Charlson Comorbidity Index (CCI)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 03-02-2009
Author(s): Sabrina Figueiredo, BSc
Editor(s): Lisa Zeltzer, MSc OT; Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT; Elissa Sitcoff, BA BSc

Purpose

The Charlson Comorbidity Index (CCI) assesses comorbidity level by taking into account both the number and severity of 19 pre-defined comorbid conditions. It provides a weighted score of a client’s comorbidities which can be used to predict short term and long-term outcomes such as function, hospital length of stay and mortality rates. The CCI is the most widely used scoring system for comorbities used by researchers and clinicians (Charlson, Pompei, Ales, & Mackenzie, 1987; Elixhauser, Steiner, Harris, & Coffey, 1998).

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The Charlson Comorbidity Index (CCI) assesses comorbidity level by taking into account both the number and severity of 19 pre-defined comorbid conditions. It provides a weighted score of a client’s comorbidities which can be used to predict short term and long-term outcomes such as function, hospital length of stay and mortality rates. The CCI is the most widely used scoring system for comorbities used by researchers and clinicians (Charlson, Pompei, Ales, & Mackenzie, 1987; Elixhauser, Steiner, Harris, & Coffey, 1998).

Available versions

The CCI was published by Charlson, Pompei, Ales, and Mackenzie in 1987.

Features of the measure

Items:

The CCI is comprised of 19 comorbid conditions: myocardial infarct, congestive heart failure, peripheral vascular disease, cerebrovascular disease, dementia, chronic pulmonary disease, connective tissue disease, ulcer disease, mild liver disease, diabetes, hemiplegia, moderate or several renal disease, diabetes with end organ damage, any tumor, leukemia, lymphoma, moderate or severe liver disease, metastatic solid tumor, AIDS. Each disease is given a different weight based on the strength of its association with 1-year mortality as follows (Charlson et al., 1987):

Assigned weights for diseases Comorbid Conditions
1 Myocardial infarct, congestive heart failure, peripheral vascular disease, cerebrovascular disease, dementia, chronic pulmonary disease, connective tissue disease, ulcer disease, mild liver disease, diabetes
2 Hemiplegia, moderate or several renal diseases, diabetes with end organ damage, any tumor, leukemia, lymphoma
3 Moderate or severe liver disease
6 Metastatic solid tumor, AIDS

The CCI can be completed from medical records, administrative databases, or interview-based questionnaires (Bravo, Dubois, Hebert, De Wals, & Messier, 2002).

Scoring:

The total score in the CCI is derived by summing the assigned weights of all comorbid conditions presented by the client. Higher scores indicate a more severe condition and consequently, a worse prognosis (Charlson, Szatrowski, Peterson, & Gold, 1994).

Time:

Not reported

Subscales:

None

Equipment:

Not applicable.

Training:

No specific training is available.

Alternative forms of the CCI

The CCI has a weighted age version, two adaptations to be used with ICD-9 databases, and one version to be used with clients with amputations (Charlson et al., 1994; Deyo, Cherkin, & Ciol, 1992; Melchiore, Findley, & Boda, 1996; Romano, Roos, & Jollis, 1993).

Client suitability

Can be used with:

Clients with stroke.

The CCI is a general scoring system allowing for its use with a variety of populations (Groot, Beckerman, Lankhorst, & Bouter, 2003).

Should not be used in:

To date, there is no information on restrictions for using the CCI.

In what languages is the measure available?

Not applicable

Summary

What does the tool measure? The CCI measures comorbidity level.
What types of clients can the tool be used for? The CCI can be used with, but is not limited to clients with stroke.
Is this a screening or assessment tool? Screening.
Time to administer Not reported.
Versions Age CCI; ICD-9-CM; CCI for clients with amputations.
Other Languages Not applicable
Measurement Properties
Reliability
  • No studies have examined the internal consistency of the CCI.
  • One study has examined the test-retest reliability of the CCI and reported excellent test-retest reliability using Intraclass Correlation Coefficient (ICC) and Spearman’s Rank Correlation.
  • No studies have examined the intra-rater reliability of the CCI.
  • One study examined the inter-rater reliability of the CCI and reported adequate inter-rater reliability using ICC.
Validity

Content:

One study examined the content validity of the CCI by reporting the steps for generating the weighted comorbidity index.

