Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP)

Evidence Reviewed as of before: 12-04-2018
Author(s): Andréanne Labranche
Editor(s): Annabel McDermott OT
Expert Reviewer: Farrell Leibovitch
Content consistency: Gabriel Plumier

Purpose

The Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP) is a test battery to screen for neglect in patients with acute stroke (Black et al., 2016).

In-Depth Review

Purpose of the measure

The Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP) is a test battery for bedside screening of neglect. It is designed to assess neglect in patients with acute stroke and to monitor recovery of neglect at later stages of stroke recovery.

Available versions

There is one version of the SNAP.

Features of the measure

Items:

The SNAP is comprised of five paper-and-pencil items that are familiar measures of neglect. The items are administered to the patient in the following order:

  1. Spontaneous drawing of clock and daisy
  2. Line cancellation task
  3. Line bisection task
  4. Copying of clock and daisy
  5. Shape cancellation

Description of tasks:

A1. Drawing task
The patient is asked to draw a clock face and a daisy on a blank piece of paper.

B. Line Cancellation Task
The patient is instructed to cross out all lines on a page.

C. Line Bisection Task
The patient is instructed to draw a mark on a line in order to bisect the line in half. This task is completed using 15cm and 20cm lines.

A2. Copying Tasks
The patient is asked to copy a picture of a clock and a daisy.
Note: The assessor does not identify that the pictures are a clock and a daisy.

D. Shape Cancellation Task
The patient is required to circle all the targets on a page.
Note: This is a timed task. The patient is given a different color pencil after every tenth target is circled, to determine the search pattern.

Scoring and score interpretation:

The scoring of the different SNAP subtests is based on omissions made on the contralateral side of the brain lesion. Left-side omissions are scored in patients in right hemisphere stroke and right-side omissions are scored in left hemisphere stroke.

A. Copying and drawing tasks
Drawings with a significant omission of details on the contralateral side are scored as having neglect.

B. Line Cancellation
Each omitted line on the contralateral side of the page is scored as neglect.

C. Line Bisection 
The score for this task is based on the mean percent deviation of the patient’s mark from the true midpoint. Percent deviation and average deviation is calculated for the four lines of the task, according to the formula stipulated in the SNAP manual.

D.Shape cancellation task
All targets omitted on the contralateral side of the page are counted.

Total score interpretation:

Scores are calculated using the SNAP scoring manual. The patient is awarded a score for each subtest, resulting in a total score out of 100.

Leibovitch et al. (2012) recommended classifying severity of neglect according to performance on the SNAP as follows:

SNAP Score

Classification of Performance

0-5

Normal Performance

6-40

Mild Neglect

41-100

Severe Neglect

Please see the SNAP Administration and Scoring Manual for more details on scoring (Black et al., 2016).

What to consider before beginning:

SNAP test items should always be placed in the individual’s midline.

Time:

Time taken to administer the assessment has not been specified. Time will vary according to the patient’s attention and severity of neglect.

Training:

Training requirements have not been specified.

Subscales:

None.

Equipment:

  • SNAP assessment package
  • Two blank sheets of paper
  • Coloured pens/pencils
  • Stopwatch

Alternative forms of the SNAP

The original version of the Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment contained additional drawing tasks, a paragraph reading task, a writing task and additional visual search tasks. The four items that comprise the SNAP were deemed to be complementary and not redundant, so the additional items were eliminated (Leibovitch et al., 2012).

Client suitability

Can be used with:

Patients with stroke.

Should not be used with:

Not specified.

In what languages is the measure available?

English.

Summary

What does the tool measure? Hemispatial neglect
What types of clients can the tool be used for? Patients in the acute phase of stroke recovery.
What ICF domain is measured? Impairment.
Is this a screening or assessment tool? Screening.
Time to administer Not specified.
Versions There is one version of the SNAP.
Languages English.
Measurement Properties
Reliability

Internal Consistency:

One study reported moderate to excellent correlations between subtests and the total score.

