Upper Extremity Function Test (UEFT)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 19-04-2013
Author(s): Katie Marvin, MSc. PT
Editor(s): Annabel McDermott; Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT

Purpose

The Upper Extremity Function Test (UEFT) is an evaluative measure to assess upper extremity functional impairment and the severity of impairment in patients exhibiting dysfunction in the upper extremity.

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The Upper Extremity Function Test (UEFT) is an evaluative measure to assess upper extremity functional impairment and the severity of impairment in patients exhibiting dysfunction in the upper extremity. The test assesses function based on the assumption that complex upper extremity movements used in everyday activities are made up of certain movement patterns (e.g. supination/pronation, grasp/release, pinch grip, etc.), so that evaluation of these movement patterns can predict the patient’s ability to perform functional activities. The UEFT was designed primarily to quantify the patient’s ability to execute upper extremity activities of a general nature, and does not take into consideration factors such as skill, speed, range of motion, endurance, sensation etc. The selected list of test items is believed to represent the upper limb movements that are necessary to perform many of the major activities of daily living. The UEFT has not yet been correlated to vocational activities of the upper extremity.

Available versions

The Action Research Arm Test (ARAT) was developed by Ronald Lyle in 1981 by adapting theUpper Extremity Function Test (UEFT)(Carroll, 1965). TheUEFTtest administration and scoring was simplified, the time required to administer the test was shortened, and items were grouped based on the hierarchical scale (Guttman Scale) (Lang, Wagner, Dromerick, & Edwards, 2006). Due to the need for more specific and detailed instructions related to the client’s position, scoring and test administration, Yozbatiran, Der-Yeghiaian, and Cramer (2008) proposed a standardized approach to the ARAT.

Please visit our Action Research Arm Test module for further information.

Features of the measure

Items:

The UEFT consists of 33 items or tasks, detailed below.

Description of tasks:

The patient is positioned comfortably in a chair in front of the table used for testing. The patient is evaluated while performing different tasks, such as moving objects to a shelf, placing objects over a peg, writing their name, etc. The objects are of varying shapes and weights in order to evaluate the patient’s grasp, grip, pinch, placing, arm extension and elevation, pronation and supination, and functional strength.

Please note that the patient is not permitted to move from the chair during testing (unless a break is required), although weight transfer and rolling from side to side of the buttock is permitted. Each arm is tested individually. Demonstration of tasks are permitted (Carroll, 1965)

Scoring and Score Interpretation:

The UEFT uses a simple scoring method where results can be compared at different time intervals.

Scoring:

3 Performs test normally.
2 Completes test, but takes abnormally long time or has great difficulty.
1 Performs test partially. This grade is assigned when the patient is able to pick up or lift the test item from the table but is unable to place the object in its correct end position. For example, in items 27 to 29, the patient is able to lift the pitcher or glass but is unable to pour the water into the proper receptacle.
0 Can perform no part of the test. If the patient pushes objects out of their slots or around on the table a grade of 0 is assigned.

The total score is tallied. The maximum score for the dominant hand is 99 as compared to a maximum score of 96 for the non-dominant hand, because item 33 consists of writing of the patient’s name with the dominant hand.

The authors of the test concluded that a score increase or decrease of 10 points represents a meaningful gain or loss of important function, respectively.

Nearly equal scoring points have been allotted for the two functions prehension’ (grasp, grip and pinch) and placing’ (shoulder stability; shoulder abduction and flexion/extension; elbow flexion/extension; wrist flexion/extension and pronation/supination); as such, both functions need to be intact in order for a high score to be awarded.

Score interpretation:

0 to 25: Trace function
26-50: Very poor
51-75: Poor
76-89: Partial function
90-98: Functional
99 (dominant hand) / 96 (non-dominant hand): Maximal function

Functional Implications of UEFT:

Basmajian et al. (1982) investigated the functional implications of UEFT scores and found the following scores to be indicative of the following patient capabilities:

  • 0: no function
  • 10: holding a book for reading
  • 20: driving
  • 30: carrying objects from place to place
  • 40: dressing
  • 50: feeding
  • 60: shaving/make-up
  • 70: hand crafts
  • 80: fine crafts (needlework, gardening, capentry)
  • 90: card playing
  • 100: letter writing/typing

Adapted from Basmajian, Gowland, Brandstater, Swanson & Trotter (1982).

