Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 18-02-2019
Author(s): Annabel McDermott, OT
Expert Reviewer: Trixie Reichardt, MHSc, RD, Rosemary Martino, PhD
Content consistency: Gabriel Plumier

Purpose

The Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©) is a screening tool which identifies patients at risk for dysphagia following stroke.

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©) is a screening tool administered at the bedside by trained screeners which identifies patients at risk for dysphagia following stroke.

Available versions

There is one version of the TOR-BSST©. See https://swallowinglab.com/tor-bsst/.

Features of the measure

Items:

The TOR-BSST© is comprised of 5 items:

  1. Baseline vocal quality
  2. Tongue movement
  3. 50mL water test
  4. Cup sip
  5. Final judgment of vocal quality

Scoring:

The TOR-BSST© uses binary scoring (i.e. abnormal/normal) for each item. Failure on any item discontinues the screen and prompts referral to a Speech-Language Pathologist dysphagia expert.

What to consider before beginning:

The TOR-BSST© should only be used with patients who are alert, able to sit upright at 90 degrees, and are able to follow simple instructions. Patients who do not meet these guidelines should not be screened but, instead, be referred to a Speech-Language Pathologist for assessment.

International best practice guidelines advise that, following stroke, patients should undergo screening for swallowing difficulties before oral intake of food, fluids or oral medication. Screening should be performed by specially trained personnel, using a validated screening tool. Swallowing should be screened as soon as possible after admission provided that the patient is able to participate. Patients who fail the swallowing screening should be referred to a Speech-Language Pathologist for comprehensive swallowing assessment. For patients who are confirmed at high risk of aspiration and/or dysphagia should undergo an instrumental assessment such as videofluoroscopy swallowing study (VFS) and/or fibreoptic evaluation of swallowing (FEES).

Time:

The TOR-BSST© takes less than 10 minutes to administer and score. Administration ceases immediately on failure of an item.

Training requirements:

The TOR-BSST© can be administered by health professionals who have undergone the requisite 4-hour didactic standardized training program. Didactic training is followed by individual training/competency observations. Training is provided by Speech-Language Pathologists who have completed the “TOR-BSST© Training for the SLP Dysphagia Expert” trainers course.

See The Swallowing Lab (https://swallowinglab.com/tor-bsst/) for details.

Equipment:

The TOR-BSST© is a one-page double-sided form that includes standardized instructions for administration

Client suitability

Can be used with:

The TOR-BSST© is suitable for use with individuals with stroke across the recovery continuum (Martino et al., 2009).

The TOR-BSST© is being validated for use with critically ill patients who have undergone prolonged intubation and may be at risk of swallowing problems.

Should not be used in:

Following stroke, patients should be assessed and managed according to best practice guidelines for dysphagia. The TOR-BSST© should not be used with individuals with decreased alertness or cognition, or those who are being tube-fed. Patients who are being tube-fed have already been identified to have dysphagia and therefore should be referred to a Speech-Language Pathologist for a comprehensive assessment and management.

In what languages is the screening tool available?

  • English
  • French
  • Chinese
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese (Brazil)

Summary

What does the tool measure? Risk for dysphagia following stroke.
What types of clients can the tool be used for? The TOR-BSST© was developed for patients with stroke across the recovery continuum.
Is this a screening or assessment tool? Screening tool
Time to administer Ten minutes.
Versions There is one version of the TOR-BSST©.
Languages Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese (Brazil)
Measurement Properties
Reliability

Internal consistency:

  • No studies have reported on the internal consistency of the TOR-BSST©.

Test-retest:

  • No studies have reported on the test-retest reliability of the TOR-BSST©.

Intra-rater:

  • No studies have reported on the intra-rater reliability of the TOR-BSST©.

Inter-rater:

  • Two studies have reported excellent inter-rater reliability of the TOR-BSST©. (Martino et al., 2006; Martino et al., 2009)
Validity

Content:

  • Development of the TOR-BSST© involved item generation from systematic review and subsequent item reduction, in combination with consultation with expert Speech-Language Pathologists. (Martino et al., 2000; Martino et al., 2009)

Criterion:

Concurrent:

  • No studies have reported on the concurrent validity of the TOR-BSST©.