Criterion:

Concurrent:

No studies have examined the concurrent validity of the CCI.

Predictive:

Four studies have examined the predictive validity of the CCI and reported that the CCI was able to predict function at 3 months post-stroke, poor outcomes on the modified Rankin Scale at discharge, and mortality after 1 year. In contrast, the CCI was not able to predict length of stay, Functional Independence Measure scores, and modified Rankin Scale scores at 4 months post-stroke.

Construct:

Convergent:

Three studies examined the convergent validity of the CCI and reported excellent correlations between the CCI and the Functional Comorbidity Index, poor to adequate correlations between the CCI and total numbers of medication consumed, numbers of hospitalization, length of stay, total costs, laboratory studies, therapeutic interventions, consultations and days of interruption of the rehabilitation program using Spearman rank correlation.

Known Groups:

No studies have examined the known groups validity of the CCI.

Floor/Ceiling Effects No studies have examined floor/ceiling effects of the CCI.
Sensitivity/ Specificity No studies have examined the sensitivity/specificity of the CCI.
Does the tool detect change in patients? No studies have examined the responsiveness of the CCI.
Acceptability The CCI is the most widely used index to assess comorbidity.
Feasibility The CCI can be completed from medical records, administrative databases, or interview-based questionnaires.
How to obtain the tool? The CCI can be obtained from its original publication: (Charlson, Pompei, Ales, & Mackenzie, 1987)

Psychometric Properties

Overview

We conducted a literature search to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the Charlson Comorbidity Index (CCI) in individuals with stroke. We identified 6 studies.

Reliability

Test-retest:

Katz, Chang, Sangha, Fossel, and Bates (1996) evaluated the test-retest reliability of the questionnaire format of the CCI in 25 inpatients with different diagnoses including stroke. Participants were evaluated by the same rater twice within 24 hours. Test-retest reliability was excellent as calculated using Intraclass Correlation Coefficient (ICC = 0.92) and Spearman’s Rank Correlation (rho = 0.94).

Inter-rater:

Liu, Domen and Chino (1997) assessed the inter-rater reliability of the CCI in 10 clients with stroke. The CCI was administered by two examiners blinded to each other’s scores. Inter-rater reliability, as calculated using Intraclass Correlation Coefficient, was adequate (ICC = 0.67).

Validity

Content:

Charlson et al. (1987) identified the comorbid conditions of 559 inpatients with breast cancer. They then calculated the relationship of potential prognostically important variables to survival using Cox’s regression analysis. Finally, the adjusted relative risk was estimated to each comorbid condition.

Criterion:

Concurrent:

No gold standard exists against which to compare the CCI.

Predictive:

Liu et al. (1997) estimated the ability of the CCI at hospital admission to predict length of stay and the Functional Independence Measure (FIM) score (Keith, Granger, Hamilton, & Sherwin, 1987) at discharge. Predictive validity was calculated in 106 clients with Spearman’s Rank Correlation. Correlation between the CCI and the FIM was poor(rho = -0.19) as was the correlation between the CCI and length of stay (rho = 0.16). These results suggest that the CCI measured at hospital admission may not be predictive of length of stay or the FIM at discharge.

Goldstein, Samsa, Matchar, and Horner (2004) examined in 960 clients with acute stroke whether the CCI measured at admission was able to predict the modified Rankin Scale (mRS) (Rankin, 1957) at hospital discharge, and, 1-year mortality rates. Predictive validity was analyzed using logistic regression. The CCI was dichotomized into low comorbidity (scores <2) and high comorbidity (scores <2) and the mRS into good outcomes (scores <2) and poor outcomes (scores ≥2). Higher CCI scores were associated with a 36% increased odds of having poor outcomes on the modified Rankin Scale and 72% greater odds of death at 1 year post-stroke.