Time:

The UEFT takes approximately 1 hour to administer (Lyle, 1981).

Training requirements:

None typically reported, however it is recommended that the clinician is familiar with the assessment tool.

Subscales:

None typically reported.

Equipment:

  • 17.5 in. width x 28.5 in. length x 30.75 in. height table
  • 3.75 in. width shelf mounted 14.75 in. from the table
  • Wooden cubes: 4 x 4 x 4in. (576g); 3 x 3 x 3in. (243g); 2 x 2 x 2in. (72g); 1 x 1 x 1 (9g)
  • Large iron pipe: 1.625 O.D. x 6.125in. (500g)
  • Small iron pipe: 0.87 O.D. x 4.125 (125g)
  • Slate: 4.125 x 1 x .375 (61g)
  • Wooden ball: 3 O.D. (100g)
  • Glass marble 0.625 O.D. (6.3g)
  • Metal sphere 0.44 O.D. (6.6g); 0.25 O.D. (1.0g); 0.16 (0.34g)
  • Steel washer 0.16 thick x 1.375 O.D. x 0.56 I.D. (14.5g)
  • Iron 6 lb approximately
  • 2 Plastic tumblers 8 fl. oz
  • Aluminum water pitcher 3 qt capacity
  • Pencil

**O.D. = outside diameter; I.D. = inside diameter

Please refer to Carroll (1965) for further information regarding administration set-up of the UEFT.

Alternative form of the Action Research Arm Test

None typically reported.

Client suitability

Can be used with:

  • Clients with stroke.

Should not be used with:

  • When administering the UEFT to clients with upper extremity amputations, the total score should be adjusted according to the following scale.

Total UEFT Scores for people with amputations:

Wrist: 0
Three fingers: 41
Middle finger: 87
Index finger and 2nd metacarpal: 84
Thumb and metacarpal-phalangeal joint: 91
Index finger at proximal interphalangeal joint: 93

Languages of the measure?

There are no official translations of the UEFT.

Summary

What does the tool measure? The UEFT measures specific changes in upper extremity impairment and function
What types of clients can the tool be used for? The UEFT can be used with, but is not limited to clients with stroke.
Is this a screening or assessment tool? Assessment
Time to administer The UEFT takes approximately 1 hour to administer.
Versions The Action Research Arm Test (ARAT) was developed by Ronald Lyle in 1981 by adapting the Upper Extremity Function Test (Carroll, 1965).
Other Languages There are no official translations.
Measurement Properties
Reliability

Inter-rater reliability:

  • 1 study investigated inter-rater reliability of the UEFT and found strong inter-rater reliability.

Test-retest reliability:

  • 1 study investigated the test-retest reliability of the UEFT and found strong inter-rater reliability in a sample of patients with chronic upper extremity impairment resulting from conditions including stroke.
Validity

Predictive Validity:

  • 1 study examined the predictive validity of the UEFT and found admission UEFT scores to be predictive of discharge UEFT scores.
Floor/Ceiling Effects No studies have examined the floor/ceiling effects of the UEFT.
Does the tool detect change in patients? No studies have formally examined the responsiveness of the UEFT.
Acceptability The UEFT is simple to administer and can be easily administered in a variety of settings (e.g. home or medical office settings).
Feasibility The administration of the UEFT and the ARAT is quick and simple, but requires standardized equipment.
How to obtain the tool? Please refer to the initial validation study by Carroll (1965) for further information on the UEFT.

Psychometric Properties

Overview

A literature search was conducted to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the Upper Extremity Function Test. Limited information is available on the UEFT. However, the Action Research Arm Test, developed in 1981 as an adaptation of the UEFT, is a more reliable, valid and responsive measure currently used for clients with stroke.

