click here to find a copy of the SS-QOL.

Psychometric Properties

Overview

The Stroke Specific Quality of Life Scale (SS-QOL) is a new scale and has not been well studied. It has not been tested among severe stroke populations. To our knowledge, the creators of the SS-QOL have personally gathered the majority of psychometric data that are currently published on the scale. Further investigation on the reliability, validity, and sensitivity of the SS-QOL is required with larger numbers of subjects.

Floor and Ceiling Effects

Czechowsky and Hill (2002) examined the SS-QOL and reported ceiling effects exceeding 20% in 10 out of 12 domains of the SS-QOL, and a ceiling effects exceeding 20% are typically considered poor.

Reliability

Internal consistency:

Williams et al. (1999a) examined the internal consistency of the SS-QOL in 34 individuals with stroke and found that Cronbach’s alpha ranged from adequate (alpha = 0.75 for work/productivity subscale) to excellent (alpha = 0.89 for self-care), suggesting that the SS-QOL has a strong internal consistency.

Test-retest:

In a study by Williams et al. (2000), the SS-QOL was administered by a trained interviewer to 47 stroke survivors at baseline and again within 2 hours of the initial interview. SS-QOL scores were highly correlated (r = 0.92), showing excellent test-retest reliability.

Inter-rater:

The SS-QOL was also administered by a trained interviewer to 24 stroke survivors and then a second trained interviewer re-administered the SS-QOL within 2 hours of the first interview. SS-QOL scores were highly correlated (r = 0.92), demonstrating excellent inter-rater reliability of the SS-QOL.

Validity

Criterion:

Predictive:

Williams et al. (1999b) administered the SS-QOL to a total of 71 patients 1-month post-ischemic stroke. Multivariate analysis showed that the SS-QOL summary score significantly predicted overall post-stroke health-related quality of life (HRQOL) (OR = 2.97). When scores were examined on the domain level, however, only one domain, Family Roles, was significantly different between groups, with higher scores in those patients with better overall HRQOL.

Construct:

Convergent:

Williams et al. (1999a) examined the validity of the SS-QOL in 34 survivors of stroke and reported that most domains of the SS-QOL correlated with the Barthel Index, Beck Depression Inventory, and subscales of the SF-36. The Energy, Family Roles, Mobility and Work/Productivity domains were significantly associated with corresponding subscales on the SF-36. Total SS-QOL score correlated excellently with the overall SF-36 health status rating (r = 0.65). The self-care domain was adequately correlated with the Barthel Index (r = 0.45). Upper Extremity Function showed a positive but poor relationship with the Barthel Index and the National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale Upper Extremity score (r = 0.18).

However, in this study, a few domains did not show a significant relationship with their corresponding measures. Scores in the Language and Thinking domains were not associated with selected items from the National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (r = 0.00 and r = 0.10 respectively). This most likely occurred because patients with language and cognitive deficits were excluded, i.e., there were no patients with a score > 1 on these items. Furthermore, the SS-QOL Social Roles domain was not associated with the SF-36 Social Functioning subscale score (r = 0.01). Finally, the Vision domain of the SS-QOL did not correlate with the National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale Visual Field and Ocular Movement scores (r = 0.11).

Responsiveness

Williams et al. (1999a) examined the standardized effect size scores for the interval between 1 and 3 months post-stroke in 34 individuals with stroke. Effect sizes ranged from small (ES = 0.20 for the personality domain) to large (ES = 0.83 for the social roles domain). One half of the SS-QOL domains demonstrated less than moderate effect sizes. The ‘amount of help’ response set appeared to lack responsiveness. The results of this study demonstrate that the SS-QOL has only adequate responsiveness.

Muus et al. (2011) investigated the responsiveness of the Danish language version of the SS-QOL (SSQOL-DK). Patients were assessed at 3 and 12 months following stroke. Small standardized effect sizes were found for all domains (-0.03-0.40), except the social roles domain which demonstrated moderate standardized effect size (-0.53).