Fischer, Arnold, Nedeltchev, Schoenenberger, Kappeler, Hollinger et al. (2006) verified in 259 clients the ability of the CCI, as measured at admission to a stroke unit, to predict poor outcomes on the modified Rankin Scale (mRS – Rankin, 1957) at 4 months after hospital discharge. The mRS was dichotomized into good outcomes (scores ≤ 2) and poor outcomes (scores >2). Logistic regression analyses revealed that the CCI was not able to predict poor outcomes on the mRS. In this study, the predictors of the mRS score at 4 months post-stroke were stroke severity, atrial fibrilation, coronary artery disease and diabetes.

Tessier, Finch, Daskalopoulou, and Mayo (2008) examined, in 672 participants, the ability of the CCI, the Functional Comorbidity Index (Groll, Bombardier, & Wright, 2005), and a stroke-specific comorbidity index (developed by the same authors) to predict function 3 months post-stroke. Predictive validity was calculated by use of c-statistics to calculate the area under the Receiver Operating Characteristic (ROC) curve. The ability of the CCI (AUC = 0.76), the Functional Comorbidity Index (AUC = 0.71) and the stroke-specific comorbidity index (AUC = 0.71) to predict function at 3 months post-stroke were all adequate. These results suggest that the percentage of patients correctly classified according to their function at 3 months post-stroke is slightly higher when using the CCI over these other comorbidity measures.

Construct:

Convergent/Discriminant

Katz et al. (1996) tested the convergent validity of the CCI by comparing it to self-reported number of prescription medications consumed, number of hospitalizations, length of stay and total financial costs in 170 hospital inpatients, including those with stroke. Correlations, as calculated using Spearman’s Rank Correlation, were all poor between the CCI and self-reported number of prescription medications (rho = 0.06), number of hospitalizations (rho = 0.22), length of stay (rho = 0.20) and total costs (rho = 0.26).

Liu et al. (1997) measured the convergent validity of the CCI in 106 clients with stroke, by comparing it to the number of medication consumed, laboratory studies, therapeutic interventions, number of consultations during hospital’s stay, and days of interruption of participation in rehabilitation due to complications. Adequate correlations were found between the CCI and the total number of medications consumed (rho = 0.48) and poor correlations were found between the CCI and laboratory studies (rho = 0.28), therapeutic interventions (rho = 0.19), consultations (rho = 0.25), and days of interruption of rehabilitation participation (rho = 0.22).

Tessier et al. (2008) analyzed the convergent validity of the CCI by comparing it to the Functional Comorbidity Index (Groll et al., 2005) in 437 clients with Correlations were found to be excellent (rho = 0.62).

Known groups:

No studies have examined known groups validity of the CCI.

Responsiveness

No studies have examined the responsiveness of the CCI.