Floor/Ceiling Effects

No studies have examined the floor/ceiling effects of the UEFT.

Reliability

Internal consistency:
No studies have examined the internal consistency of the UEFT.

Intra-rater:
No studies have examined the intra-rater reliability of the UEFT.

Inter-rater:
Carroll (1965) investigated inter-rater reliability of the UEFT among clinicians who were either experienced or not experienced with the UEFT. Two raters with experience using the UEFT rated the upper extremities of 48 individuals with stroke. The two examiners rated 46% of the patients identically, 21% within 1 point, 8% within 2 points, 10% within 3 points, 8% within 4 points and 6% of patients within 5 points. Subsequently, three examiners without experience using the UEFT were educated on the grading system and were then asked to rate the performance of 15 patients with stroke. The inexperienced raters scored within 7 points of the experienced raters 97% of the time. The results of this study indicate that the UEFT has strong inter-rater reliability.

Test-retest:
Carroll (1965) examined test re-test reliability of the UEFT in a sample of 23 patients with chronic stable upper extremity impairment due to varying causes (including stroke) and 7 patients with typical upper extremity function. The UEFT was administered two times, 30 days apart. Scores for individuals with typical upper extremity function were identical on the two different testing days. Of scores attained for patients with chronic stable upper extremity impairment, 1 case was identical, 5 cases showed a 1-point difference, 7 cases showed a 3-point difference, 2 cases showed a 5-point difference, and 3 cases showed a difference of 6, 7 and 8 points. The results of this initial validation study suggest that UEFT has strong test re-test reliability.

Validity

Content

No studies have examined the content validity of the UEFT.

Criterion

Concurrent:
No studies have examined the concurrent validity of the UEFT.

Predictive:
Barrecca, Finlayson, Gowland & Basmajian (1999) examined the predictive validity of the UEFT and the Halstead Category Test in 16 patients with stroke. Admission UEFT and Halstead Category Test scores were found to be predictive of discharge UEFT scores (approximately 5 weeks later), even in patients with severe upper extremity disability following stroke.

Sensitivity/ Specificity:
No studies have examined the specificity of the UEFT.

Construct

Convergent/Discriminant:
No studies have examined the discriminant validity of the UEFT.

Known Groups:
No studies have examined the known groups validity of the UEFT.

Responsiveness

Popovic, Popovic, Sinkjaer, Stefanovic & Schwirtlick (2003) investigated the effects of Functional Electrical Stimulation on upper extremity function in patients with stroke. The UEFT was used as an outcome measure and was able to detect change in upper extremity function in patients with stroke.

References

  • Barreca, S., Finlayson, A., Gowland, C. & Basmajian, J. (1999). Use of the Halstead Category Test as a predictor of functional recovery in the hemiplegic upper limb: A cross-validation study. The Clinical Neuropsychologist, 13(2), 171-178.
  • Basmajian, C., Gowland, M., Brandstater, L., Swanson, L. & Trotter, J. (1982). EMG feedback treatment of upper limb in hemiplegic stroke patients: A pilot study. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 63, 614.
  • Carroll, D. (1965). A quantitative test of upper extremity function. Journal of Chronic Diseases, 18, 479-491.
  • Lang, C.E., Wagner, J.M, Dromerick, A.W., & Edwards, D.F. (2006). Measurement of upper extremity function early after stroke: properties of the action research arm test.Archives Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 87, 1605-1610.
  • Lyle, R.C. (1981). A performance test for assessment of upper limb function in physical rehabilitation treatment and research. International Journal of Rehabilitation Research, 4(4), 483-492.
  • Okkema, K.A. (1998). Functional evaluation of upper extremity use following stroke: A literature review. Topics of Stroke Rehabilitation, 4(4), 54-75
  • Popovic, M.B., Popovic, D.B., Sinkjaer, T., Stefanovic, A. & Schwirtlich, L. (2003). Clinical evaluation of Funcational Evaluation Therapy in acute hemiplegic subjects. Journal of Rehabilitation Research and Development, 40(5), 443-454.