Lin, Fu, Wu & Hsieh (2011) examined the minimal clinically important difference (CID), of the mobility, self-care and upper extremity function subscales of the SS-QOL. The study included 74 patients with stroke receiving rehabilitation and the SS-QOL was administered at baseline and at 3 weeks. The MCID ranges for the mobility, self-care and upper extremity function subscales were 1.5 – 2.4, 1.2 – 1.9, and 1.2 – 1.8 respectively. The results of the study indicate that mean change of score on the mobility, self-care and upper extremity function subscale should reach 1.5, 1.2 and 1.2, respectively, in order for change to be interpreted as clinically meaningful.

References

  • Czechowsky, D., Hill, M. D. (2002). Neurological Outcome and Quality of Life after Stroke due to Vertebral Artery Dissection. Cerebrovascular Diseases, 13, 192-197.
  • Duncan, P. W., Lai, S. M., Tyler, D., Perera, S., Reker, D. M., Studenski, S. (2002). Evaluation of proxy responses to the Stroke Impact Scale. Stroke, 33, 2593-2599.
  • Ewart, T. & Stucki, G, (2007). Validity of the SS-QOL in Germany and in survivors of hemorrhagic or ischemic stroke. Neurorehabilitation and Neuro Repair, 21, 161-168.
  • Hilari, K., Byng, S., Lamping, D. L., Smith, S. C. (2003). Stroke and Aphasia Quality of Life Scale-39 (SAQOL-39): Evaluation of acceptability, reliability, and validity. Stroke, 34, 1944-1950.
  • Lin, K-C., Fu, T., Wu, C-Y. & Hsieh, C-J. (2011). Assessing the stroke-specific quality of life for outcomes measurement in stroke rehabilitation: Minimal detectable change and clinically important difference. Health and Quality of Life Outcomes, 9, 5. Retrieved April 25, 2012 from Sage Journals database.
  • Muus, I., Christensen, D., Petzold, M., Harder, I., Johnsen, S.P., Kirkevold, M., Ringsberg, K.C. (2011). Responsiveness and sensitivity of the Stroke Specific Quality of Life Danish version. Disability and Rehabilitation, 33(25-26), 2425-2433.
  • Muus, I., Petzold, M. & Ringsberg, K.C. (2009). Health-related quality of life after stroke: Reliability of proxy responses. Clinical Nursing Research, 18(2), 103-118.
  • Muus, I., Ringsberg, K. C. (2005). Stroke Specific Quality of Life Scale: Danish adaptation and a pilot study for testing psychometric properties. Scand J Caring Sci, 19, 140-147.
  • Muus, I., Williams, L.S. & Ringsberg, K.C. (2007). Validation of the Stroke Specific Quality of Life Scale (SS-QOL): Test of reliability and validity of the Danish version (SS-QOL-DK). Clinical Rehabilitation, 21, 620-627.
  • Snow, A.L., Cook, K.F., Lin, P.S., Morgan, R.O. & Magaziner, J. (2005). Proxies and other external raters: Methodological considerations. Health Services Research, 40(5), 1976-1693.
  • Williams, L. S., Weinberger, M., Harris, L. E., Clark, D. O., Biller, J. (1999a). Development of a stroke-specific quality of life scale. Stroke, 30(7), 1362-1369.
  • Williams, L. S., Weinberger, M., Harris, L. E., Biller, J. (1999b). Measuring quality of life in a way that is meaningful to stroke patients. Neurology, 53, 1839-1843.
  • Williams, L. S., Redmon, G., Saul, D. C., Weinberger, M. (2000). Reliability and telephone validity of the Stroke-specific Quality of Life (SS-QOL) scale. Stroke, 32, 339-b.
  • Williams, L. S., Bakas, T., Brizendine, E., Plue, L., Tu, W., Hendrie, H., Kroenke, K. (2006). How valid are family proxy assessments of stroke patients’ health-related quality of life? Stroke, 37, 2081-2085.

See The Measure

Please click here for a copy of the Stroke-Specific-Quality-of-Life-Scale (SS-QOL).

Table of contents
We need your feedback

Stroke Specific Quality of Life Scale (SS-QOL)

Évidence révisées en date du 19-08-2008
Auteur(s)* :Lisa Zeltzer, MSc OT
Éditeur(s) : Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT ; Elissa Sitcoff, BA BSc
Version française en traduction libre : Alexandra Matteau

But

La Stroke Specific Quality Of Life Scale (SS-QOL) est une mesure centrée sur le patient visant à offrir une évaluation de la qualité de vie liée à la santé, spécifique aux patients ayant subi un AVC.