References

  • Bravo, G., Dubois, M.F., Hebert, R., De Wals, P., & Messier, L. (2002). A perspective evaluation of the Charlson Comorbidity Index for use in long-term care patients. JAGS, 50, 740-745.
  • Charlson, M., Pompei, P., Ales, M.L., & Mackenzie C.R. (1987). A new method of classifying comorbidity in longitudinal studies: Development and validation. J Chronic Dis, 40, 373-393.
  • Charlson, M., Szatrowski, T.P., Peterson, J., & Gold, J. (1994). Validationof a Combined Comorbidity Index. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 47(11), 1245-1251.
  • De Groot, V., Beckerman, H., Lankhorst, G.J., & Bouter, L.M. (2003). How to measure comorbidity: A critical review of available methods. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 56, 221-229.
  • Deyo, R.A., Cherkin, D.C., & Ciol, M.A. (1992). Adapting a clinical comorbidity index for use with ICD-9-CM administrative databases. Journal Clinical Epidemiology, 45, 613-619.
  • Elixhauser, A., Steiner, C., Harris, D.R., & Coffey, R.M. (1998).Comorbidity measures for use with administrative data. Medical Care, 36(1), 8-27.
  • Fischer, U., Nedeltchev, K., Schoenenberger, R.A., Kappeler, L., Hollinger, P.,Schroth, G. et al. (2006). Impact of comorbidity on ischemic stroke outcome. Acta Neurol Scand, 113, 108-113.
  • Goldstein, L.B., Samsa, G.P., Matchar, D.B., & Horner, R.D. (2004). Charlson Index Comorbidity Adjustment for Ischemic Stroke Outcome Studies. Stroke, 35, 1941-1945.
  • Groll, D., Bombardier, C., & Wright, J. (2005). The development of a comorbidity index with physical function as the outcome. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 58, 595-602.
  • Hall, W. H., Ramachandran, R., Narayan, S., Jani, A. B., & Vijayakumar, S. (2004). An electronic application for rapidly calculating Charlson comorbidity score. BMC Cancer, 4, 94.
  • Katz, J., Chang, L., Sangha, O., Fossel, A., & Bates, D. (1996). Can comorbidity be measured by questionnaire rather than medical record review? Medical Care, 34(1), 73-84.
  • Keith, R.A., Granger, C.V., Hamilton, B.B., & Sherwin, F.S. (1987). The functional independence measure: A new tool for rehabilitation. Adv Clin Rehabil, 1, 6-18.
  • Liu, M., Domen, K., & Chino, N. (1997). Comorbidity measures for stroke outcome research: A preliminary study. Arch Phys Rehabil, 78, 166-172.
  • Melchiore, P.J., Findley, T., Boda, W. (1996). Functional outcome and comorbidity indexes in the rehabilitation of the traumatic versus the vascular unilateral lower limb amputee. Am J Phys Med Rehabil, 75, 9-14.
  • Rankin, J. (1957). Cerebral vascular accidents in patients over the age of 60. Scott Med J, 2, 200-215.
  • Romano, P.S., Roos, L.L., & Jollis, J.G. (1993). Adapting a clinical comorbidity index for use with ICD-9-CM administrative data: differing perspectives. Journal of clinical epidemiology, 46 (10) 1075-1079.
  • Tessier, A., Finch. L., Daskalopoulou, S.S., Mayo, N.E. (2008). Validation of the Charlson Comorbidity Index for Predicting Functional Outcome of Stroke. Arch Phys Med Rehabil, 89, 1276-1283.

See The Measure

How to obtain the CCI

An electronic application for rapidly calculating Charlson Comorbidity Index score

The following link will allow you to download an Excel Spread sheet calculator for Charlson Comorbidity Index: Excel calculator Charlson Index

Table of contents
Help us to improve

Charlson Comorbidity Index (CCI)

Évidence révisées en date du 03-02-2009
Auteur(s)* : Sabrina Figueiredo, BSc
Éditeur(s) : Lisa Zeltzer, MSc OT ; Nicol Korner-Bitensky, PhD OT ; Elissa Sitcoff, BA BSc
Version française en traduction libre : Andréanne Labranche

But

Le Charlson Comorbidity Index (CCI) évalue le niveau de comorbidité en considérant le niveau de sévérité de 19 troubles de comorbidité prédéfinis ainsi que le nombre de troubles présents parmi ceux-ci. Cet outil de mesure donne un score pondéré des comorbidités d’un client qui peut être utilisé pour prédire les conséquences à court terme et à long terme telles que le fonctionnement, la durée du séjour à l’hôpital et le taux de mortalité. Le CCI est le système de cotation le plus utilisé par les chercheurs et les cliniciens pour mesurer les comorbidités (Charlson, Pompei, Ales, & Mackenzie, 1987; Elixhauser, Steiner, Harris, & Coffey, 1998).

Revue détaillée

But de l’outil de mesure

Le Charlson Comorbidity Index (CCI) évalue le niveau de comorbidité en considérant le niveau de sévérité de 19 troubles de comorbidité prédéfinis ainsi que le nombre de troubles présents parmi ceux-ci. Cet outil de mesure donne un score pondéré des comorbidités d’un client qui peut être utilisé pour prédire les conséquences à court terme et à long terme telles que le fonctionnement, la durée du séjour à l’hôpital et le taux de mortalité. Le CCI est le système de cotation le plus utilisé par les chercheurs et les cliniciens pour mesurer les comorbidités (Charlson, Pompei, Ales, & Mackenzie, 1987; Elixhauser, Steiner, Harris, & Coffey, 1998).

Versions disponibles

Le CCI a été publié par Charlson, Pompei, Ales et Mackenzie en 1987.

