Trail Making Test (TMT)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 22-04-2012
Author(s): Katie Marvin, MSc. PT
Editor(s): Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT; Annabel McDermott, OT

Purpose

The Trail Making Test (TMT) is a widely used test to assess executive function in patients with stroke. Successful performance of the TMT requires a variety of mental abilities including letter and number recognition mental flexibility, visual scanning, and motor function.

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The Trail Making Test (TMT) is a widely used test to assess executive abilities in patients with stroke. Successful performance of the TMT requires a variety of mental abilities including letter and number recognition mental flexibility, visual scanning, and motor function.

Performance is evaluated using two different visual conceptual and visuomotor tracking conditions: Part A involves connecting numbers 1-25 in ascending order; and Part B involves connecting numbers and letters in an alternating and ascending fashion.

Available versions

The TMT was originally included as a component of the Army Individual Test Battery and is also a part of the Halstead-Reitan Neuropsychological Test Battery (HNTB).

Features of the measure

Description of tasks:

The TMT is comprised of 2 tasks – Part A and B:

  • Part A: Consists of 25 circles numbered from 1 to 25 randomly distributed over a page of letter size paper. The participant is required to connect the circles with a pencil as quickly as possible in numerical sequence beginning with the number 1.
  • Part B: Consists of 25 circles numbered 1 to 13 and lettered A to L, randomly distributed over a page of paper. The participant is required to connect the circles with a pencil as quickly as possible, but alternating between numbers and letters and taking both series in ascending sequence (i.e. 1, A, 2, B, 3, C…).

What to consider before beginning:

  • The TMT requires relatively intact motor abilities (i.e. ability to hold and maneuver a pen or pencil, ability to move the upper extremity. The Oral TMT may be a more appropriate version to use if the examiner considers that the participant’s motor ability may impact his/her performance.
  • Cultural and linguistic variables may impact performance and affect scores.

Scoring and Score Interpretation:

Performance is evaluated using two different visual conceptual and visuomotor tracking conditions: Part A involves connecting numbers 1-25 in ascending order; and Part B involves connecting numbers and letters in an alternating and ascending fashion.

Time taken to complete each task and number of errors made during each task are recorded and compared with normative data. Time to complete the task is recorded in seconds, whereby the greater the number of seconds, the greater the impairment.

In some reported methods of administration, the examiner pointed out and explained mistakes during the administration.

A maximum time of 5 minutes is typically allowed for Part B. Participants who are unable to complete Part B within 5 minutes are given a score of 300 or 301 seconds. Performance on Part B has not been found to yield any more information on stroke severity than performance on Part A (Tamez et al., 2011).

Ranges and Cut-Off Scores
Normal Brain-damage
TMT Part A 1-39 seconds 40 or more seconds
TMT Part B 1-91 92 or more seconds

Adapted from Reitan (1958) as cited in Matarazzo, Wiens, Matarazzo & Goldstein (1974).

Time:

Approximately 5 to 10 minutes

Training requirements:

No training requirements have been reported.

Equipment:

  • A copy of the measure
  • Pencil or pen
  • Stopwatch

Alternative versions of the Trail Making Test

  • Color Trails (D’Elia et al., 1996)
  • Comprehensive Trail Making Test (Reynolds, 2002)
  • Delis-Kaplan Executive Function Scale (D-KEFS) – includes subtests modeled after the TMT
  • Oral TMT – an alternative for patients with motor deficits or visual impairments (Ricker & Axelrod, 1994).
  • Repeat testing – alternate forms have been developed for repeat testing purposes (Franzen et al., 1996; Lewis & Rennick, 1979)
  • Symbol Trail Making Test – developed as an alternative to the Arabic version of the TMT, for populations with no familiarity with the Arabic numerical system (Barncord & Wanlass, 2001)

Client suitability

Can be used with:

Patients with stroke and brain damage.

Should not be used with:

Patients with motor deficiencies. If motor ability may impact performance, consider using the Oral TMT.

In what languages is the measure available?

Arabic, Chinese and Hebrew

Summary

What does the tool measure? Executive function in patients with stroke.
What types of clients can the tool be used for? The TMT can be used with, but is not limited to, patients with stroke.
Is this a screening or assessment tool? Assessment tool
Time to administer The TMT takes approximately 5 to 10 minutes to administer.
Versions
  • Color Trails
  • Comprehensive Trail Making Test
  • Delis-Kaplan Executive Function Scale (D-KEFS)
  • Oral TMT
  • Repeat testing – alternate forms have been developed for repeat testing purposes
  • Symbol Trail Making Test
Other Languages Arabic, Chinese and Hebrew
Measurement Properties
Reliability

Test-retest:

Two studies examined the test-retest reliability of the TMT among patients with stroke and found adequate to excellent test-retest reliability.