Predictive:

  • One study has conducted a randomized controlled diagnostic study of the TOR-BSST© by comparison with videofluoroscopy.

Construct:

Convergent/Discriminant:

  • No studies have reported on the convergent/discriminant validity of the TOR-BSST©.

Known Groups:

  • No studies have reported on the known group validity of the TOR-BSST©.
Floor/Ceiling Effects Not applicable
Does the tool detect change in patients? The TOR-BSST© is designed as a screening test and scored using binary responses, so is not intended to detect change.
Acceptability
  • The TOR-BSST© is quick to administer.
  • The TOR-BSST© requires specialised training.
Feasibility The TOR-BSST© is suitable for administration across acute and rehabilitation settings. The screening is easily portable and is quick to administer, score and interpret.
How to obtain the tool? Click here for information regarding the TOR-BSST©.

Psychometric Properties

Overview

The TOR-BSST© was developed and validated by Dr. Martino of The Swallowing Lab, University Health Network, University of Toronto.

A literature search was conducted to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the TOR-BSST©. Four studies were identified.

Floor/Ceiling Effects

The TOR-BSST© is a 5-item screening test to determine risk of dysphagia. The screening should be discontinued as soon as an individual fails an item.

Reliability

Internal consistency:
No studies have reported on internal consistency of the TOR-BSST©.

Test-retest:
No studies have reported on the test-retest reliability of the TOR-BSST©.

Intra-rater:
No studies have reported on the intra-rater reliability of the TOR-BSST©.

Inter-rater:
Martino et al. (2009) established inter-rater reliability of the TOR-BSST© in the first 50 patients with stroke enrolled, using intraclass correlation coefficient (ICC) and 95% confidence intervals (CI). Results indicated excellent test-retest reliability (ICC=0.92; CI, 0.85 to 0.96).

Martino et al. (2006) examined 24-hour inter-rater reliability of the TOR-BSST© item and total screen scores in a sample of 286 patients with stroke (acute, n=78; subacute/chronic, n=208), using kappa statistics. Results indicated moderate reliability for the total score, with a higher reliability early after training (k = 0.90). Item reliability ranged from poor to adequate; the item ‘water swallowing’ including both the 50-ml and sip achieved the highest item reliability (k=0.82; CI, 0.66-0.98).

Validity

Content:

Initial item generation for the TOR-BSST© resulted from systematic review of the accuracy and benefit of non-invasive bedside dysphagia screening tests with patients with stroke (see Martino, Pron & Diamant, 2000). Two measures were shown to be accurate predictors of dysphagia by videofluroscopic assessment (VFS) of aspiration, and a further two were considered to show promising (although inconsistent) predictive ability:

  1. Dysphonia/coughing during the 50mL Kidd water swallow test
  2. Impaired pharyngeal sensation
  3. Impaired tongue movement
  4. General dysphonia – voice before or voice after water intake

The final measure, general dysphonia, was defined as two sub-items (voice before, voice after).

Item reduction was then performed, whereby positive results across the 5 items were compared with the total score. The item ‘water swallow’ contributed 25% to the total positive score, indicating that this item was the most frequent single item to identify dysphagia. The item ‘tongue movements’ contributed 8% to the total positive score. The remaining items contributed less than 5% each to the total positive score, and so were considered for elimination on review of practical application as determined by expert Speech-Language Pathologists. These expert clinicians considered the item ‘pharyngeal sensation’ to be impractical due to difficulty differentiating from a gag reflex in the clinical setting.

Martino et al. (2014) conducted item descriptive analysis in the original sample of 311 patients with stroke from acute and rehabilitation settings. The TOR-BSST© was administered by trained nurses. Items were eliminated individually to evaluate the impact of each item on the total score. Results showed that the ‘water swallow’ item contributed most significantly to identification of dysphagia, identifying 42.7% of patients in the acute setting and 29.0% of patients in the rehabilitation setting.

Criterion:

Concurrent:
No studies have reported on the concurrent validity of the TOR-BSST©.