Note : Les noms des instruments de mesure qui, en anglais, sont identifiés et nommés par des noms de genre féminin en français – ex. « Batterie » (Battery), « Catégorie » (Category), « Échelle » (Scale, Ladder), « Évaluation » (Assessment) ou « Mesure » (Measure) – sont traduits en français par le genre féminin.

Revue détaillée

But de la mesure

La Stroke Specific Quality Of Life Scale (SS-QOL) est une mesure centrée sur le patient visant à offrir une évaluation de la qualité de vie liée à la santé, spécifique aux patients ayant subi un AVC.

Versions disponibles

La SS-QOL a été publiée et validée en 1999 par Williams, Weinberger, Harris et Clark.

Caractéristiques de la mesure

Items :

Les domaines et les items de l’échelle proviennent d’une série d’entrevues effectuée avec des patients ayant subi un AVC (Williams et al., 1999a).

Les patients doivent répondre à chaque question de la SS-QL en se référant à la dernière semaine. C’est une échelle auto-administrée comprenant 49 items dans 12 domaines :

  • Mobilité (6 items)
  • Énergie (3 items)
  • Fonction du membre supérieur (5 items)
  • Travail/productivité (3 items)
  • Humeur (5 items)
  • Soins personnels (5 items)
  • Rôles sociaux (5 items)
  • Rôles familiaux (3 items)
  • Vision (3 items)
  • Langage (5 items)
  • Réflexion (3 items)
  • Personnalité (3 items)

Sous-échelles :

Énergie, Fonction du membre supérieur, Travail/Productivité, Humeur, Soins personnels, Rôles sociaux, Rôles familiaux, Vision, Langage, Réflexion et Personnalité.

Équipements :

Seulement le test et un crayon sont nécessaires.

Formation :

Aucune formation n’est nécessaire, puisque la SS-QOL a été conçue pour être auto-administrée. Une étude suggère que l’échelle peut être administrée par téléphone aux patients ayant subi un AVC de façon fiable (Williams, Redmon, Saul & Weinberger, 2000).

Durée :

Il faut environ 10 à 15 minutes pour compléter la SS-QOL.

Cotation :

Les items sont cotés sur une échelle de Likert de 5 points. Il y a 3 ensembles de réponses différents (voir le tableau ci-dessous). Les patients doivent répondre à chaque item en utilisant l’ensemble de réponses correspondant tel qu’indiqué sur l’échelle (Williams et al., 1999a). Par exemple, l’item « avez-vous eu de la difficulté à effectuer les tâches quotidiennes dans la maison ? » nécessite l’ensemble de réponses 2, qui varie de « ne pouvait pas le faire du tout » à « aucune difficulté ».

Ensembles de réponses :

1. Aide totale 2. Beaucoup d’aide 3. Aide modérée 4. Un peu d’aide 5. Aucune aide nécessaire
1. Ne pouvait pas le faire du tout 2. Beaucoup de difficultés 3. Un peu de difficultés 4. Très peu de difficultés 5. Aucune difficulté
1. Fortement en accord 2. Plutôt en accord 3. Ni en accord, ni en désaccord 4. Plutôt en désaccord 5. Fortement en désaccord

De plus hauts scores indiquent un meilleur fonctionnement. La SS-QOL fournit des scores pour les domaines et un score sommaire global SS-QOL. Les scores pour les domaines sont des moyennes non pondérées des items associés, alors que le score sommaire est une moyenne non pondérée de tous les scores des douze domaines (Williams et al. 1999b).

Versions alternative de la SS-QOL

The Stroke and Aphasia Quality Of Life Scale (SAQOL-39 – Hilari, Byng, Lamping, & Smith, 2003).