Validity

Content:

One study examined the content validity of the TMT and found it to be a complex test that involves aspects of abstraction, visual scanning and attention.

Criterion:

Predictive:

Several studies have examined the predictive validity of the TMT and have found Part B to be predictive of fitness to drive following stroke.

Construct:

Convergent:

One study examined the convergent validity of the TMT and found poor to adequate correlations with the Category Test, Wisconsin Card Sort Test, Paced Auditory Serial Addition Task and the Visual Search and Attention Test.

Known groups:

Three studies have examined the known groups validity of the TMT and found that the TMT was able to differentiate between patients with and without brain damage however, it was not sensitive to differentiating between front and non-frontal brain damage.

Floor/Ceiling Effects One study found Part A of the TMT to have significant ceiling effects.
Does the tool detect change in patients? The responsiveness of the TMT has not formally been studied, however the TMT has been used to detect changes in a clinical trial with patients with stroke.
Acceptability The TMT is simple and easy to administer.
Feasibility The TMT is relatively inexpensive and highly portable. The TMT is public domain and can be reproduced without permission. It can be administered by individuals with minimal training in cognitive assessment.
How to obtain the tool? The Trail Making Test (TMT) can be purchased from: http://www.reitanlabs.com

Psychometric Properties

Overview

A literature search was conducted to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the Trail Making Test (TMT) involving patients with stroke.

Floor/Ceiling Effects

In a study by Mazer, Korner-Bitensky and Sofer (1989) that investigated the ability of perceptual testing to predict on-road driving outcomes in patients with stroke, part A of the TMT was found to have significant ceiling effects. For this reason, Part A was excluded from study results as it was deemed too easy for participants when evaluating the ability of the TMT to predict on-road driving test outcomes. No ceiling effects for part B were found.

Reliability

Internal consistency:

No studies were identified examining the internal consistency of the TMT in patients with stroke.

Test-retest:

Matarazzo, Wiens, Matarazzo and Goldstein (1974) examined the test-retest reliability of the TMT and other components of the Halstead Impairment Index with 29 healthy males and 16 60-year old patients with diffuse cerebrovascular disease. Adequate test-retest reliability was found for both Part A and Part B of the TMT in the healthy control group (r=0.46 and 0.44 respectively), as calculated using Pearson correlation coefficients. Excellent and adequate test-retest reliability was found for Part A and Part B of the TMT respectively (r=0.78 and 0.67), among participants with diffuse cerebrovascular disease.

Goldstein and Watson (1989) investigated the test-retest reliability of the TMT as a part of the Halstead- Reitan Battery in a sample of 150 neuropsychiatric patients, including patients with stroke. Test-retest correlations were calculated using Pearson Correlation Coefficients for the entire sample and for the sub-group of patients with stroke. Excellent test-retest reliability for both Part A and Part B were found (0.94 and 0.86 respectively) in the sub-group of patients with stroke; and adequate reliability for the entire participant sample (0.69 and 0.66 respectively).

Intra-rater:

No studies were identified examining the intra-rater reliability of the TMT in patients with stroke.

Inter-rater:

No studies were identified examining the inter-rater reliability of the TMT in patients with stroke.

Validity

Content:

O’Donnell, MacGregor, Dabrowski, Oestreicher & Romero (1994) examined the face validity of the TMT in a sample of 117 community-dwelling patients, including patients with stroke. The results suggest that the TMT is a complex test that involves aspects of abstraction, visual scanning and attention.

Criterion:

Concurrent:

No studies were identified examining the concurrent validity of the TMT.

Predictive:

Mazer, Korner-Bitensky and Sofer (1998) examined the ability of the TMT and other measures of perceptual function to predict on-road driving test outcomes in 84 patients with subacute stroke. For Part B of the TMT, a cut-off score of < 3 errors demonstrated high positive predictive value (85%) and low negative predictive value (48%) for successful completion of driving evaluation. The Motor Free Visual Perception Test (MFVP) and the TMT Part B, when combined, demonstrated the highest predictive value for on-road driving test outcome. Participants who scored poorly on both the MFVP and TMT Part B had 22 times the likelihood of failing the on-road evaluation.