Predictive:
Martino et al. (2009) examined predictive validity of the TOR-BSST© by comparison with gold standard VFS assessment identifying any abnormal swallow physiology including all severity. The randomized controlled diagnostic study design included four blinded Speech-Language Pathologists and 68 patients with stroke in acute and rehabilitation settings. Nine participants with stroke were eliminated when the TOR-BSST© and VFS assessments were performed more than 24 hours apart as per a priori criteria for patient flow. VFS assessment was used to confirm findings obtained by TOR-BSST© screening; clinicians rated the VFS images using three standardized scales: (1) Penetration Aspiration Scale; (2) Mann Assessment of Swallowing Ability (MASA) dysphagia subscore; and (3) MASA aspiration subscore. Across the entire sample of acute and rehab patients, results showed that 61% (n=36) of patients were confirmed by experts to have no dysphagia vs. 39% (n=23) with dysphagia. These results indicate high accuracy to predict dysphagia using the TOR-BSST©, where dysphagia is defined by aspiration and/or physiological abnormality on VFS.

Construct:

Convergent/Discriminant:
No studies have reported on the convergent/discriminant validity of the TOR-SST©.

Known Group:
No studies have reported on the known-group validity of the TOR-BSST(c).

Sensitivity & Specificity

Martino et al. (2009) examined sensitivity of the TOR-BSST© by comparison with VFS assessment, in a sample of 68 patients with stroke in acute and rehabilitation settings. Nine patients were eliminated when the TOR-BSST© and VFS assessments were performed more than 24 hours apart. The TOR-BSST showed 91.3% sensitivity (CI, 71.9 – 98.7) and 66.7% specificity (CI, 49.0 – 81.4) among all patients. Sensitivity and specificity was 96.3% and 63.6% (respectively) among patients in an acute setting, and 80.0% and 68.0% (respectively) among patients in rehabilitation settings. The TOR-BSST© showed high negative predictive value of 93.3% and 89.5% in participants in acute and rehabilitation stroke settings, respectively.

Martino et al. (2014) conducted sensitivity analysis of the TOR-BSST© in the original sample of 311 patients with stroke from acute and rehabilitation settings. The TOR-BSST© was administered by trained nurses using the standard 10 teaspoons plus a sip of water. Positive screening occurred in 59.2% of patients in the acute setting (n=103) and 38.5% of patients in the rehabilitation setting (n=208).

Martino et al. (2014) further examined sensitivity of the TOR-BSST© when modifying administration according to water volume intake. Using the original sample from Martino et al. (2009), sensitivity was examined on administration of 1 to 10 teaspoons of water to determine the acceptable cut-point to identify dysphagia. Among all participants (n=311), sensitivity ranged from moderate to excellent for 5, 8 and 10 teaspoons of water (79%, 92%, 96% respectively). Among patients in the acute setting and rehabilitation settings, sensitivities were 84% and 75% (respectively) for 5 teaspoons of water, 93% and 92% (respectively) for 8 teaspoons, and 95% and 97% (respectively) for 10 teaspoons. Results indicate greater accuracy on administration of 10x 5mL teaspoons of water, as per the original assessment guidelines

References

  • Martino, R., Maki, E., & Diamant, N. (2014). Identification of dysphagia using the Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©): are 10 teaspoons of water necessary? International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 16(3), 193-8. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24833425
  • Martino, R., Nicholson, G., Bayley, M., Teasell, R., Silver, F., & Diamant, N. (2006). Interrater reliability of the Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©) [Abstract]. Dysphagia, 21(4), 287-334. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00455-006-9044-5
  • Martino, R., Pron, G., & Diamant, N. (2000). Screening for oropharyngeal dysphagia in stroke: insufficient evidence for guidelines. Dysphagia, 15, 19-30. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10594255
  • Martino, R., Silver, F., Teasell, R., Bayley, M., Nicholson, G., Streiner, D.L., & Diamant, N.E. (2009). The Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST): Development and validation of a dysphagia screening tool for patients with stroke. Stroke, 40, 555-61. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19074483

See The Measure

How to obtain the TOR-BSST©:

Click here for information regarding the TOR-BSST©.