Test-retest reliability:

No studies have reported on test-retest reliability among patients with stroke.

Intra-rater / inter-rater reliability:

One study reported adequate to excellent correlations for subtests and the total score.

Validity

Construct validity:

One study reported a moderate correlation among SNAP subtests.
Two studies have conducted factor analysis and found that all subtests loaded on one factor that accounted for 69-72% of the variance.

Convergent/discriminant validity:

One study reported adequate correlations with the visual search board (VSB) visual search task.
One study reported a significant correlation between neglect measured by the SNAP and parietal damage.
One study reported an excellent correlation between the SNAP and a measure of generalized attentional capacity (digit span forward minus digit span backward).

Known groups validity:

One study reported significant differences in performance on the SNAP according to side of lesion.

Criterion validity:

Concurrent validity:
No studies have reported on concurrent validity of the SNAP among patients with stroke.

Predictive validity:

One study reported that the SNAP significantly predicted neglect (present/absent) on the visual search board (VSB) visual search task.

Floor/Ceiling Effects No studies have reported on floor/ceiling effects among patients with stroke.
Sensitivity/ Specificity One study reported 68% sensitivity and 76% specificity.
Two studies reported that the shape cancellation task was the most sensitive subtest; a third study reported that the line bisection task was the most sensitive subtest.
One study reported that the drawing/copying subtests showed highest specificity.
Does the tool detect change in patients? The tool does not detect or measure change but it can be used to monitor change in neglect over time.
Acceptability The SNAP is simple to administer and can be used at the individual’s bedside.
Feasibility The SNAP is portable, quick to administer and requires minimal equipment.
How to obtain the tool?

The SNAP administration and scoring manual and test booklet can be accessed here

Psychometric Properties

Overview

A literature search was conducted to identify all relevant publications on the psychometric properties of the Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP) for use with patients with stroke. Five articles were reviewed.

Floor/Ceiling Effects

Leibovitch et al (2012) examined psychometric properties of the SNAP in a sample of 224 patients with acute stroke and 100 elderly individuals. Results from the population of elderly individuals without stroke showed no omissions of details on the drawing/copying subtests and no omissions on the line cancellation subtest.

Reliability

Internal Consistency:

Leibovitch et al (2012) examined internal consistency of the SNAP in a sample of 224 stroke patients with acute stroke, using Cronbach’s coefficient alpha. All subtests showed an excellent correlation with the total neglect score (alpha = 0.84, p < 0.001) and correlations between subtests were moderate (alpha < 0.07, p < 0.0005). This indicates that subtests are measuring the same construct but are not redundant.

Test-retest reliability:

There are no studies of test-retest reliability of the SNAP among patients with stroke.

Intra-rater / inter-rater reliability:

Leibovitch et al (2012) examined intra-rater and inter-rater reliability in a sample of 12 patients with acute stroke and 12 elderly individuals. Intra-rater reliability was measured with 1 rater and inter-rater reliability was measured between 2 raters. Reliability was measured using Kappa statistics for drawing/copying tasks and interclass correlation coefficients for other scores. The authors reported adequate to excellent correlations for subtests and the total score (r = 0.73-0.99, p < 0.001); specific statistics were not provided.

Validity

Content validity:
Development of the SNAP is not reported.

Construct validity:
Black et al. (1995) examined construct validity of the SNAP in a sample of 294 patients with acute stroke. SNAP subtest scores correlated significantly (r = 0.4-0.6, p = 0,0001). Initial factor analysis showed that all four tests contributed to a single factor which accounted for 72% of the information contained in the four subtests.

Leibovitch et al. (2012) examined construct validity of the SNAP in a sample of 224 stroke patients with acute stroke, using factor analysis of subtest scores. Results revealed all subtests loaded equally on one factor that accounted for 69.4% of the total variance (eigenvalue = 2.8). Further factor analysis according to side of brain injury similarly showed that, among patients with right hemisphere damage, all four subtests loaded equally on one factor that accounted for 69% of the total variance. Results of patients with left hemisphere damage revealed two factors accounting for 62% of the total variance: the first factor comprised three subtests (drawing/copying, line cancellation and shape cancellation) and accounted for 37% of total variance; the second factor (line bisection) accounted for 25% of the total variance.