Développée à partir de la SS-QOL pour être utilisé auprès de personnes présentant de l’aphasie à long terme, le SAQOL-39 comprends 4 domaines (Physique, Psychosocial, Communication et Énergie). Il s’agit d’une échelle auto-administrée complétée lors d’une entrevue. Elle contient des énoncés modifiés de la SS-QOL pour s’assurer de leur pertinence auprès de personnes avec aphasie. La SAQOL-39 contient 4 énoncés supplémentaire pour augmenter la validité de contenu de l’échelle auprès de cette population. Ces 4 énoncés mettent l’accent sur les difficultés en lien avec la compréhension du langage, la prise de décisions et les conséquences des difficultés de communication sur la famille et la vie sociale.

Hilari et al. (2003) ont relevé que la SAQOL-39 présente une bonne acceptabilité, une cohérence interne allant d’adéquate à excellente (alpha de Cronbach variant de 0,74 à 0,94), une excellente fidélité test-retest (coefficient de corrélation intraclasse = 0,89 à 0,98), et une validité de construit allant de faible à excellente (corrélations totales pour les domaines corrigés, r = 0,38 à 0,58 ; validité convergente, r = 0,55 à 0,67 ; validité discriminante, r = 0,02 à 0,27). D’autres études sont nécessaires pour confirmer les propriétés psychométriques et documenter la pertinence de l’échelle comme mesure clinique.

Pertinence de l’évaluation selon la clientèle

Peut être utilisé avec :

  • Les individus ayant subi un AVC léger ou modéré.

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec :

  • Les patients n’ayant pas subi d’AVC. La SS-QOL a été développée et validée spécifiquement pour les individus ayant subi un AVC et a été testée pour une utilisation seulement auprès de cette population.
  • Les individus ayant subi un AVC sévère. À ce jour, la SS-QOL n’a pas encore été testée auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC sévère.
  • Elle doit être utilisée avec précaution avec les patients ayant de l’aphasie. Bien que la version modifiée de l’échelle, la SAQOL-39, a été validée pour l’utilisation auprès de patients présentant de l’aphasie à long terme, il s’agit d’une mesure relativement récente qui nécessite des tests psychométriques supplémentaires.
  • Les patients ayant besoin d’un proche aidant pour la compléter. Une étude menée par Williams et al. (2006) a comparé les évaluations des proches aidants sur la SS-QOL à l’auto-administration par les patients auprès de 225 paires patient-proche aidant. Les proches aidants ont coté tous les domaines de la SS-QOL plus faiblement que les patients. Le coefficient de corrélation intraclasse (CCI) pour chaque domaine allait de faible (r = 0,30 pour la fonction de rôles) à adéquat (r = 0,59 pour la fonction physique). Le score global sur la SS-QOL a également été évalué plus faiblement par les proches aidants que par les patients (3,7 vs 3,4) avec un CCI de r = 0,41. Il est recommandé que les informations obtenues par les proches aidants soient considérées comme supplémentaires plutôt que comme informations de fond, et que le recours à un proche aidant se limite aux individus vivant avec ou étant en contact quotidien avec le patient (Snow, Cook, Lin, Morgan & Magaziner, 2005; Muus, Petzold & Ringsberg, 2009).
  • Pour les patients qui nécessitent le recours à un proche aidant, la Stroke Impact Scale est une mesure plus fiable et valide pour évaluer de la qualité de vie liée à la santé (Duncan, Lai, Tyler, Perera, Reker, & Studenski, 2002).

Dans quelles langues la mesure est-elle disponible ?

  • Danois (SS-QOL-DK) : traduction Muus & Ringsberg, 2005 et validation Muus, Williams & Ringesberg, 2007.
  • Allemand : traduction et étude de validation initiale Ewart & Stucki, 2007. L’étude de validation initiale a révélé la validité du score total de la SS-QOL Allemand, toutefois, certaines sous-échelles (Énergie, Humeur et Raisonnement) n’ont pas été validées. Des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires.

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? La qualité de vie liée à la santé
Avec quelles clientèles l’outil peut-il être utilisé ? La SS-QOL a été développée pour être utilisée avec les patients ayant subi un AVC.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Évaluation
Temps d’administration Il faut environ 10 à 15 minutes pour la compléter.
Versions La Stroke and Aphasia Quality Of Life Scale (SAQOL-39).
Langues Développée en anglais. Traduite et validée en danois. Traduite en allemand.
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité

Cohérence interne :

Une étude a examiné la cohérence interne de la SS-QOL et a relevé une cohérence interne allant d’adéquate (pour la sous-échelle Travail/Productivité) à excellente (pour la sous-échelle Soins personnels).