Other measures of dysphagia:

Instrumental Assessments:

  • Videofluoroscopy swallowing study (gold standard)
  • Fiberoptic endoscopic examination of swallowing
  • Rosenbeck’s Penetration Aspiration Scale

Clinical Bedside Assessments:

  • The Modified Mann Assessment of Swallowing Ability (Modified MASA)

Screening Tools:

  • Massey Bedside Swallowing Screen Volume-Viscosity Swallowing Test (Clave et al., 2008)
  • The Gugging Swallowing Screen (GUSS) (Trapl et al., 2007)
Table of contents
Survey

Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©)

Évidence révisées en date du 18-02-2019
Auteur(s)* : Annabel McDermott, OT
Réviseur expert : Trixie Reichardt, MHSc, RD, Rosemary Martino, PhD
Version française en traduction libre : Gabriel Plumier
Cohérence du contenu et de la traduction : Gabriel Plumier

But

Le Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©) est un outil de dépistage qui identifie les patients à risque de dysphagie suite à un AVC.

Revue détaillée

But de l’outil de mesure

Le Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©) est un outil de dépistage qui identifie les patients à risque de dysphagie suite à un AVC.

Versions disponibles

Il existe une version du TOR-BSST©. Voir : https://swallowinglab.com/tor-bsst/.

Caractéristiques de l’outil de mesure

Items :

Le TOR-BSST© est composé de 5 items :

  1. Qualité vocale de base
  2. Mouvement de la langue
  3. Essai avec 50 ml d’eau
  4. Tasse à petite gorgée
  5. Jugement final de la qualité vocale

Cotation :

Le TOR-BSST© utilise une notation binaire (c.-à-d. anormale/normale) pour chaque item. L’échec sur l’un des items interrompt le dépistage pour une référence immédiate à un orthophoniste spécialiste de la dysphagie.

Ce qu’il faut considérer avant de commencer :

Le TOR-BSST© ne doit être utilisé qu’avec des patients alertes, capables de s’asseoir droit à 90 degrés, et capables de suivre des instructions simples. Les patients qui ne peuvent rencontrer ces lignes directrices ne devraient pas faire l’objet d’un dépistage, mais plutôt être dirigés vers un orthophoniste pour une évaluation.

Les lignes directrices internationales sur les meilleures pratiques recommandent qu’après un AVC, les patients doivent subir un dépistage des difficultés de déglutition avant de consommer des aliments, des liquides ou des médicaments par voie orale. Le dépistage doit être effectué par un personnel spécialement formé, à l’aide d’un outil de dépistage validé. La déglutition devrait faire l’objet d’un dépistage dès que possible après l’admission, lorsque le patient est en mesure d’y participer. Les patients qui échouent au dépistage de la déglutition devraient être dirigés vers un orthophoniste pour une évaluation complète de la déglutition. Pour les patients dont le risque d’aspiration et/ou de dysphagie est confirmé comme étant élevé, une évaluation instrumentale (telle qu’un examen par vidéofluoroscopie de la déglutition et/ou une évaluation par fibre optique de la déglutition) devrait être effectuée.

Durée :

Le TOR-BSST© prend moins de 10 minutes pour être administré et coté. L’administration cesse immédiatement en cas d’échec de l’évaluation de l’un des items.

Formation :

Le TOR-BSST© peut être administré par des professionnels de la santé qui ont suivi le programme requis de formation didactique normalisé de 4 heures. La formation didactique est suivie d’observations individuelles de la formation et des compétences. La formation est dispensée par des orthophonistes qui ont suivi la formation de formateurs « TOR-BSST© Training for the SLP Dysphagia Expert ».

Voir The Swallowing Lab (https://swallowinglab.com/tor-bsst/) pour plus de détails.

Équipement :

Le TOR-BSST© est un formulaire d’une page recto verso qui comprend des instructions normalisées pour l’administration.

Pertinence de l’évaluation selon la clientèle

Peut être utilisé avec :

  • Le TOR-BSST© convient aux personnes ayant subi un AVC dans tout le continuum des phases de récupération post-AVC (Martino et al., 2009).
  • Le TOR-BSST© est en cours de validation pour l’utilisation auprès de patients gravement malades qui ont subi une intubation prolongée et qui peuvent être à risque de problèmes de déglutition.

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec:

  • Suite à un AVC, les patients doivent être évalués et pris en charge conformément aux lignes directrices des meilleures pratiques en matière de dysphagie. Le TOR-BSST© ne doit pas être utilisé chez les personnes dont la vigilance ou les facultés cognitives sont diminuées ou chez celles qui sont nourries par sonde. Les patients qui sont nourris par sonde ont déjà été identifiés comme présentant de la dysphagie et devraient donc être référés à un orthophoniste pour une évaluation et une prise en charge complètes.