Devos, Akinwuntan & Nieuwboer (2011) conducted a systematic review to identify the best determinants of fitness to drive following stroke. The TMT Part B was evaluated in 2 studies (Mazer et al., 1998 and Mazer et al., 2003) and found to be one of the best predictors of passing on-road driving evaluation tests (effect size = 0.81, p<0.0001). In addition, when using a cutoff score of 90 seconds, the TMT Part B had a sensitivity of 80% and a specificity of 62% for detecting unsafe on-road performance. In a subsequent systematic review by Marshall et al. (2007), the TMT was, again, found to be one of the most useful predictors of fitness for driving post-stroke.

Construct:

Convergent/Discriminant:

O’Donnell et al. (1994) examined the convergent validity of the TMT and four other neuropsychological tests: Category Test (CAT), Wisconsin Card Sort Test (WCST), Paced Auditory Serial Addition Task (PASAT), and Visual Search and Attention Test (VSAT). The study involved 117 community-dwelling adults, including patients with stroke. Poor to adequate correlations were found between the TMT and the other measures (CAT r=0.38; WCST r=0.31; PASAT r=0.44; VAST r=0.30), using Pearson product-moment correlations.

Known groups:

Reitan (1955) examined the ability of the TMT to differentiate between patients with and without organic brain damage, including patients with stroke. Highly significant differences in mean and sum scores were found between the two groups (p<0.001) on both parts of the TMT, suggesting that the TMT is able to different between patients with and without brain damage.

Corrigan and Hinkeldey (1987) examined the relationship between Part A and Part B of the TMT. Data was collected from the charts of 497 patients receiving treatment at a rehabilitation centre. Patients with traumatic brain injury and stroke comprised a large majority of the sample. A difference (B-A) and a ratio (B/A) score were calculated. The difference score was highly correlated with intelligence and severity of impairment and only moderately correlated with age, education and memory functioning. The B/A ratio appeared to show greatest sensitivity to differences in cerebral lateralization of damage.

Tamez et al. (2011) examined the effects of frontal versus non-frontal stroke and severity of stroke on TMT performance in 689 patients with stroke. The TMT, Digit Span and National Institute of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS) were administered within 72 hours of hospital admission. Stroke severity was classified according to the NIHSS, and frontal or non-frontal lesions by CT or MRI scans. Performance on both Part A and Part B of the TMT were significantly correlated with stroke severity using the NIHSS. Patients with frontal and non-frontal lesions were found to score equally on Part A and Part B (p>0.05). Results of this study suggest that the TMT is sensitive to brain damage, however, there is little evidence to support the widely held assumption that Trails B is more sensitive to frontal lesions than Part A.

Sensitivity/ Specificity:

No studies were identified examining the specificity of the TMT in patients with stroke.

Responsiveness

Barker-Collo, Feigin, Lawes, Senior and Parag (2000) assessed the course of recovery of attention span in 43 patients with acute stroke over a 6-month period. The TMT and other measures of attention were administered at baseline (within 4 weeks following stroke onset), 6 weeks, and 6 months after stroke. Although the responsiveness of the TMT was not formally assessed in this study, the scale was sensitive enough to detect an improvement in attention at 6 weeks and 6 months following stroke.