Convergent/discriminant validity:
Leibovitch et al. (2012) examined convergent validity of the SNAP by comparison with the visual search board (VSB) visual search task (Kimura, 1986) in a sample of 224 patients with acute stroke, using Receiver Operating Characteristic analysis. Results showed adequate validity (area under curve = 0.78).

Leibovitch et al. (1998) examined convergent validity of the SNAP by comparison with location and severity of brain damage on CT and SPECT scans in a sample of 120 patients with acute/subacute stroke, using regression analysis. Results showed that damage to the parietal and anterior cingulate cortex was a significant predictor of neglect using CT data (p<0.05), whereas regional blood flow in the parietal cortex was the best predictor of neglect using SPECT data (p<0.05).

Eskes et al. (2003) examined convergent validity of the SNAP by comparison with a measure of generalized attentional capacity (digit span forward minus digit span backward) in a sample of 9 patients with acute to chronic stroke, using Spearman correlation coefficient. Results showed an excellent correlation between measures (r=0.85, p<0.02).

Known groups validity:
Black et al. (1995) administered the SNAP to 294 patients with acute stroke. Comparison of incidence of neglect between patients with right hemisphere damage vs. patients with left hemisphere damage was 54% vs. 31% (respectively). Performance on SNAP subtests differed significantly between groups: Shape cancellation: 74% vs. 54% (respectively); Line bisection: 61% vs. 35 % (respectively); Line cancellation: 26% vs. 7% (respectively); and Drawing: 25% vs. 3% (respectively).

Criterion validity:

Concurrent validity:
No studies have reported on concurrent validity of the SNAP among patients with stroke.

Predictive validity:
Leibovitch et al (2012) examined predictive validity of the SNAP by comparison with the visual search board (VSB) visual search task (Kimura, 1986) in a sample of 224 patients with acute stroke, using logistic regression. Comparison of test results showed that the SNAP significantly predicted neglect (present/absent) on the VSB.

Responsiveness

Sensitivity/specificity:
Black et al. (1990) used a modified version of the SNAP in a sample of 41 patients with acute stroke (n=21 with right hemisphere damage). The tool comprised the standard SNAP subtests as well as two additional tasks (designs cancellation, visual search). Results showed that the line bisection task was the most sensitive subtest, with neglect observed in 76% and 30% of individuals with right and left hemisphere damage respectively. While the line bisection subtest was most likely to detect mild impairment, the line drawing and line cancellation subtests indicated more severe impairment.

Black et al (1995) administered the SNAP to 294 patients with acute stroke. Comparison of incidence of neglect between patients with right hemisphere damage vs. left hemisphere damage was 54% vs. 31% (respectively). Results indicate that the shape cancellation subtest was the most sensitive subtest, with neglect observed in 74% and 54% of individuals with right and left hemisphere damage respectively. The line bisection subtest revealed neglect in 61% and 35% of individuals with right and left hemisphere damage respectively.

Leibovitch et al. (2012) evaluated sensitivity and specificity of the SNAP in a sample of 224 patients with acute stroke, using the visual search board (VSB) visual search task (Kimura, 1986) to confirm neglect. Overall, the SNAP showed 68% sensitivity and 76% specificity. The shape cancellation task showed highest sensitivity (70% sensitivity); the drawing/copying tasks showed highest specificity (99% specificity).