See The Measure

Further information on the UEFT can be found in the following publication:

Carroll, D. (1965). A quantitative test of upper extremity function. Journal of Chronic Diseases, 18, 479-491.

Table of contents
We need your feedback

Upper Extremity Function Test (UEFT)

Évidence révisées en date du 19-04-2013
Auteur(s)* : Katie Marvin, MSc. PT
Éditeur(s) : Annabel McDermott ; Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT
Version française en traduction libre : Andréanne Labranche

But

L’Upper Extremity Function Test (UEFT) est un outil évaluatif servant à déterminer les déficits fonctionnels du membre supérieur et la sévérité des déficits chez les patients démontrant des dysfonctions du membre supérieur.

Revue détaillée

But de l’outil de mesure

L’Upper Extremity Function Test (UEFT) est un outil évaluatif servant à déterminer les déficits fonctionnels du membre supérieur et la sévérité des déficits chez les patients démontrant des dysfonctions du membre supérieur. Le test évalue le fonctionnement basé sur la supposition que les mouvements complexes du membre supérieur, effectués dans les activités de tous les jours, sont effectués à partir de patrons de mouvements (ex : supination / pronation, préhension / relâchement, prise de pince, etc.) ; l’évaluation de ces patrons de mouvements peut donc prédire la capacité du patient pour réaliser des activités fonctionnelles. L’UEFT a été conçu principalement pour quantifier la capacité du patient d’exécuter les activités générales du membre supérieur et ne prend pas en considération les facteurs tels que les habiletés, la vitesse, l’amplitude de mouvement, l’endurance, les sensations, etc. La liste sélectionnée des items est censée représenter les mouvements du membre supérieur qui sont nécessaires pour réaliser un grand nombre des principales activités de la vie quotidienne. L’UEFT n’a pas encore été corrélé avec les activités professionnelles du membre supérieur.

Versions disponibles

L’Action Research Arm Test (ARAT) a été développé par Ronald Lyle en 1981 en adaptant l’Upper Extremity Function Test (Carroll, 1965). L’administration de l’UEFT et la cotation ont été simplifiées, le temps requis pour administrer le test a été diminué et les items ont été groupés en se basant sur une échelle hiérarchique (Guttman Scale – Lang, Wagner, Dromerick & Edwards, 2006). Dû au besoin d’avoir des instructions plus détaillées et plus spécifiques concernant la position du client, la cotation et l’administration du test (Yozbatiran, Der-Yeghiaian et Cramer – 2008) ont proposé une approche standardisée dans l’ARAT.

Pour plus d’informations, vous pouvez visiter notre module concernant l’Action Research Arm Test.

Caractéristiques de l’outil

Items :

L’UEFT est composé de 33 items ou tâches, détaillés ci-dessous.

Descriptions des tâches :

Le patient est positionné confortablement sur une chaise devant la table utilisée pour le test. Le patient est évalué alors qu’il exécute différentes tâches, telles que bouger des objets vers une étagère, placer des objets sur un goujon, écrire leur nom, etc. Les objets sont de formes et de poids variés afin d’évaluer la préhension, la pince, le placement, l’extension et l’élévation, la pronation et la supination, ainsi que la force fonctionnelle.

Notez que le patient n’a pas le droit de se lever de la chaise durant le test (sauf si une pause est nécessaire). Cependant, les transferts de poids et les roulements d’un côté à l’autre des fesses sont permis. Chaque bras est évalué individuellement. Les démonstrations des tâches sont permises (Carroll, 1965).

Cotation et interprétation des scores :

L’UEFT utilise une méthode de cotation simple où les résultats peuvent être comparés à différents intervalles de temps.