Caractéristiques de l’outil de mesure

Items :

Le CCI est constitué de 19 troubles de comorbidité : infarctus du myocarde, insuffisance cardiaque congestive, maladie vasculaire périphérique, maladie cérébro-vasculaire, démence, maladie pulmonaire chronique, maladie des tissus conjonctifs, ulcères, faible maladie du foie, diabète, hémiplégie, maladie modérée ou sévère du rein, diabète causant des dommages aux organes, tumeur quelconque, leucémie, lymphome, maladie du foie modérée ou sévère, tumeur solide métastatique, SIDA. Chaque maladie a une pondération différente selon la force de son association avec de la mortalité après un an. Les pondérations sont les suivantes (Charlson et al., 1987):

Pondérations assignées aux maladies Troubles de comorbidité
1 Infarctus du myocarde, insuffisance cardiaque congestive, maladie vasculaire périphérique, maladie cérébro-vasculaire, démence, maladie pulmonaire chronique, maladie des tissus conjonctifs, ulcères, faible maladie du foie, diabète
2 Hémiplégie, maladie modérée ou sévère du rein, diabète causant des dommages aux organes, tumeur quelconque, leucémie, lymphome.
3 Maladie du foie modérée ou sévère.
6 Tumeur solide métastatique, SIDA.

Le CCI peut être complété à partir du dossier médical, de bases de données administratives ou à partir d’un questionnaire utilisé lors d’une entrevue (Bravo, Dubois, Hebert, De Wals, & Messier, 2002).

Cotation :

Le score total du CCI est calculé en additionnant les pondérations associées à chaque trouble de comorbidité présenté par le client. Les scores plus hauts indiquent des troubles plus sévères et, par conséquent, un moins bon pronostic (Charlson, Szatrowski, Peterson, & Gold, 1994).

Temps d’administration requis :

Non documenté.

Sous-échelles :

Aucune.

Équipement nécessaire:

Ne s’applique pas.

Formation:

Aucune formation spécifique n’est disponible.

Versions alternatives du CCI

Le CCI a une version pondérée selon l’âge, deux adaptations pouvant être utilisées avec les bases de données ICD-9 et une version pouvant être utilisée chez les clients avec des amputations (Charlson et al., 1994; Deyo, Cherkin, & Ciol, 1992; Melchiore, Findley, & Boda, 1996; Romano, Roos, & Jollis, 1993).

Clientèle cible

Peut être utilisé avec :

  • Les clients ayant subi un accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC).
  • Le CCI est un système de cotation général, ce qui permet son utilisation avec plusieurs populations différentes (Groot, Beckerman, Lankhorst, & Bouter, 2003).

Ne devrait pas être utilisé avec :

  • Jusqu’à maintenant, il n’y a pas d’information concernant des restrictions dans l’usage du CCI.

Dans quelles langues l’outil est-il disponible ?

Aucune, autre que l’anglais.