Test-retest :

Une étude a examiné la fidélité test-retest de la SS-QOL et a relevé une excellente fidélité.

Inter-juges :

Une étude a examiné la fidélité inter-juges de la SS-QOL et a relevé une excellente fidélité.

Validité

Critère :

Prédictive:

Le score sommaire de la SS-QOL a prédit de façon significative la qualité de vie globale post-AVC liée à la santé.

Construit :

Convergente :

La plupart des domaines de la SS-QOL ont corrélé avec l’Indice de Barthel, l’Inventaire de dépression de Beck, et les sous-échelles de la SF-36.

Effets plancher/plafond Une étude a relevé des effets de plafond dépassant 20 % dans 10 des 12 domaines de la SS-QOL et un effet de plancher de 24 % dans le domaine Énergie. Un effet de plancher ou de plafond supérieur à 20 % est généralement considéré comme faible.
Est-ce que l’outil est sensible aux changements ?

Une étude a relevé que la SS-QOL avait seulement une capacité modérée de détecter le changement chez les patients entre 1 et 3 mois post-AVC. Une étude subséquente portant sur une version de la SS-QOL en langue alternative a relevé une capacité allant de petite à modérée de détecter le changement chez les patients entre 3 et 12 mois post-AVC. Dans une étude ultérieure, le changement minimal cliniquement significatif pour les sous-échelles Mobilité, Soins personnels et Fonction du membre supérieur a été défini comme un changement moyen sur le score de la SS-QOL d’au moins 1,5, 1,2 et 1,2 respectivement.

Acceptabilité Des recherches supplémentaires sur la fidélité, la validité et la sensibilité de la SS-QOL sont nécessaires avec un plus grand nombre de sujets. Cette mesure n’a pas été testée auprès de patients sévèrement atteints à la suite d’un AVC. Pour les patients aphasiques, la SAQOL-39 est une version de la mesure plus appropriée, toutefois, c’est une mesure relativement récente qui nécessite des tests psychométriques supplémentaires. Cette échelle n’est pas appropriée pour l’utilisation par un proche aidant.
Faisabilité Aucune formation n’est nécessaire pour la SS-QOL, puisque la mesure a été conçue pour être auto-administrée. La mesure est simple à coter et est basée sur une échelle de Likert de 5 points.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? Cliquez ici pour obtenir un exemplaire de la SS-QOL (en anglais).

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

La Stroke Specific Quality of Life Scale (SS-QOL) est une nouvelle échelle qui n’a pas été bien étudiée au moment des travaux pour cette revue. Elle n’a pas été testée auprès de populations ayant subi un AVC sévère. À notre connaissance, les créateurs de la SS-QOL ont personnellement recueilli la majorité des données psychométriques qui sont présentement publiées sur l’échelle. Des recherches supplémentaires sur la fidélité, la validité et la sensibilité de la SS-QOL sont nécessaires avec un plus grand nombre de sujets.

Effets plancher/plafond

Czechowsky et Hill (2002) ont examiné la SS-QOL et ont relevé des effets de plafond excédant 20% dans 10 des 12 domaines de la SS-QOL, et des effets de plancher de 24% dans le domaine Énergie. Des effets de plancher et de plafond excédant 20% sont généralement considérés comme faibles.

Fidélité

Cohérence interne :
Williams et al. (1999a) ont examiné la cohérence interne de la SS-QOL auprès de 34 individus ayant subi un AVC et ont relevé que l’alpha de Cronbach varie d’adéquat (alpha = 0,75 pour la sous-échelle Travail/Productivité) à excellent (alpha = 0,89 pour les Soins personnels), ce qui suggère que la SS-QOL a une forte cohérence interne.