References

  • Barker-Collo, S., Feigin, V., Lawes, C., Senior, H., & Parag, V. (2010). Natural history of attention deficits and their influence on functional recovery from acute stages to 6 months after stroke.Neuroepidemiology, 35(4), 255-262.
  • Barncord, S.W. & Wanlass, R.L. (2001). The Symbol Trail Making Test: Test development and utility as a measure of cognitive impairment. Applied Neuropsychology, 8, 99-103
  • Corrigan, J. D. & Hinkeldey, N. S. (1987). Relationships between Parts A and B of the Trail Making Test. Journal of Clinical Psychology, 43(4), 402-409.
  • D’Elia, L.F., Satz, P., Uchiyama, C.I. & White, T. (1996). Color Trails Test. Odessa, Fla.:PAR.
  • Devos, H., Akinwuntan, A. E., Nieuwboer, A., Truijen, S., Tant, M., & De Weerdt, W. Screening for fitness to drive after stroke: a systematic review and meta-analysis.Neurology, 76(8), 747-756.
  • Elkin-Frankston, S., Lebowitz, B.K., Kapust, L.R., Hollis, A.M., & O’Connor, M.G. (2007). The use of the Colour Trails Test in the assessment of driver competence: Preliminary reports of a culture-fair instrument. Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology, 22, 631-635.
  • Goldstein, G. & Watson, J.R. (1989). Test-retest reliability of the Halstead-Reitan Battery and the WAIS in a Neuropsychiatric Population. The Clinical Neuropsychologist, 3(3), 265-273.
  • O’Donnell, J.P., Macgregor, L.A., Dabrowski, J.J., Oestreicher, J.M., & Romero, J.J. (1994). Construct validity of neuropsychological tests of conceptual and attentional abilities. Journal of Clinical Psychology, 50(4), 596-560.
  • Mark, V. W., Woods, A. J., Mennemeier, M., Abbas, S., & Taub, E. Cognitive assessment for CI therapy in the outpatient clinic.Neurorehabilitation, 21(2), 139-146.
  • Marshall, S.C., Molnar, F., Man-Son-Hing, M., Blair, R., Brosseau, L., Finestone, H.M., Lamothe, C, Korner-Bitensky, N., & Wilson, K. (2007). Predictors of driving ability following stroke: A systematic review. Topics in Stroke Rehabilitation, 14(1):98-114.
  • Matarazzo, J.D., Wiens, A.N., Matarazzo, R.G., & Goldstein, S.G. (1974). Psychometric and clinical test-retest reliability of the Halstead Impairment Index in a sample of healthy, young, normal men. The Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease, 188(1), 37-49.
  • Mazer, B.L., Korner-Bitensky, N.A., & Sofer, S. (1998). Predicting ability to drive after stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 79, 743-750.
  • Mazer, B.L., Sofer, S., Korner-Bitensky, N., Gelinas, I., Hanley, J. & Wood-Dauphinee, S. (2003). Effectiveness of a visual attention retraining program on the driving performance of clients with stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 84, 541-550.
  • Reitan, R.M. (1955). The relation of the Trail Making Test to organic brain damage. Journal of Consulting Psychology, 19(5), 393-394.
  • Reynolds, C. (2002). Comprehensive Trail Making Test. Austin, Tex,: Pro-Ed.
  • Ricker, J.H. & Axelrod, B.N. (1994). Analysis of an oral paradigm for the Trail Making Test. Assessment, 1, 47-51.
  • Strauss, E., Sherman, E.M.S., & Spreen, O. (2006).A Compendium of neuropsychological tests: Administration, norms, and commentary.(3rd. ed.).NY. Oxford University Press.
  • Tamez, E., Myersona, J., Morrisb, L., Whitea, D. A., Baum C., & Connor, L. T. (2011). Assessing executive abilities following acute stroke with the trail making test and digit span.Behavioural Neurology, 24(3), 177-185.

See The Measure

How to obtain the Trail Making Test (TMT)?

The Trail Making Test (TMT) can be purchased from:

Reitan Neuropsychology Laboratory
P.O. Box 66080
Tucson, AZ
85728

http://www.reitanlabs.com

Table of contents
Survey

Trail Making Test (TMT)

Évidence révisées en date du 22-04-2012
Auteur(s)* : Katie Marvin, MSc. PT
Éditeur(s) : Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT ; Annabel McDermott, OT
Version française en traduction libre : Sara Maude Girard, erg

But

Le Trail Making Test (TMT) est une évaluation largement utilisée pour évaluer les fonctions exécutives auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC. L’exécution réussie du TMT exige une variété de capacités mentales incluant la reconnaissance de chiffres et de lettres, la flexibilité mentale, un balayage visuel et des fonctions motrices.

Revue détaillée

But de l’outil

Le Trail Making Test (TMT) est une évaluation largement utilisée pour évaluer les fonctions exécutives auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC. L’exécution réussie du TMT exige une variété de capacités mentales incluant la reconnaissance de chiffres et de lettres, la flexibilité mentale, un balayage visuel et des fonctions motrices.

La performance est évaluée en utilisant deux conditions différentes de concept visuel et de balayage visuo-moteur : la Partie A implique de relier les nombres de 1 à 25 dans l’ordre croissant ; et la Partie B implique de relier les nombres et les lettres, en alternance et en ordre croissant.

Versions disponibles

Le TMT était originellement inclus comme une composante de l’Army Individual Test Battery et fait aussi parti de l’Halstead-Reitan Neuropsychological Test Battery (HNTB).