References

  • Black, S.E., Vu, B., Martin, D., & Szalai, J.P. (1990). Evaluation of a bedside battery for hemispatial neglect in acute stroke [Abstract]. Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology, 12, 109.
  • Black, S., Ebert, P. L., Leibovitch, F., Szalai, J. P., & Blair, N. (1995). Recovery in hemispatial neglect [Abstract]. Neurology, 45(suppl 4), A178.
  • Black, S. E., Leibovitch, F. S., Ebert, P. L., & L., B. K. (2016). SNAP : Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure Administration and Scoring Manual.
  • Eskes, G.A., Butler, B., McDonald, A., Harrison, E.R., & Phillips, S.J. (2003). Limb activation effects in hemispatial neglect. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 84, 323-8.
  • Leibovitch, F.S., Black, S.E., Caldwell, C.B., Ebert, P.L., Ehrlich, L.E., & Szalai, J.P. (1998). Brain-behaviour correlations in hemispatial neglect using CT and SPECT: the Sunnybrook stroke study. Neurology, 50, 901-8.
  • Leibovitch, F. S., Vasquez, B. P., Ebert, P. L., Beresford, K. L., & Black, S. E. (2012). A short bedside battery for visuoconstructive hemispatial neglect: Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP). Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology, 34(4), 359-68. doi:10.1080/13803395.2011.645016
  • Menon-Nair, A., Korner-Bitensky, N., & Ogourtsova, T. (2007). Occupational Therapists’ identification, assessment, and treatment of unilateral spatial neglect during stroke rehabilitation in Canada. Stroke, 38, 2556-62. DOI: 10.1161/STROKEAHA.107.484857

See The Measure

How to obtain the SNAP

The SNAP administration and scoring manual and test booklet can be accessed here.

Table of contents
We need your feedback

Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP)

Évidence révisées en date du 12-04-2018
Auteur(s)* :Andréanne Labranche
Éditeur(s) : Annabel McDermott OT
Réviseur expert : Farrell Leibovitch
Version française en traduction libre : Gabriel Plumier
Cohérence du contenu et de la traduction : Gabriel Plumier

But

La Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP) est une batterie de tests permettant de dépister les cas de négligence auprès de patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC.

Note : Le nom des instruments de mesure qui, en anglais, sont identifiés et nommés par des noms de genre féminin en français – ex. « Batterie » (Battery), « Catégorie » (Category), « Échelle » (Scale, Ladder), « Évaluation » (Assessment) ou « Mesure » (Measure) – sont traduits en français par le genre féminin.

Revue détaillée

But de la mesure

La Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP) est une batterie de tests permettant de dépister les cas de négligence. Elle a été conçue pour évaluer la négligence auprès de patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC et pour suivre le rétablissement de la négligence à un stade ultérieur de la récupération post-AVC.

Versions disponibles

Il n’existe qu’une version de la SNAP.

Caractéristiques de la mesure

Items :

La SNAP est composée de cinq feuilles en papier et d’un crayon pour évaluer des mesures familières de la négligence. Les items sont administrés au patient dans l’ordre suivant :

  1. Dessin spontané d’une horloge et d’une marguerite
  2. Tâche d’annulation de ligne
  3. Tâche de bissection de ligne
  4. Copie d’une l’horloge et d’une marguerite
  5. Annulation de forme

Description des tâches :

A1. Tâche de dessin

Il est demandé au patient de dessiner un cadran d’horloge et une marguerite sur une feuille de papier vierge.

B. Tâche d’annulation de ligne

Le patient est invité à rayer toutes les lignes sur une page.

C. Tâche de bissection de ligne

Il est demandé au patient de tracer une marque sur une ligne afin de la couper en deux dans le sens horizontal. Cette tâche est effectuée à l’aide de lignes de 15 et 20 cm.

A2. Tâches de copie

Il est demandé au patient de copier l’image d’une horloge et d’une marguerite.
Note : L’évaluateur ne précise pas que les images sont celles d’une horloge et d’une marguerite.

D. Tâche d’annulation de forme

Le patient doit entourer toutes les cibles sur une page.
Note : Il s’agit d’une tâche chronométrée. Le patient reçoit un crayon de couleur différente après que chaque dixième cible ait été encerclée afin de déterminer le balayage visuel lors de la tâche.