Langues de la mesure

  • Anglais
  • Français
  • Chinois
  • Allemand
  • Italien
  • Portugais (Brésil)

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? Risques de dysphagie suite à un AVC.
Avec quelles clientèles l’outil peut-il être utilisé ? Le TOR-BSST© a été développé pour les personnes ayant subi un AVC dans tout le continuum des phases de récupération post-AVC.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Outil de dépistage.
Temps d’administration Dix minutes.
Versions Il existe une version du TOR-BSST©.
Langues Anglais, Français, Chinois, Allemand, Italien et Portugais (Brésil).
Propriétés psychométriquesl
Fidélité Cohérence interne :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la cohérence interne du TOR-BSST©.

Test-retest :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité test-retest du TOR-BSST©.

Intra-juge :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité intra-juge du TOR-BSST©.

Inter-juges :
Deux études ont relevé une excellente fidélité inter-juges du TOR-BSST©.

Validité Contenu :
L’élaboration du TOR-BSST© a nécessité la génération d’items à partir d’un examen systématique et d’une réduction subséquente des items, en combinaison avec une consultation avec des orthophonistes experts.

Critère :
Concourante :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité concourante du TOR-BSST©.

Prédictive :
Une étude a mené un essai diagnostique contrôlée et randomisée du TOR-BSST© en comparaison avec un examen par vidéofluoroscopie.

Construit :
Convergente/discriminante :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité convergente ou discriminante du TOR-BSST©.

Groupes connus :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité de groupes connus du TOR-BSST©.

Effets plancher / plafond N/A
Est-ce que l’outil peut détecter un changement chez un patient? Le TOR-BSST© est conçu comme un test de dépistage et évalué à l’aide de réponses binaires ; il n’est donc pas destiné à détecter les changements.
Acceptabilité – Le TOR-BSST© est rapide à administrer.
– Le TOR-BSST© nécessite une formation spécialisée.
Faisabilité Le TOR-BSST© convient à l’administration dans les établissements de soins aigus et de réadaptation. L’outil de dépistage est facilement transportable et rapide à administrer, à coter et à interpréter.
Comment se procurer l’outil ? Cliquer ici pour recevoir plus d’informations au sujet du TOR-BSST© (en anglais seulement).

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Le TOR-BSST© a été développé et validé par le Dr Martino du Laboratoire sur la déglutition, University Health Network, Université de Toronto.

Une revue de la littérature a été menée afin de répertorier toutes les publications pertinentes relatives aux propriétés psychométriques du TOR-BSST©. Quatre études ont été identifiées.

Effets plancher/plafond

Le TOR-BSST© est un test de dépistage à 5 items pour déterminer le risque de dysphagie. Le dépistage cesse immédiatement en cas d’échec de l’évaluation de l’un des items.

Fidélité

Cohérence interne :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la cohérence interne du TOR-BSST©.

Test-retest :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité test-retest du TOR-BSST©.

Intra-juge :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité intra-juge du TOR-BSST©.

Inter-juges :
Martino et al. (2009) ont établi la fidélité inter-juges du TOR-BSST© auprès des 50 premiers patients ayant subi un AVC recrutés, en utilisant les coefficients de corrélation intraclasse (CCI) et les intervalles de confiance (IC) à 95 %. Les résultats indiquent une excellente fidélité inter-juges (ICC=0,92 ; CI allant de 0,85 à 0,96).

Martino et al. (2006) ont examiné la fidélité inter-juges sur 24 heures du score total du dépistage et des items du TOR-BSST©, en utilisant les statistiques kappa, auprès d’un échantillon de 286 patients ayant subi un AVC (composé de 78 patients en phase aiguë et de 208 patients en phase subaiguë ou chronique de récupération post-AVC). Les résultats ont indiqué une fidélité modérée pour le score total, avec une fidélité plus élevée tôt après la formation (k = 0,90). La fidélité des items variait de faible à adéquate ; l’item Avaler de l’eau (comprenant les deux items Essai avec 50 ml d’eau et la Tasse à petite gorgée) s’est avéré le plus fiable (k = 0,82 ; IC 0,66-0,98).