Caractéristiques de l’outil

Description des tâches :

Le TMT comprend 2 tâches – Partie A et Partie B :

  • Partie A : Consiste en 25 cercles numérotés de 1 à 25 distribués aléatoirement sur feuille de papier format lettre. Le participant doit relier les cercles avec un crayon, aussi rapidement que possible, dans l’ordre croissant en commençant par 1.
  • Partie B : Consiste en 25 cercles numérotés de 1 à 13 et lettrés de A à L, distribués aléatoirement sur une feuille de papier. Le participant doit relier les cercles avec un crayon, aussi rapidement que possible, mais en alternant les chiffres et les lettres, tous deux dans l’ordre croissant (i.e. 1, A, 2, B, 3, C, …)

Que faut-il considérer avant de commencer :

  • Le TMT requiert des capacités motrices relativement intactes (i.e. capacité de tenir et manipuler un crayon, capacité de bouger le membre supérieur). Le TMT verbal pourrait être une version plus appropriée à utiliser si l’examinateur considère que les capacités motrices du participant pourraient avoir un impact sur sa performance.
  • Des variables culturelles et linguistiques peuvent avoir un impact sur la performance et affecter les résultats.

Cotation et interprétation du résultat :

La performance est évaluée en utilisant deux conditions différentes de concept visuel et de balayage visuomoteur : la Partie A implique de relier les nombres de 1 à 25 en ordre croissant ; et la Partie B implique de relier les nombres et les lettres, en alternance et en ordre croissant.

Le temps requis pour compléter chaque tâche et le nombre d’erreurs fait pour chaque tâche sont notés et comparés aux normes. Le temps pour compléter la tâche est noté en secondes, de sorte que plus le nombre de secondes est grand, plus grandes sont les incapacités.

Dans certaines méthodes d’administration rapportées, l’évaluateur pointe et explique les erreurs pendant l’administration.

Un maximum de 5 minutes est généralement alloué pour la Partie B. Un résultat de 300 ou 301 secondes est attribué aux participants qui sont incapable de compléter la Partie B en 5 minutes. La performance à la Partie B n’a pas révélé plus d’informations quant à la sévérité de l’AVC que la performance à la Partie A (Tamez et al., 2011).

Étendues et seuils limites de cotation
Normal Lésion au cerveau
TMT Partie A 1-39 secondes 40 secondes ou plus
TMT Partie B 1-91 92 secondes ou plus

Adapté de Reitan (1958) tel que cité dans Matarazzo, Wiens, Matarazzo & Goldstein (1974).

Temps d’administration requis ;

Approximativement 5 à 10 minutes

Formation requise :

Aucun prérequis de formation n’a été rapporté.

Équipement:

  • Une copie de l’outil de mesure
  • Crayon ou stylo
  • Chronomètre

Versions alternatives du Trail Making Test

  • Color Trails (D’Elia et al., 1996)
  • Trail Making Test Complet (Reynolds, 2002)
  • Delis-Kaplan Executive Function Scale (D-KEFS) – inclus des sous-tests basés sur le TMT
  • Oral TMT – une version alternative pour les patients qui ont des déficits moteurs ou incapacités visuels (Ricker & Axelrod, 1994).
  • Repeat testing – des formes alternatives ont été développés dans le but d’évaluations répétées (Franzen et al., 1996; Lewis & Rennick, 1979)
  • Symbol Trail Making Test – développé comme alternative à la version Arabe du TMT, pour les populations qui ne sont pas familières avec le système numérique Arabe (Barncord & Wanlass, 2001)

Clientèle cible

Peut être utilisé avec:

  • Patients ayant subi un AVC ou lésion au cerveau.

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec:

  • Patients avec déficiences motrices. Si les capacités motrices peuvent avoir un impact sur la performance, l’Oral TMT devrait être utilisé.

Dans quelles langues l’outil est-il disponible ?

Arabe, Chinois et Hébreu

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? Les fonctions exécutives chez les patients ayant subi un AVC.
Pour quelles clientèles cet outil peut-il être utilisé ? Le TMT peut être utilisé auprès, mais n’est pas limité aux patients ayant subi un AVC.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Évaluation
Temps d’administration requis Le TMT prend environ 5 à 10 minutes à administrer.
Versions
  • Color Trails
  • Comprehensive Trail Making Test
  • Delis-Kaplan Executive Function Scale (D-KEFS)
  • Oral TMT
  • Repeat testing – des formes alternatives ont été développées à des fins d’évaluations répétées
  • Symbol Trail Making Test
Langues Arabe, Chinois et Hébreu
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité Test-retest :
Deux études ont examiné la fidélité test-retest du TMT auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC et ont relevé une fidélité allant d’adéquate à excellente.
Validity Contenu :
Une étude a examiné la validité de contenu du TMT et a conclu qu’il est un test complexe qui implique divers aspects de l’abstraction, du balayage visuel et de l’attention.

Critère :
Prédictive :
Plusieurs études ont examiné la validité prédictive du TMT et ont relevé que la Partie B est plus prédictive des capacités de conduire suite à un AVC.