Cotation et interprétation des résultats :

La cotation des différents sous-tests de la SNAP est basée sur les omissions faites du côté controlatéral de la lésion cérébrale. Les omissions du côté gauche sont cotées chez les patients ayant subi un AVC de l’hémisphère droit et les omissions du côté droit sont cotées chez les patients ayant subi un AVC de l’hémisphère gauche.

  1. Tâches de copie et de dessin : Les dessins avec une omission significative de détails sur le côté controlatéral sont cotés comme ayant été négligés.
  2. Annulation de ligne : Chaque ligne omise sur le côté controlatéral de la page est considérée comme de la négligence.
  3. Bissection de ligne : Le score pour cette tâche est basé sur le pourcentage moyen de déviation de la marque du patient par rapport au point médian réel. Le pourcentage d’écart et l’écart moyen sont calculés pour les quatre lignes de la tâche, selon la formule indiquée dans le manuel de la SNAP.
  4. Tâche d’annulation de forme

Toutes les cibles omises sur le côté controlatéral de la page sont comptées.

Interprétation du score total :

Les scores sont calculés à l’aide du manuel de notation de la SNAP. Le patient se voit attribuer un score pour chaque sous-test, ce qui donne un score total sur 100.

Leibovitch et al. (2012) ont recommandé de classer la sévérité de la négligence en fonction de la performance sur la SNAP comme suit:

Score de la SNAP Classification de la performance
0-5 Performance normale
6-40 Négligence légère
41-100 Négligence sévère

Veuillez-vous reporter au manuel de la SNAP (Administration and Scoring Manual) pour plus de détails sur la cotation (Black et al., 2016).

Ce qu’il faut considérer avant de commencer :

Les items de la SNAP doivent toujours être placés sur la ligne médiane devant la personne.

Temps :

Le temps requis pour administrer l’évaluation n’a pas été spécifié. Le temps variera en fonction de l’attention du patient et de la gravité de la négligence.

Exigences de formation :

Les exigences de formation n’ont pas été spécifiées.

Équipement :

  • Trousse d’évaluation de la SNAP
  • Deux feuilles de papier vierges
  • Crayon / crayons de couleur
  • Chronomètre

Versions alternatives de la SNAP

La version originale de la Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment contenait des tâches de dessin supplémentaires, une tâche de lecture de paragraphe, une tâche de rédaction et des tâches de recherche visuelles supplémentaires. Les quatre items composant la SNAP ont été jugés complémentaires et non redondants ; les items supplémentaires ont donc été éliminés (Leibovitch et al., 2012).

Clientèle cible

Peut être utilisée avec :

Les patients ayant subi un AVC.

Ne devrait pas être utilisée avec :

Non spécifié.

En quelle langue la mesure est-elle disponible ?

Anglais.

Sommaire

Que mesure l’outil ? Patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC.
Avec quelles clientèles l’outil peut-il être utilisé ? Patients in the acute phase of stroke recovery.
Quel domaine de la CIF mesure l’outil ? Déficience
Est-ce un outil de dépistage ou d’évaluation ? Dépistage
Temps d’administration ? Non spécifié.
Versions Il n’existe qu’une version de la SNAP.
Langues Anglais
Propriétés psychométriques
Fidélité

Cohérence interne :

Une étude a relevé des corrélations allant de modérées à excellentes entre les sous-tests et le score total.

Fidélité test-retest :

Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité test-retest de la SNAP auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Fidélité intra-juge / inter-juges :

Une étude a relevé des corrélations allant d’adéquates à excellentes pour les sous-tests et le score total de la SNAP.

Validité

Validité de construit :

Une étude a relevé une corrélation modérée entre les sous-tests de la SNAP.
Deux études ont mené une analyse factorielle et ont révélé que tous les sous-tests constituaient un facteur qui représentait de 69 à 72% de la variance.