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? Le CCI mesure le niveau de comorbidité.
Pour quelles clientèles cet outil peut-il être utilisé ? Le CCI peut être utilisé avec les clients ayant subi un AVC, mais son usage n’est pas limité à cette clientèle.
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Dépistage.
Temps d’administration requis Non documenté.
Versions CCI selon l’âge ; ICD-9-CM ; CCI pour les clients avec des amputations.
Langues Aucune, autre que l’anglais.
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité Cohérence interne :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la cohérence interne du CCI.
Test-retest :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité test-retest du CCI et a relevé une excellent fidélité test-retest en utilisant des coefficients de corrélation intra-classe (CCI) et une corrélation de rang de Spearman.
Intra-juge :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité intra-juge du CCI.
Inter-juges :
Une étude a examiné la fidélité inter-juges du CCI et a relevé une fidélité inter-juges adéquate en utilisant des CCI.
Validité Contenu :
Une étude a examiné la validité de contenu du CCI en documentant les étapes pour générer l’index de comorbidité pondéré.
Critère :
Concourante :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité concourante du CCI.
Prédictive :
Quatre études ont examiné la validité prédictive du CCI et ont relevé que le CCI est capable de prédire le fonctionnement 3 mois après un AVC, les faibles résultats obtenus sur la Rankin Scale modifiée au moment du congé, et la mortalité après un an. Cependant, le CCI n’a pas été capable de prédire la durée du séjour, les scores sur la Mesure de l’indépendance fonctionnelle et les scores sur la Rankin Scale modifiée, mesurés quatre mois après un AVC.
Construit :
Convergente :
Trois études ont examiné la validité convergente du CCI et ont relevé d’excellentes corrélations entre le CCI et le Functional Comorbidity Index : des corrélations allant de faibles à adéquates entre le CCI et le nombre total de médicaments consommés, le nombre d’hospitalisations, la durée du séjour, les coûts totaux, des études de laboratoire, les interventions thérapeutiques, les consultations, et le nombre de jours durant lequel le programme de réadaptation a été interrompu, en utilisant une corrélation de rang de Spearman.
Groupes connus :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité des groupes connus du CCI.
Effets plancher/plafond Aucune étude n’a examiné les effets de plancher ou de plafond du CCI.
Sensibilité/spécificité Aucune étude n’a examiné la sensibilité et la spécificité du CCI.
Est-ce que l’outil est sensible au changement ? Aucune étude n’a examiné la sensibilité au changement du CCI.
Acceptabilité Le CCI est l’index le plus largement utilisé pour évaluer la comorbidité.
Faisabilité Le CCI peut être complété à partir des dossiers médicaux, des bases de données administratives ou d’un questionnaire utilisé lors d’une entrevue.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? Le CCI peut être obtenu à partir de sa publication originale: (Charlson, Pompei, Ales, & Mackenzie, 1987)

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Une recherche dans la littérature a été menée pour identifier toutes les publications pertinentes concernant les propriétés psychométriques du Charlson Comorbidity Index (CCI) auprès d’individus ayant subi un AVC. Six études ont été identifiées.

Fidélité

Test-retest :
Katz, Chang, Sangha, Fossel et Bates (1996) ont évalué la fidélité test-retest du CCI en format questionnaire auprès de 25 patients avec différents diagnostics, incluant l’AVC. Les participants ont été évalués par le même évaluateur à deux reprises à un intervalle de 24 heures. La fidélité test-retest s’est avérée excellente, selon des calculs utilisant des coefficients de corrélation intra-classe (CCI = 0,92) et une corrélation de rang de Spearman (rho = 0,94).

Inter-juges.
Liu, Domen et Chino (1997) ont évalué la fidélité inter-juges du CCI auprès de 10 clients ayant subi un AVC. Le CCI a été administré par deux évaluateurs, ignorant le score que l’autre évaluateur a attribué à chaque client. La fidélité inter-juges, calculée par des coefficients de corrélation intra-classe, s’est avérée adéquate (ICC = 0,67).

Validité

Contenu :

Charlson et al. (1987) ont identifié les troubles de comorbidité de 559 patients avec un cancer du sein. Ils ont ensuite calculé les relations des variables potentiellement importantes pour le pronostic avec la survie, en utilisant une analyse de régression de Cox. Finalement, les risques relatifs ajustés ont été estimés pour chaque condition de comorbidité.

Critère :

Concourante :
Aucun étalon de mesure n’existe avec lequel il serait possible de comparer le CCI.

Prédictive :
Liu et al. (1997) ont estimé la capacité du CCI, lors de l’admission à l’hôpital, de prédire la durée du séjour, et le score sur la Mesure de l’indépendance fonctionnelle (MIF) (Keith, Granger, Hamilton, & Sherwin, 1987) au moment du congé. La validité prédictive a été calculée auprès de 106 clients en utilisant une corrélation de rang de Spearman. La corrélation entre le CCI et la MIF s’est avérée faible (rho = -0,19), tout comme la corrélation entre le CCI et la durée du séjour (rho = 0,16). Ces résultats suggèrent que le CCI mesuré lors de l’admission à l’hôpital n’est pas prédicteur de la durée du séjour et du score sur la MIF mesuré au moment du congé.