Cotation :

3 Effectue le test normalement.
2 Complète le test, mais prend un temps anormalement long ou a une grande difficulté.
1 Effectue le test partiellement. Cette cote est donnée lorsque le patient est capable de prendre ou de soulever un objet du test à partir de la table, mais est incapable de placer l’objet dans la bonne position finale. Par exemple, dans les items 27 à 29, le patient serait capable de lever le pichet ou le verre, mais serait incapable de verser l’eau dans le bon réceptacle.
0 Est incapable d’effectuer le test. Si le patient pousse les objets hors de leur position ou autour sur la table, une cote de 0 est assignée.

Le score total est additionné. Le score maximum pour la main dominante est de 99, comparativement à un score maximum de 96 pour la main non dominante (car l’item 33 consiste à écrire le nom du patient avec la main dominante).

Les auteurs du test ont conclu qu’une augmentation ou une diminution de 10 points représentent respectivement un gain ou une perte significative de fonctionnement.

Des points de score presque égaux ont été attribués aux deux fonctions de préhension (prendre, préhension et pince) et de placement (stabilité de l’épaule, abduction et flexion / extension de l’épaule, flexion / extension du coude, flexion / extension du poignet, et pronation / supination) ; les deux fonctions doivent être intactes afin qu’un score élevé soit attribué.

Interprétation des scores :

0 à 25: Aucunement fonctionnel
26-50: Très faible
51-75: Faible
76-89: Fonctionnement partiel
90-98: Fonctinnel
99 (main dominante) / 96 (main non-dominante) Fonctionnement maximal

Implications fonctionnelles de l’UEFT :

Basmajian et al. (1982) ont examiné les implications fonctionnelles des scores de l’UEFT et ont noté que les scores suivants indiquent les capacités associées aux activités des patients :

  • 0: Aucun fonctionnement
  • 10: Tenir un livre pour lire
  • 20: Conduire
  • 30: Transporter des objets d’un endroit à un autre
  • 40: S’habiller
  • 50: Se nourrir
  • 60: Se raser/se maquiller
  • 70: Faire de l’artisanat à la main
  • 80: Faire des métiers artisanaux (couture, jardinage, menuiserie)
  • 90: Jouer aux cartes
  • 100: Écrire une lettre/utiliser un clavier.

Adapté de Basmajian, Gowland, Brandstater, Swanson & Trotter (1982).

Temps d’administration requis :

L’UEFT prend approximativement une heure à administrer (Lyle, 1981).

Formations requises :

Aucune typiquement documentée. Cependant, il est recommandé que le clinicien connaisse bien l’outil d’évaluation.

Sous-échelles :

Aucune typiquement identifiée.

Équipement :

  • Table de 17,5 po. en largeur x 28,5 po. en longueur x 30,75 po. en hauteur.
  • Étagère de 3,75 po. de largeur surélevée à 14,75 po. de la table.
  • Cubes de bois : 4 x 4 x 4po. (576g) ; 3 x 3 x 3po. (243g) ; 2 x 2 x 2 po. (72g); 1 x 1 x 1po. (9g).
  • Grand tuyau de fer : ,625 de D.E.* x 6,125 po. (500g)
  • Petit tuyau de fer : 0,87 de D.E. x 4,125 (125g)
  • Ardoise : 4,125 x 1 x 0,375 (61g)
  • Balle de bois : 3 de D.E. (100g)
  • Bille de verre 0,625 de D.E. (6.3g)
  • Sphère de métal 0,44 de D.E. (6,6g) ; 0,25 D.E. (1,0g); 0,16 (0,34g)
  • Rondelle d’acier de 0,16 d’épaisseur x 1,375 D.E. x 0,56 D.I.(14,5g)
  • Fer de 6 lb approximativement
  • 2 verres de plastique 8 fl. oz
  • Pichet d’eau en aluminium rempli au trois quart de sa capacité
  • Crayon

*D.E. = Diamètre extérieur ; D.I. = Diamètre intérieur

Pour plus d’informations, vous pouvez vous référer à Carroll (1965) pour plus d’informations concernant l’installation de l’UEFT.

Formes alternatives de l’Action Research Arm Test

Aucune typiquement identifiée.

Clientèle cible

Peut être utilisé avec :

  • Les clients ayant subi un AVC.