Validité convergente / discriminante :

Une étude a relevé des corrélations adéquates entre la tâche de recherche visuelle et le Tableau de recherche visuel (Visual search board – VSB).
Une étude a montré une corrélation significative entre la négligence mesurée par la SNAP et les dommages pariétaux.
Une étude a montré une excellente corrélation entre la SNAP et une mesure de la capacité d’attention généralisée (compter en ordre croissant moins compter à rebours).

Validité de groupes connus :

Une étude a rapporté des différences significatives de performance sur la SNAP en fonction du côté de la lésion.

Validité de critère :

Validité concourante :

Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité concourante de la SNAP auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Validité predictive :

Une étude a indiqué que la SNAP prédit, de manière significative, la négligence (présence / absence) sur la tâche de recherche visuelle du Tableau de recherche visuelle (VSB).

Effets plancher/plafond Aucune étude n’a relevé d’effets de plancher / plafond auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.
Sensitivité/ Spécificité
  • Une étude a relevé une sensibilité de 68% et une spécificité de 76%.
  • Deux études ont indiqué que la tâche d’annulation de forme était le sous-test le plus sensible ; une troisième étude a indiqué que la tâche de bissection de ligne était le sous-test le plus sensible.
  • Une étude a indiqué que les sous-tests de dessin / copie présentaient la plus grande spécificité.
Est-ce que l’outil est sensible aux changements ? L’outil ne détecte ni ne mesure le changement, mais il peut être utilisé pour suivre le changement de la négligence au fil du temps.
Acceptabilité La SNAP est simple à administrer et peut être utilisée au chevet du patient.
Faisabilité La SNAP est portable, rapide à administrer et nécessite un équipement minimal.
Comment obtenir l’outil ? Le manuel d’administration et de cotation de la SNAP ainsi que le livret de test sont accessibles ici

Propriétés psychométriques

Résumé

Une recherche dans la littérature a été menée afin d’identifier toutes les publications pertinentes au sujet des propriétés psychométriques de la Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP) à utiliser avec des patients ayant subi un AVC. Cinq articles ont été passés en revue.

Effets plancher/plafond

Leibovitch et al (2012) ont examiné les propriétés psychométriques de la SNAP auprès d’un échantillon de 224 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC.et 100 personnes âgées. Les résultats auprès de la population de personnes âgées sans AVC n’ont démontré aucune omission de détails sur les sous-tests de dessin / copie, ni aucune omission sur le sous-test d’annulation de ligne.

Fidélité

Cohérence interne :
Leibovitch et al (2012) ont examiné la cohérence interne de la SNAP auprès d’un échantillon de 224 patients patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC, en utilisant le coefficient alpha de Cronbach. Tous les sous-tests ont démontré une excellente corrélation avec le score total de négligence (alpha = 0,84, p < 0,001) et les corrélations entre les sous-tests ont été modérées (alpha < 0,07, p < 0,0005). Ces résultats indiquent que les sous-tests mesurent le même construit mais ne sont pas redondants.

Fidélité test-retest :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la fidélité test-retest de la SNAP auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Fidélité intra-juge / inter-juges :
Leibovitch et al (2012) ont examiné la fidélité intra-juge et inter-juges auprès d’un échantillon de 12 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC et de 12 personnes âgées. La fidélité intra-juge a été mesurée avec un évaluateur et la fidélité inter-juges a été mesurée entre deux évaluateurs. La fidélité a été mesurée à l’aide des statistiques Kappa pour les tâches de dessin / copie et par des coefficients de corrélation intraclasse pour les autres scores. Les auteurs ont relevé des corrélations allant d’adéquates à excellentes pour les sous-tests et le score total (r = 0,73-0,99, p = 0,001); les statistiques spécifiques n’ont pas été documentées.

Validité

Validité de contenu :

Le développement de la SNAP n’a pas été documenté.