Goldstein, Samsa, Matchar et Horner (2004) ont examiné, auprès de 960 clients en phase aiguë de récupération post-AVC, si le CCI, mesuré lors de l’admission, pouvait prédire le score de la Rankin Scale modifiée (RSm – Rankin, 1957), mesuré au moment du congé, et le taux de mortalité après un an. La validité prédictive a été analysée à l’aide d’une régression logistique. Le CCI a été dichotomisé en une faible comorbidité (scores <2), et en une haute comorbidité (scores >2) ; la RSm a été divisée en conséquences positives (scores <2), et en conséquences négatives (scores ≥2). Des scores les plus élevés sur le CCI ont été associés à une augmentation de 36% de risques d’obtenir des conséquences négatives sur la RSm, et à une augmentation de 72 % des risques de décès un an après l’AVC.

Fischer, Arnold, Nedeltchev, Schoenenberger, Kappeler, Hollinger et al. (2006) ont vérifié la capacité du CCI, mesuré auprès de 259 patients lors de l’admission sur l’Unité AVC, de prédire les conséquences négatives sur la Rankin Scale modifiée (RSm – Rankin, 1957), 4 mois après le moment du congé de l’hôpital. La RSm a été dichotomisée en conséquences positives (scores ≤ 2) et en conséquences négatives (scores >2). Une analyse de régression logistique a révélé que le CCI n’a pas été capable de prédire les conséquences négatives de la RSm. Dans cette étude, les prédicteurs du score de la RSm, 4 mois après l’AVC, ont été la sévérité de l’AVC, la fibrillation auriculaire, la maladie coronaire et le diabète.

Tessier, Finch, Daskalopoulou et Mayo (2008) ont examiné, auprès de 672 participants, la capacité du CCI, du Functional Comorbidity Index (Groll, Bombardier, & Wright, 2005) et d’un indice de comorbidité spécifique aux AVC (développé par les mêmes auteurs), de prédire le fonctionnement, 3 mois après un AVC. La validité prédictive a été calculée en utilisant les statistiques-c pour déterminer l’aire sous la courbe ROC (Receiver Operation Characteristic). Les capacités du CCI (AUC = 0,76), du Functional Comorbidity Index (AUC = 0,71) et de l’indice de comorbidité spécifique aux AVC (AUC = 0,71) de prédire le fonctionnement 3 mois après un AVC se sont toutes avérées adéquates. Ces résultats suggèrent que le pourcentage de patients correctement classés selon leur fonctionnement 3 mois après un AVC est un peu plus élevé lors de l’utilisation du CCI comparé à l’utilisation des autres outils de mesure de la comorbidité.

Construit :

Convergente/discriminante :
Katz et al. (1996) ont évalué la validité convergente du CCI en la comparant au nombre de médicaments d’ordonnance consommés, au nombre d’hospitalisations, à la durée du séjour et aux coûts financiers totaux, déclarés par une auto-évaluation des patients, auprès de 170 patients hospitalisés, incluant des patients qui ont subi un AVC. Les corrélations, calculées en utilisant une corrélation de rang de Spearman, se sont avérées faibles entre le CCI et le nombre de médicaments d’ordonnance consommés (rho = 0,06) ; le nombre d’hospitalisations (rho = 0,22) ; la durée du séjour (rho = 0,20) ; et aux coûts financiers totaux (rho = 0,26).

Liu et al. (1997) ont mesuré la validité convergente du CCI, auprès de 106 clients ayant subi un AVC, en le comparant au nombre de médicaments consommés, à des études en laboratoire, aux interventions thérapeutiques, au nombre de consultations durant le séjour à l’hôpital et au nombre de jours durant lequel le programme de réadaptation a été interrompu à cause de complications. Des corrélations adéquates ont été relevées entre le CCI et le nombre total de médicaments consommés (rho = 0.48). De faibles corrélations ont été relevées entre le CCI et les études en laboratoire (rho = 0,28) ; les interventions thérapeutiques (rho = 0,19) ; les consultations (rho = 0,25) ; et le nombre de jours durant lequel le programme de réadaptation a été interrompu (rho = 0,22).