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec :

  • Lors de l’administration de l’UEFT chez les clients avec des amputations du membre supérieur, le score total devrait être ajusté selon l’échelle suivante.

Scores totaux au UEFT chez les individus ayant subi des amputations :

Poignets : 0
Trois doigts : 41
Doigt du centre : 87
Index et 2e métacarpe : 84
Pouce et articulation métacarpo-phalangienne : 91
Index au niveau de l’articulation interphalangienne proximale : 93

Dans quelles langues l’outil est-il disponible ?

Il n’y a aucune traduction officielle de l’UEFT.

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? L’UEFT mesure les changements spécifiques dans les déficits et le fonctionnement du membre supérieur.
Pour quelles clientèles cet outil peut-il être utilisé ? L’UEFT peut être utilisé avec les gens ayant subi un AVC, mais son usage n’est pas limité à cette clientèle.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Évaluation.
Temps d’administration requis L’UEFT prend approximativement une heure à administrer.
Versions L’Action Research Arm Test (ARAT) a été développé par Ronald Lyle en 1981 en adaptant l’Upper Extremity Function Test – UEFT (Carroll, 1965).
Langues Il n’y a pas de traduction officielle.
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité Test-retest :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité test-retest de l’UEFT et a relevé une forte fidélité inter-juges auprès d’un échantillon de patients avec des déficits chroniques du membre inférieur résultants de troubles tels que l’AVC.

Inter-juges :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité inter-juges de l’UEFT et a relevé une forte corrélation inter-juges.

Validité Prédictive :
Une étude a examiné la validité prédictive de l’UEFT et a noté que les scores au UEFT à l’admission étaient prédicteurs des scores au UEFT au moment du congé.
Effets plancher/plafond Aucune étude n’a examiné les effets de plancher/plafond de l’UEFT.
Est-ce que l’outil est sensible aux changements ? Aucune étude n’a formellement examiné la sensibilité au changement de l’UEFT.
Acceptabilité L’UEFT est simple et peut être facilement administré dans plusieurs contextes (ex. au domicile ou dans une clinique).
Faisabilité L’administration de l’UEFT et de l’ARAT est simple et rapide, mais nécessite un équipement standardisé.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? Pour plus d’informations concernant l’UEFT, vous pouvez vous référer à l’étude de validation initiale par Carroll (1965).

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Une recherche dans la littérature a été menée pour identifier toutes les publications pertinentes concernant les propriétés psychométriques de l’Upper Extremity Function Test. Les informations disponibles concernant l’UEFT sont limitées ; cependant, l’Action Research Arm Test, développé en 1981 comme une adaptation de l’UEFT, est un outil utilisé avec les clients ayant subi un AVC qui est plus fiable, valide et sensible au changement.

Effets plancher/plafond

Aucune étude n’a examiné les effets de plancher et de plafond de l’UEFT.

Fidélité

Cohérence interne :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la cohérence interne de l’UEFT.

Test-retest :
Carroll (1965) a examiné la fidélité test-retest de l’UEFT auprès d’un échantillon de 23 patients présentant une atteinte chronique stable du membre supérieur due à des causes diverses (y compris un AVC) et de 7 patients ayant une fonction normale du membre supérieur. L’UEFT a été administré à deux reprises, à 30 jours d’intervalle. Les scores pour les individus ayant une fonction normale des membres supérieurs étaient identiques lors des deux temps de mesure. Parmi les scores obtenus pour les patients présentant une atteinte chronique stable du membre supérieur, 1 cas était identique, 5 cas présentaient une différence de 1 point, 7 cas présentaient une différence de 3 points, 2 cas présentaient une différence de 5 points et 3 cas présentaient une différence de 6, 7 et 8 points. Les résultats de cette étude de fidélité suggèrent que l’UEFT a une forte fidélité test-retest.

Intra-juge :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité intra-juge de l’UEFT.