Test-retest :
Dans une étude par Williams et al. (2000), la SS-QOL a été administrée par un interviewer formé à 47 survivants d’un AVC et de nouveau dans les 2 heures suivant l’entrevue initiale. Les scores sur la SS-QOL ont fortement corrélés (r = 0,92), démontrant une excellentefidélité test-retest.

Inter-juges :
La SS-QOL a également été administrée par un interviewer formé à 24 survivants d’un AVC et ensuite un second interviewer formé a administré de nouveau la SS-QOL 2 heures après la première entrevue. Les scores sur la SS-QOL ont fortement corrélés (r = 0,92), démontrant une excellentefidélité inter-juges.

Validité

Critère :

Prédictive :
Williams et al. (1999b) ont administré la SS-QOL à un total de 71 patients, 1 mois après un AVC ischémique. Une analyse multivariée a démontré que le score sommaire sur la SS-QOL a prédit de manière significative la qualité de vie globale post-AVC liée à la santé (OR = 2,97). Lorsque les scores ont été examinés au niveau des domaines, seulement un domaine, Rôles familiaux, s’est avéré significativement différent entre les groupes, avec des scores plus élevés chez les patients avec une meilleure qualité de vie globale liée à la santé.

Construit :

Convergente :
Williams et al. (1999a) ont examiné la validité de la SS-QOL auprès de 34 survivants d’un AVC et ont relevé que la plupart des domaines de la SS-QOL ont corrélés avec l’Indice de Barthel, l’Inventaire de dépression de Beck et les sous-échelles de la SF-36. Les domaines Énergie, Rôles familiaux, Mobilité et Travail/Productivité ont significativement été associés avec les sous-échelles correspondantes de la SF-36. Le score total sur la SS-QOL a corrélé d’excellente façon avec la cote globale d’état de santé de la SF-36 (r = 0,65). Le domaine Soins personnels a corrélé de façon adéquate avec l’Indice de Barthel (r = 0,45). La Fonction du membre supérieur a démontré une relation positive, mais faible, avec l’Indice de Barthel et le score du Membre supérieur de la National Institutes ofHealth Stroke Scale (r = 0,18).

Toutefois, dans cette étude, certains domaines n’ont pas démontré de relations significatives avec leurs mesures correspondantes. Les scores dans les domaines Langage et Raisonnement n’ont pas été associés avec les items sélectionnés de la National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (respectivement, r = 0,00 et r = 0,10). Cela s’est très probablement produit parce que les patients ayant des troubles du langage et des atteintes cognitives ont été exclus, c’est-à-dire qu’il n’y avait aucun patient avec un score > 1 sur ces items. De plus, le domaine Rôles sociaux de la SS-QOL n’a pas été associé avec le score de la sous-échelle Vie et relations avec les autres de la SF-36 (r = 0,01). Finalement, le domaine Vision de la SS-QOL n’a pas corrélé avec les scores de la National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale Visual Field and Ocular Movement (r = 0,11).

Sensibilité au changement

Williams et al. (1999a) ont examiné les scores de l’ampleur de l’effet standardisé pour l’intervalle entre 1 et 3 mois post-AVC auprès de 34 individus ayant subi un AVC. Les ampleurs de l’effet ont varié de petites (AE = 0,20 pour le domaine Personnalité) à grandes (AE = 0,83 pour le domaine Rôles sociaux). La moitié des domaines de la SS-QOL ont démontré des ampleurs de l’effet moins que modérées. L’ensemble de réponses « quantité d’aide » semble manquer de sensibilité au changement. Les résultats de cette étude démontrent que la SS-QOL a seulement une sensibilité au changement adéquate.

Muus et al. (2011) ont examiné la sensibilité au changement de la version danoise de la SS-QOL (SSQOL-DK). Les patients ont été évalués à 3 et 12 mois après l’AVC. De petites ampleurs de l’effet standardisé ont été relevées pour tous les domaines (-0,03-0,40), à l’exception du domaine Rôles sociaux qui a démontré une ampleur de l’effet standardisée modérée (-0,53).