Validité de construit :

Black et al. (1995) ont examiné la validité de construit de la SNAP auprès d’un échantillon de 294 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC. Les scores des sous-tests de la SNAP ont significativement corrélés (r = 0,4-0,6, p = 0,0001). Une analyse factorielle initiale a démontré que les quatre sous-tests contribuaient à un seul facteur qui représentait 72% de l’information contenue dans les quatre sous-tests.

Leibovitch et al. (2012) ont examiné la validité de construit de la SNAP auprès d’un échantillon de 224 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC, en utilisant une analyse factorielle des scores des sous-tests. Les résultats ont révélé que tous les sous-tests constituaient, de manière égale, un seul facteur qui représentait 69,4% de la variance totale (valeur propre = 2,8). Une analyse factorielle supplémentaire, selon le côté de la lésion cérébrale, a démontré de manière similaire que, chez les patients présentant des lésions de l’hémisphère droit, les quatre sous-tests constituaient, de manière égale, un seul facteur représentant 69% de la variance totale. Les résultats des patients présentant des lésions de l’hémisphère gauche ont révélé deux facteurs représentant 62% de la variance totale : le premier facteur comprenait trois sous-tests (dessin / copie, suppression de ligne et suppression de forme) et représentait 37% de la variance totale ; le deuxième facteur (bissection de ligne) représentait 25% de la variance totale.

Validité convergente / discriminante :
Leibovitch et al. (2012) ont examiné la validité convergente de la SNAP en comparaison avec la tâche de recherche visuelle du Tableau de recherche visuel (Visual search board – VSB, Kimura, 1986) auprès d’un échantillon de 224 en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC, à l’aide d’une analyse des caractéristiques de fonctionnement du récepteur (Receiver Operating Characteristic analysis – ROC). Les résultats ont démontré une validité adéquate (aire sous la courbe = 0,78).

Leibovitch et al. (1998) ont examiné la validité convergente de la SNAP en comparant la localisation et la gravité des lésions cérébrales sur des scanners auprès d’un échantillon de 120 patients en phase aiguë et subaiguë de récupération d’un AVC, à l’aide d’une analyse de régression. Les résultats ont démontré que les lésions du cortex pariétal et antérieur se sont avérées un facteur important de prédiction de la négligence en utilisant les données de tomodensitométrie (p <0,05), tandis que le flux sanguin régional dans le cortex pariétal s’est avéré le meilleur prédicteur de la négligence en utilisant les données de la technique SPECT (p <0,05).

Eskes et al. (2003) ont examiné la validité convergente de la SNAP en comparaison avec une mesure de la capacité d’attention généralisée (compter en ordre croissant moins compter à rebours) auprès d’un échantillon de 9 patients en phase aiguë à chronique de récupération d’un AVC, en utilisant le coefficient de corrélation de Spearman. Les résultats ont démontré une excellente corrélation entre les mesures (r = 0,85, p <0,02).

Validité de groupes connus :
Black et al. (1995) ont administré la SNAP à 294 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC. La comparaison de l’incidence de négligence entre les patients présentant des lésions de l’hémisphère droit et les patients présentant des lésions de l’hémisphère gauche était de 54% contre 31% (respectivement). Les performances sur les sous-tests de la SNAP différaient considérablement entre les groupes : Suppression de la forme, 74% contre 54% (respectivement) ; Bissection de lignes, 61% vs 35% (respectivement) ; Annulation de ligne, 26% contre 7% (respectivement) ; et dessin, 25% contre 3% (respectivement).

Validité de critère :

Validité concourante :
Aucune étude n’a examiné la validité concourante de la SNAP auprès de patients ayant subi un AVC.

Validité prédictive :
Leibovitch et al (2012) ont examiné la validité prédictive de la SNAP en comparaison avec la tâche de recherche visuelle du Tableau de recherche visuelle (VSB – Kimura, 1986) auprès d’un échantillon de 224 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC, en utilisant une régression logistique. La comparaison des résultats des tests a démontré que la SNAP prédit de manière significative la négligence (présence / absence) sur le VSB.