Validité

Contenu :

La génération initiale des items du TOR-BSST© est le résultat d’une revue systématique de l’exactitude et des avantages des tests non invasifs de dépistage de la dysphagie au chevet du patient (voir Martino, Pron & Diamant, 2000). Deux items se sont révélés être des prédicteurs précis de la dysphagie par évaluation par vidéofluroscopie de l’aspiration, et deux autres ont été jugés prometteurs (quoique incohérents) en termes de capacité prédictive :

  1. Dysphonie/toux pendant l’essai de déglutition avec 50 ml d’eau
  2. Sensation pharyngée altérée
  3. Diminution du mouvement de la langue
  4. Dysphonie générale – voix avant ou après la prise d’eau

Le dernier item, la dysphonie générale, a été défini comme deux sous-éléments (voix avant, voix après).

Le nombre d’items a ensuite été réduit en comparant les résultats positifs des cinq items avec le score total. L’item Avaler de l’eau a contribué pour 25 % au score positif total, ce qui indique qu’il s’agit de l’item le plus fréquent pour identifier la dysphagie. L’item Mouvements de la langue a contribué pour 8 % au score total positif. Les autres items ont contribué pour moins de 5 % chacun au score total positif et ont donc été éliminés après examen de leur application pratique, tel que déterminé par des orthophonistes experts. Ces cliniciens experts ont considéré que l’item Sensation pharyngée n’était pas pratique en raison de la difficulté de faire la distinction avec un réflexe nauséeux en milieu clinique.

Martino et al. (2014) ont effectué une analyse descriptive des items auprès de l’échantillon initial de 311 patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC ou admis en réadaptation post-AVC. Le TOR-BSST© a été alors administré par des infirmières qualifiées. Les items ont été éliminés individuellement pour évaluer l’impact de chaque item sur le score total. Les résultats ont démontré que l’item Avaler de l’eau contribuait le plus significativement à l’identification de la dysphagie, identifiant 42,7% des patients en phase aiguë de récupération et 29,0% des patients admis en réadaptation post-AVC.

Critère :

Concourante :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité concourante du TOR-BSST©.

Prédictive :
Martino et al. (2009) ont examiné la validité prédictive du TOR-BSST© en comparaison avec un examen par vidéofluoroscopie de la déglutition (utilisé comme étalon de mesure), et en identifiant toute physiologie anormale de la déglutition, y compris tous les niveaux de sévérité. L’étude diagnostique contrôlée randomisée comprenait quatre orthophonistes à l’aveugle et 68 patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC, ou admis en réadaptation post-AVC. Neuf participants ayant subi un AVC ont été éliminés lorsque les évaluations du TOR-BSST© et de l’examen par vidéofluoroscopie ont été effectuées à plus de 24 heures d’intervalle, conformément aux critères définis pour le recrutement. L’examen par vidéofluoroscopie a été utilisé pour confirmer les résultats obtenus par le dépistage effectué par le TOR-BSST© ; les cliniciens ont évalué les images de l’examen par vidéofluoroscopie selon trois échelles normalisées : (1) la Penetration Aspiration Scale; (2) le sous-score de dysphagie de la Mann Assessment of Swallowing Ability (MASA) ; et (3) le sous-score d’aspiration du MASA. Sur l’ensemble de l’échantillon de patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC ou admis en réadaptation post-AVC, les résultats ont démontré que 61 % (n = 36) des patients ne présentaient pas de dysphagie, contre 39 % (n = 23) avec dysphagie. Ces résultats indiquent une grande précision dans la prédiction de la dysphagie à l’aide du TOR-BSST©, où la dysphagie est définie par aspiration et/ou anomalie physiologique selon l’examen par vidéofluoroscopie.

Construit :

Convergente/Discriminante :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité convergente ou discriminante du TOR-BSST©.

Groupes connus :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité de groupes connus du TOR-BSST©.