Construit :
Convergente :
Une étude a examiné la validité convergente du TMT et a relevé des corrélations allant de faibles à adéquates avec le Category Test, le Wisconsin Card Sort Test, la Paced Auditory Serial Addition Task et le Visual Search and Attention Test.

Groupes connus :
Trois études ont examiné la validité de groupes connus du TMT et ont relevé que le TMT était capable de différencier entre des patients ayant subi ou non des lésions au cerveau, toutefois, il ne s’est pas avéré sensible pour différencier les lésions cérébrales frontales des lésions cérébrales non-frontales.

Effets plancher/plafond Une étude a démontré que la Partie A du TMT présentait des effets de plafond significatifs.
Est-ce que l’outil est sensible aux changements ? La sensibilité au changement du TMT n’a pas été étudiée formellement, toutefois, le TMT a été utilisé pour détecter les changements dans un essai clinique avec des patients ayant subi un AVC.
Acceptabilité Le TMT est simple et facile à administrer.
Faisabilité Le TMT est relativement peu dispendieux et facilement transportable. Le TMT fait partie du domaine public et peut donc être reproduit sans permission. Il peut être administré par des individus ayant une formation minimale en évaluation cognitive.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? Le Trail Making Test (TMT) peut être commandé: http://www.reitanlabs.com

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Une revue de littérature a été menée pour identifier toutes les publications pertinentes au sujet des propriétés psychométriques du Trail Making Test (TMT) auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Effets plancher/plafond

Une étude menée par Mazer, Korner-Bitensky et Sofer (1989) a examiné la capacité des évaluations de la perception de prédire les résultats concernant la conduite automobile sur route auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC. Les auteurs ont relevé que la Partie A du TMT présentait des effets de plafond significatifs. Pour cette raison, la Partie A a été exclue des résultats de l’étude, car elle a été jugée trop facile pour les participants lors de l’évaluation de la capacité du TMT de prédire les résultats des tests de conduite sur route. Aucun effet de plafond n’a été constaté pour la Partie B.

Fidélité

Cohérence interne :
Aucune étude n’examiné la cohérence interne du TMT auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Test-retest :
Matarazzo, Wiens, Matarazzo et Goldstein (1974) ont examiné la fidélité test-retest du TMT et d’autres composantes de l’Halstead Impairment Index auprès de 29 hommes en bonne santé et de 16 patients âgés de 60 ans atteints d’une maladie cérébro-vasculaire diffuse. La fidélité test-retest a été jugée adéquate pour la partie A et la partie B du TMT dans le groupe témoin sain (respectivement, r=0,46 et 0,44), telle que calculée à l’aide des coefficients de corrélation de Pearson. Une excellente et adéquate fidélité test-retest a été relevé, respectivement pour la partie A et la partie B du TMT (r=0,78 et 0,67), dans le groupe de participants atteints d’une maladie cérébro-vasculaire diffuse.

Goldstein et Watson (1989) ont examiné la fidélité test-retest du TMT comme une composante de l’Halstead- Reitan Battery auprès d’un échantillon de 150 patients neuropsychiatriques, dont des patients ayant subi un AVC. Les corrélations test-retest ont été calculées en utilisant les coefficients de corrélation de Pearson pour l’ensemble de l’échantillon et pour le sous-groupe de patients ayant subi un AVC. Une excellente fidélité de test-retest a été relevé pour les parties A et B (respectivement, 0,94 et 0,86) dans le sous-groupe de patients ayant subi un AVC, et une fidélité adéquate a été constaté pour l’ensemble de l’échantillon de participants (respectivement, 0,69 et 0,66).

Intra-juge :
Aucune étude n’examiné la fidélité intra-juge du TMT auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Inter-juges :
Aucune étude n’examiné la fidélité inter-juges du TMT auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Validité

Contenu :

O’Donnell, MacGregor, Dabrowski, Oestreicher & Romero (1994) ont examiné la validité apparente du TMT auprès d’un échantillon de 117 patients vivant dans le collectivité, incluant des patients ayant subi un AVC. Les résultats suggèrent que le TMT est un test complexe qui implique des aspects de l’abstraction, du balayage visuel et de l’attention.