Inter-juges :
Carroll (1965) a examiné la fidélité inter-juges de l’UEFT auprès de cliniciens expérimentés et non expérimentés avec l’utilisation de l’UEFT. Deux évaluateurs ayant l’expérience avec l’UEFT ont évalué les membres supérieurs de 48 personnes ayant subi un AVC. Les deux évaluateurs ont évalué de façon identique 46% des patients, 21% à un point de différence, 8% à deux points, 10% à trois points, 8% à quatre points et 6% à cinq points de différence. Par la suite, trois examinateurs sans expérience avec l’utilisation de l’UEFT ont été formés sur le système de notation de l’instrument et ont ensuite été invités à évaluer la performance de 15 patients ayant subi un AVC. Dans 97% des cas, les évaluateurs inexpérimentés ont obtenu des scores d’évaluation variant de 7 points comparativement aux scores d’évaluation obtenus par les évaluateurs expérimentés. Les résultats de cette étude indiquent que l’UEFT a une forte fidélité inter-juges.

Validité

Contenu:

Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité de contenu de l’UEFT.

Critère:

Concourante :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité concourante de l’UEFT.

Prédictive :
Barrecca, Finlayson, Gowland & Basmajian (1999) ont examiné la validité prédictive de l’UEFT et du Halstead Category Test chez 16 patients ayant subi un AVC. Il a été relevé que les scores à l’admission au UEFT et au Halstead Category Test étaient prédicteurs des scores au UEFT lors du congé (approximativement 5 semaines plus tard), et ce même chez les patients avec des déficits sévères aux membres supérieurs suivant un AVC.

Construit :

Convergente/Discriminante :
Aucune étude a examiné la validité discriminante de l’UEFT.

Groupes connus :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validé des groupes connus de l’UEFT.

Sensibilité/Spécificité :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la spécificité de l’UEFT.

Sensibilité au changement

Popovic, Popovic, Sinkjaer, Stefanovic & Schwirtlick (2003) ont examiné les effets de la Stimulation électrique fonctionnelle sur le fonctionnement du membre supérieur chez des patients ayant subi un AVC. L’UEFT était utilisé pour évaluer les résultats de la thérapie et était capable de détecter les changements dans le fonctionnement du membre supérieur chez les patients ayant subi un AVC.

Références

  • Barreca, S., Finlayson, A., Gowland, C. & Basmajian, J. (1999). Use of the Halstead Category Test as a predictor of functional recovery in the hemiplegic upper limb: A cross-validation study. The Clinical Neuropsychologist, 13(2), 171-178.
  • Basmajian, C., Gowland, M., Brandstater, L., Swanson, L. & Trotter, J. (1982). EMG feedback treatment of upper limb in hemiplegic stroke patients: A pilot study. Archives of Physical Medicine Rehabilitation, 63, 614.
  • Carroll, D. (1965). A quantitative test of upper extremity function. Journal of Chronic Diseases, 18, 479-491.
  • Lang, C.E., Wagner, J.M, Dromerick, A.W., & Edwards, D.F. (2006). Measurement of upper extremity function early after stroke: properties of the action research arm test.Archives Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 87, 1605-1610.
  • Lyle, R.C. (1981). A performance test for assessment of upper limb function in physical rehabilitation treatment and research. International Journal of Rehabilitation Research, 4(4), 483-492.
  • Okkema, K.A. (1998). Functional evaluation of upper extremity use following stroke: A literature review. Topics of Stroke Rehabilitation, 4(4), 54-75
  • Popovic, M.B., Popovic, D.B., Sinkjaer, T., Stefanovic, A. & Schwirtlich, L. (2003). Clinical evaluation of Funcational Evaluation Therapy in acute hemiplegic subjects. Journal of Rehabilitation Research and Development, 40(5), 443-454.

Voir la mesure

Plus d’informations concernant l’UEFT peuvent être obtenues dans la publication suivante :

Carroll, D. (1965). A quantitative test of upper extremity function. Journal of Chronic Diseases, 18, 479-491.

Table des matières
Aidez-nous à nous améliorer