Sensibilité au changement

Sensibilité / spécificité :
Black et al. (1990) ont utilisé une version modifiée de la SNAP auprès d’un échantillon de 41 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC (n = 21 avec une lésion à l’hémisphère droit). L’outil comprenait les sous-tests de la SNAP originale ainsi que deux tâches supplémentaires (annulation de modèles et recherche visuelle). Les résultats ont démontré que la tâche de bissection de ligne était le sous-test le plus sensible (la négligence ayant été observée chez 76% et 30%, respectivement pour des individus souffrant de lésions de l’hémisphère droit et gauche), tandis que le sous-test de bissection de ligne était le plus susceptible de détecter une légère déficience ; les sous-tests de tracé et d’annulation de ligne relevaient pour leur part des déficiences plus graves.

Black et al (1995) ont administré la SNAP à 294 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC. La comparaison de l’incidence de négligence entre les patients présentant des lésions de l’hémisphère droit et celles de l’hémisphère gauche était respectivement de 54% contre 31%. Les résultats indiquent que le sous-test d’annulation de forme était le sous-test le plus sensible ; la négligence ayant été observée chez 74% et 54%, respectivement pour des individus souffrant de lésions de l’hémisphère droit et gauche. Le sous-test de bissection de ligne a révélé une négligence chez 61% et 35% des individus souffrant respectivement de lésions de l’hémisphère droit et gauche.

Leibovitch et al. (2012) ont évalué la sensibilité et la spécificité de la SNAP auprès d’un échantillon de 224 patients en phase aiguë de récupération d’un AVC, en utilisant la tâche de recherche visuelle du Tableau de recherche visuelle (VSB – Kimura, 1986) pour confirmer la négligence. Dans l’ensemble, la SNAP a démontré une sensibilité de 68% et une spécificité de 76%. La tâche d’annulation de forme s’est avérée avoir la plus grande sensibilité (sensibilité de 70%) ; tandis que les tâches de dessin / copie présentaient la spécificité la plus élevée (spécificité de 99%).

Références

  • Black, S.E., Vu, B., Martin, D., & Szalai, J.P. (1990). Evaluation of a bedside battery for hemispatial neglect in acute stroke [Abstract]. Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology, 12, 109.
  • Black, S., Ebert, P. L., Leibovitch, F., Szalai, J. P., & Blair, N. (1995). Recovery in hemispatial neglect [Abstract]. Neurology, 45(suppl 4), A178.
  • Black, S. E., Leibovitch, F. S., Ebert, P. L., & L., B. K. (2016). SNAP : Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure Administration and Scoring Manual.
  • Eskes, G.A., Butler, B., McDonald, A., Harrison, E.R., & Phillips, S.J. (2003). Limb activation effects in hemispatial neglect. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 84, 323-8.
  • Leibovitch, F.S., Black, S.E., Caldwell, C.B., Ebert, P.L., Ehrlich, L.E., & Szalai, J.P. (1998). Brain-behaviour correlations in hemispatial neglect using CT and SPECT: the Sunnybrook stroke study. Neurology, 50, 901-8.
  • Leibovitch, F. S., Vasquez, B. P., Ebert, P. L., Beresford, K. L., & Black, S. E. (2012). A short bedside battery for visuoconstructive hemispatial neglect: Sunnybrook Neglect Assessment Procedure (SNAP). Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology, 34(4), 359-68. doi:10.1080/13803395.2011.645016
  • Menon-Nair, A., Korner-Bitensky, N., & Ogourtsova, T. (2007). Occupational Therapists’ identification, assessment, and treatment of unilateral spatial neglect during stroke rehabilitation in Canada. Stroke, 38, 2556-62. DOI: 10.1161/STROKEAHA.107.484857

Voir la mesure

Comment obtenir l’outil ?

Le manuel d’administration et de cotation de la SNAP ainsi que le livret de test sont accessibles ici.

Table des matières
Aidez-nous à nous améliorer