Critère :

Concourante :
Aucune étude n’examiné la validité concourante du TMT auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Prédictive :
Mazer, Korner-Bitensky et Sofer (1998) ont examiné la capacité du TMT et d’autres mesures de fonctions perceptuelles de prédire les résultats de la conduite automobile sur route auprès de 84 patients en phase subaiguë de récupération post-AVC. Pour la Partie B, le un seuil limite de cotation de <3 erreurs a démontré une forte valeur prédictive positive (85%), et une faible valeur prédictive négative (48%) pour des évaluations de conduite réussies. Le Motor Free Visual Perception Test (MFVP) et la Partie B du TMT, lorsque combinés, ont démontré la plus haute valeur prédictive positive pour le résultat de conduite sur route. Les participants qui ont obtenu un faible résultat à la fois sur le MFVP et sur la Partie B du TMT avaient 22 fois plus de risque d’échouer à l’évaluation sur route.

Devos, Akinwuntan & Nieuwboer (2011) ont mené une revue systématique pour identifier les meilleurs déterminants de l’aptitude à conduire suivant un AVC. La Partie B du TMT a été évalué dans 2 études (Mazer et al., 1998 et Mazer et al., 2003) et s’est avérée un des meilleurs prédicteurs de succès aux évaluations de conduite sur route (ampleur de l’effet = 0,81, p<0,0001). De plus, lorsqu’un seuil de temps limite de cotation de 90 secondes a été utilisé, la Partie B du TMT a obtenu une sensibilité de 80% et une spécificité de 62% pour détecter les performances non sécuritaires sur la route. Dans une revue systématique subséquente par Marshall et al. (2007), le TMT s’est de nouveau avéré un des prédicteurs les plus utiles de l’aptitude à conduire suite à un AVC.

Construit :

Convergent/Discriminant :
O’Donnell et al. (1994) ont examiné la validité convergente du TMT et de quatre autres tests neuropsychologiques : la Category Test (CAT), le Wisconsin Card Sort Test (WCST), la Paced Auditory Serial Addition Task (PASAT), et le Visual Search and Attention Test (VSAT). L’étude comptait 117 adultes vivant dans la collectivité, incluant des patients ayant subi un AVC. Des corrélations allant de faibles à adéquates ont été relevées entre le TMT et les autres mesures (CAT r = 0,38, WCST r = 0,31, PASAT r = 0,44, VAST r = 0,30), en utilisant les corrélations produit-moment de Pearson.

Groupes connus :
Reitan (1955) a examiné la capacité du TMT de différencier entre des patients avec et sans dommage cérébraux, incluant des patients ayant subi un AVC. Des différences hautement significatives dans la moyenne et le résultat total sur le TMT ont été relevées entre les deux groupes (p<0,001) pour les deux Parties du TMT, suggérant que le TMT est capable de différencier les patients avec ou sans dommages cérébraux.

Corrigan et Hinkeldey (1987) ont examiné relation entre la Partie A et la Partie B du TMT. Les données ont été collectées à partir des dossiers de 497 patients recevant des traitements dans un Centre de réadaptation. Les patients ayant des lésions traumatiques au cerveau et des AVC constituent la majorité de l’échantillon. Les résultats de différence (B-A) et un ratio (B/A) ont été calculés. La différence de résultat a été fortement corrélée avec l’intelligence et la sévérité de l’incapacité, et modérément corrélée avec l’âge, l’éducation et les fonctions de mémoire. Le ratio (B/A) a démontrét une plus grande sensibilité pour différencier le côté de la lésion.

Tamez et al. (2011) ont examiné les effets d’un AVC frontal vs. non-frontal et la sévérité de l’AVC selon la performance sur le TMT auprès de 689 patients ayant subi un AVC. Le TMT, le Digit Span et la National Institute of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS) ont été administrés dans les 72 heures suivant l’admission. La sévérité de l’AVC a été classifiée en fonction de la NIHSS, et les lésions frontales vs. non-frontales en fonction d’un CT scan ou de de l’IRM. La performance, à la fois sur la Partie A et sur la Partie B, corrélait significativement avec la sévérité de l’AVC selon la NIHSS. Les patients ayant une lésion frontale et non frontale ont obtenu des résultats égaux sur la Parties A et B (p>0,05). Les résultats de cette étude suggèrent que le TMT est sensible aux dommages du cerveau, toutefois, ils démontrent peu d’évidences pour étayer l’hypothèse largement répandue selon laquelle la Partie B est plus sensible que la Partie A en présence de lésions frontales.

Sensibilité/ Spécificité :

Aucune étude n’examiné la sensibilité ou la spécificité du TMT auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Sensibilité au changement

Barker-Collo, Feigin, Lawes, Senior et Parag (2000) ont évalué le cours de récupération de la durée d’attention auprès de 43 patients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC sur une période de 6 mois. Le TMT et d’autres mesures de l’attention ont été administrés au départ de l’étude (dans les 4 semaines suivant la survenue de l’AVC), et à 6 semaines et à 6 mois post-AVC. Bien que la sensibilité au changement du TMT n’a pas été formellement évaluée dans cette étude, l’échelle s’est avérée suffisamment sensible pour détecter une amélioration de l’attention à 6 semaines et à 6 mois suivant l’AVC.