Lin, Fu, Wu & Hsieh (2011) ont examiné la Différence minimale cliniquement importante des sous-échelles Mobilité, Soins personnels et Fonction du membre supérieur de la SS-QOL. L’étude a inclus 74 patients ayant subi un AVC et admis en réadaptation, et la SS-QOL a été administrée au départ de l’étude et à 3 semaines. Les étendues de la Différence minimale cliniquement importante pour les sous-échelles Mobilité, Soins personnels et Fonction du membre supérieur se sont avérées respectivement de 1,5 -2,4 ; 1,2 – 1,9 ; et 1,2 – 1,8. Les résultats de l’étude indiquent que le changement moyen de score sur les sous-échelles Mobilité, Soins personnels et Fonction du membre supérieur doit atteindre respectivement 1,5 ; 1,2 ; et 1,2 afin que le changement soit interprété comme cliniquement significatif.

Références

  • Czechowsky, D., Hill, M. D. (2002). Neurological Outcome and Quality of Life after Stroke due to Vertebral Artery Dissection. Cerebrovascular Diseases, 13, 192-197.
  • Duncan, P. W., Lai, S. M., Tyler, D., Perera, S., Reker, D. M., Studenski, S. (2002). Evaluation of proxy responses to the Stroke Impact Scale. Stroke, 33, 2593-2599.
  • Ewart, T. & Stucki, G, (2007). Validity of the SS-QOL in Germany and in survivors of hemorrhagic or ischemic stroke. Neurorehabilitation and Neuro Repair, 21, 161-168.
  • Hilari, K., Byng, S., Lamping, D. L., Smith, S. C. (2003). Stroke and Aphasia Quality of Life Scale-39 (SAQOL-39): Evaluation of acceptability, reliability, and validity. Stroke, 34, 1944-1950.
  • Lin, K-C., Fu, T., Wu, C-Y. & Hsieh, C-J. (2011). Assessing the stroke-specific quality of life for outcomes measurement in stroke rehabilitation: Minimal detectable change and clinically important difference. Health and Quality of Life Outcomes, 9, 5. Retrieved April 25, 2012 from Sage Journals database.
  • Muus, I., Christensen, D., Petzold, M., Harder, I., Johnsen, S.P., Kirkevold, M., Ringsberg, K.C. (2011). Responsiveness and sensitivity of the Stroke Specific Quality of Life Danish version. Disability and Rehabilitation, 33(25-26), 2425-2433.
  • Muus, I., Petzold, M. & Ringsberg, K.C. (2009). Health-related quality of life after stroke: Reliability of proxy responses. Clinical Nursing Research, 18(2), 103-118.
  • Muus, I., Ringsberg, K. C. (2005). Stroke Specific Quality of Life Scale: Danish adaptation and a pilot study for testing psychometric properties. Scand J Caring Sci, 19, 140-147.
  • Muus, I., Williams, L.S. & Ringsberg, K.C. (2007). Validation of the Stroke Specific Quality of Life Scale (SS-QOL): Test of reliability and validity of the Danish version (SS-QOL-DK). Clinical Rehabilitation, 21, 620-627.
  • Snow, A.L., Cook, K.F., Lin, P.S., Morgan, R.O. & Magaziner, J. (2005). Proxies and other external raters: Methodological considerations. Health Services Research, 40(5), 1976-1693.
  • Williams, L. S., Weinberger, M., Harris, L. E., Clark, D. O., Biller, J. (1999a). Development of a stroke-specific quality of life scale. Stroke, 30(7), 1362-1369.
  • Williams, L. S., Weinberger, M., Harris, L. E., Biller, J. (1999b). Measuring quality of life in a way that is meaningful to stroke patients. Neurology, 53, 1839-1843.
  • Williams, L. S., Redmon, G., Saul, D. C., Weinberger, M. (2000). Reliability and telephone validity of the Stroke-specific Quality of Life (SS-QOL) scale. Stroke, 32, 339-b.
  • Williams, L. S., Bakas, T., Brizendine, E., Plue, L., Tu, W., Hendrie, H., Kroenke, K. (2006). How valid are family proxy assessments of stroke patients’ health-related quality of life? Stroke, 37, 2081-2085.

Voir la mesure

Veuillez cliquer ici pour un exemplaire de la Stroke-Specific-Quality-of-Life-Scale (SS-QOL).

Table des matières
Qu’en pensez-vous ?