Tessier et al. (2008) ont analysé la validité convergente du CCI en la comparant au Functional Comorbidity Index (Groll et al., 2005) auprès de 437 clients et les corrélations se sont avérées excellentes (rho = 0,62).

Groupes connus :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité des groupes connus du CCI.

Sensibilité au changement

Aucune étude n’a examiné la sensibilité au changement du CCI.

Références

  • Bravo, G., Dubois, M.F., Hebert, R., De Wals, P., & Messier, L. (2002). A perspective evaluation of the Charlson Comorbidity Index for use in long-term care patients. JAGS, 50, 740-745.
  • Charlson, M., Pompei, P., Ales, M.L., & Mackenzie C.R. (1987). A new method of classifying comorbidity in longitudinal studies: Development and validation. J Chronic Dis, 40, 373-393.
  • Charlson, M., Szatrowski, T.P., Peterson, J., & Gold, J. (1994). Validationof a Combined Comorbidity Index. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 47(11), 1245-1251.
  • De Groot, V., Beckerman, H., Lankhorst, G.J., & Bouter, L.M. (2003). How to measure comorbidity: A critical review of available methods. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 56, 221-229.
  • Deyo, R.A., Cherkin, D.C., & Ciol, M.A. (1992). Adapting a clinical comorbidity index for use with ICD-9-CM administrative databases. Journal Clinical Epidemiology, 45, 613-619.
  • Elixhauser, A., Steiner, C., Harris, D.R., & Coffey, R.M. (1998).Comorbidity measures for use with administrative data. Medical Care, 36(1), 8-27.
  • Fischer, U., Nedeltchev, K., Schoenenberger, R.A., Kappeler, L., Hollinger, P.,Schroth, G. et al. (2006). Impact of comorbidity on ischemic stroke outcome. Acta Neurol Scand, 113, 108-113.
  • Goldstein, L.B., Samsa, G.P., Matchar, D.B., & Horner, R.D. (2004). Charlson Index Comorbidity Adjustment for Ischemic Stroke Outcome Studies. Stroke, 35, 1941-1945.
  • Groll, D., Bombardier, C., & Wright, J. (2005). The development of a comorbidity index with physical function as the outcome. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 58, 595-602.
  • Hall, W. H., Ramachandran, R., Narayan, S., Jani, A. B., & Vijayakumar, S. (2004). An electronic application for rapidly calculating Charlson comorbidity score. BMC Cancer, 4, 94.
  • Katz, J., Chang, L., Sangha, O., Fossel, A., & Bates, D. (1996). Can comorbidity be measured by questionnaire rather than medical record review? Medical Care, 34(1), 73-84.
  • Keith, R.A., Granger, C.V., Hamilton, B.B., & Sherwin, F.S. (1987). The functional independence measure: A new tool for rehabilitation. Adv Clin Rehabil, 1, 6-18.
  • Liu, M., Domen, K., & Chino, N. (1997). Comorbidity measures for stroke outcome research: A preliminary study. Arch Phys Rehabil, 78, 166-172.
  • Melchiore, P.J., Findley, T., Boda, W. (1996). Functional outcome and comorbidity indexes in the rehabilitation of the traumatic versus the vascular unilateral lower limb amputee. Am J Phys Med Rehabil, 75, 9-14.
  • Rankin, J. (1957). Cerebral vascular accidents in patients over the age of 60. Scott Med J, 2, 200-215.
  • Romano, P.S., Roos, L.L., & Jollis, J.G. (1993). Adapting a clinical comorbidity index for use with ICD-9-CM administrative data: differing perspectives. Journal of clinical epidemiology, 46 (10) 1075-1079.
  • Tessier, A., Finch. L., Daskalopoulou, S.S., Mayo, N.E. (2008). Validation of the Charlson Comorbidity Index for Predicting Functional Outcome of Stroke. Arch Phys Med Rehabil, 89, 1276-1283.

Voir la mesure

Comment obtenir le CCI

Une application électronique peut calculer rapidement le score du Charlson Comorbidity Index

Le lien suivant permet de télécharger une feuille de calcul Excel servant à calculer le score du Charlson Comorbidity Index : Excel calculator Charlson Index

Table des matières
Votre opinion