Sensibilité et spécificité :

Martino et al. (2009) ont examiné la sensibilité du TOR-BSST© en comparaison avec un examen par vidéofluoroscopie de la déglutition auprès de 68 patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC ou admis en réadaptation post-AVC. Neuf participants ayant subi un AVC ont été éliminés lorsque les évaluations du TOR-BSST© et de l’examen par vidéofluoroscopie ont été effectuées à plus de 24 heures d’intervalle. Le TOR-BSST a démontré une sensibilité de 91,3 % (IC, 71,9 – 98,7) et une spécificité de 66,7 % (IC, 49,0 – 81,4) chez tous les patients. La sensibilité et la spécificité étaient de 96,3 % et 63,6 % (respectivement) chez les patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC, et de 80,0 % et 68,0 % (respectivement) chez les patients admis en réadaptation post-AVC. Le TOR-BSST© a démontré une valeur prédictive négative élevée de 93,3 % et 89,5 %, respectivement chez les participants en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC et ceux en réadaptation post-AVC.

Martino et al. (2014) ont effectué l’analyse de la sensibilité du TOR-BSST© auprès de l’échantillon initial de 311 patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC ou admis en réadaptation post-AVC. Le TOR-BSST© a été administré par des infirmières formées en utilisant 10 cuillères à thé standard d’eau dans une tasse à petite gorgée. Un dépistage positif a été observé chez 59,2 % des patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC (n = 103) et 38,5 % des patients admis en réadaptation post-AVC (n = 208).

Martino et al. (2014) ont examiné plus en détail la sensibilité du TOR-BSST© lors de la modification de l’administration en fonction du volume d’eau absorbé. En utilisant l’échantillon original de Martino et al. (2009), la sensibilité a été examinée lors de l’administration de 1 à 10 cuillères à thé d’eau afin de déterminer le seuil acceptable pour identifier la dysphagie. Parmi tous les participants (n=311), la sensibilité variait de modérée à excellente pour 5, 8 et 10 cuillerées à thé d’eau (respectivement, pour 79 %, 92 % et 96 %). Chez les patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC ou admis en réadaptation post-AVC, la sensibilité était de 84 % et 75 % (respectivement) pour 5 cuillerées à thé d’eau, de 93 % et 92 % (respectivement) pour 8 cuillerées à thé d’eau, et de 95 % et 97 % (respectivement) pour 10 cuillerées à thé d’eau. Les résultats indiquent une plus grande précision lors de l’administration de 10 x 5 ml cuillères à thé d’eau, conformément aux lignes directrices d’évaluation initiales.

Références

  • Martino, R., Maki, E., & Diamant, N. (2014). Identification of dysphagia using the Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©): are 10 teaspoons of water necessary? International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 16(3), 193-8. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24833425
  • Martino, R., Nicholson, G., Bayley, M., Teasell, R., Silver, F., & Diamant, N. (2006). Interrater reliability of the Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST©) [Abstract]. Dysphagia, 21(4), 287-334. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00455-006-9044-5
  • Martino, R., Pron, G., & Diamant, N. (2000). Screening for oropharyngeal dysphagia in stroke: insufficient evidence for guidelines. Dysphagia, 15, 19-30. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10594255
  • Martino, R., Silver, F., Teasell, R., Bayley, M., Nicholson, G., Streiner, D.L., & Diamant, N.E. (2009). The Toronto Bedside Swallowing Screening Test (TOR-BSST): Development and validation of a dysphagia screening tool for patients with stroke. Stroke, 40, 555-61. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19074483

Voir la mesure

Comment obtenir le TOR-BSST© ?

Cliquer ici pour recevoir plus d’informations au sujet du TOR-BSST© (en anglais seulement).

Autres mesures de la dysphagie :

Évaluations instrumentales :

  • Examen par vidéofluoroscopie de la déglutition (utilisé comme étalon de mesure)
  • Évaluation par fibre optique de la déglutition
  • Rosenbeck’s Penetration Aspiration Scale

Évaluations cliniques au chevet du patient :

  • The Modified Mann Assessment of Swallowing Ability (Modified MASA)

Outils de dépistage :

  • Massey Bedside Swallowing Screen Volume-Viscosity Swallowing Test (Clave et al., 2008)
  • The Gugging Swallowing Screen (GUSS) (Trapl et al., 2007)
Table des matières
Aidez-nous à nous améliorer