Références

  • Barker-Collo, S., Feigin, V., Lawes, C., Senior, H., & Parag, V. (2010). Natural history of attention deficits and their influence on functional recovery from acute stages to 6 months after stroke.Neuroepidemiology, 35(4), 255-262.
  • Barncord, S.W. & Wanlass, R.L. (2001). The Symbol Trail Making Test: Test development and utility as a measure of cognitive impairment. Applied Neuropsychology, 8, 99-103
  • Corrigan, J. D. & Hinkeldey, N. S. (1987). Relationships between Parts A and B of the Trail Making Test. Journal of Clinical Psychology, 43(4), 402-409.
  • D’Elia, L.F., Satz, P., Uchiyama, C.I. & White, T. (1996). Color Trails Test. Odessa, Fla.:PAR.
  • Devos, H., Akinwuntan, A. E., Nieuwboer, A., Truijen, S., Tant, M., & De Weerdt, W. Screening for fitness to drive after stroke: a systematic review and meta-analysis.Neurology, 76(8), 747-756.
  • Elkin-Frankston, S., Lebowitz, B.K., Kapust, L.R., Hollis, A.M., & O’Connor, M.G. (2007). The use of the Colour Trails Test in the assessment of driver competence: Preliminary reports of a culture-fair instrument. Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology, 22, 631-635.
  • Goldstein, G. & Watson, J.R. (1989). Test-retest reliability of the Halstead-Reitan Battery and the WAIS in a Neuropsychiatric Population. The Clinical Neuropsychologist, 3(3), 265-273.
  • O’Donnell, J.P., Macgregor, L.A., Dabrowski, J.J., Oestreicher, J.M., & Romero, J.J. (1994). Construct validity of neuropsychological tests of conceptual and attentional abilities. Journal of Clinical Psychology, 50(4), 596-560.
  • Mark, V. W., Woods, A. J., Mennemeier, M., Abbas, S., & Taub, E. Cognitive assessment for CI therapy in the outpatient clinic.Neurorehabilitation, 21(2), 139-146.
  • Marshall, S.C., Molnar, F., Man-Son-Hing, M., Blair, R., Brosseau, L., Finestone, H.M., Lamothe, C, Korner-Bitensky, N., & Wilson, K. (2007). Predictors of driving ability following stroke: A systematic review. Topics in Stroke Rehabilitation, 14(1):98-114.
  • Matarazzo, J.D., Wiens, A.N., Matarazzo, R.G., & Goldstein, S.G. (1974). Psychometric and clinical test-retest reliability of the Halstead Impairment Index in a sample of healthy, young, normal men. The Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease, 188(1), 37-49.
  • Mazer, B.L., Korner-Bitensky, N.A., & Sofer, S. (1998). Predicting ability to drive after stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 79, 743-750.
  • Mazer, B.L., Sofer, S., Korner-Bitensky, N., Gelinas, I., Hanley, J. & Wood-Dauphinee, S. (2003). Effectiveness of a visual attention retraining program on the driving performance of clients with stroke. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 84, 541-550.
  • Reitan, R.M. (1955). The relation of the Trail Making Test to organic brain damage. Journal of Consulting Psychology, 19(5), 393-394.
  • Reynolds, C. (2002). Comprehensive Trail Making Test. Austin, Tex,: Pro-Ed.
  • Ricker, J.H. & Axelrod, B.N. (1994). Analysis of an oral paradigm for the Trail Making Test. Assessment, 1, 47-51.
  • Strauss, E., Sherman, E.M.S., & Spreen, O. (2006).A Compendium of neuropsychological tests: Administration, norms, and commentary.(3rd. ed.).NY. Oxford University Press.
  • Tamez, E., Myersona, J., Morrisb, L., Whitea, D. A., Baum C., & Connor, L. T. (2011). Assessing executive abilities following acute stroke with the trail making test and digit span.Behavioural Neurology, 24(3), 177-185.

Voir la mesure

Comment obtenir le Trail Making Test (TMT) ?

Le Trail Making Test (TMT) peut être commandé chez :

Reitan Neuropsychology Laboratory
P.O. Box 66080
Tucson, AZ
85728

http://www.reitanlabs.com

Table des matières
Nous voulons votre avis